We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
VIP Hotel Playa Negra
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks and couldn't have asked for a better time. What a hidden gem in the jungle! Our unit had 2 bedrooms, full kitchen, living room and spacious bathroom not to mention a large porch. The property is well maintained, the pool is cleaned everyday. We enjoyed days at the beach and came back in the afternoon to enjoy the pool which is surrounded by beautiful gardens. It felt like we were the only ones there, such a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. At night we discovered the small pond area by the gym was teaming with life, we shined our flashlight into the plants and saw red eyed tree frogs, our daughter thought that was amazing. If there was anything we needed we just had to ask Miriam, the owner, who lives on the property. She is such a wonderful lady, on the first day she said to me my house is your house. She made us feel at home and for 2 weeks we were at home. She has a small staff and they were just as nice. We will definitely be back next year, why would we go anywhere else when we have a home away from home with Miriam at VIP. Thank you so much Miriam!!! :o)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LWard70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

This hotel was truly amazing. It is hidden in the jungle which is exactly what we were looking for to get the "Costa Rican" feel. It is close to town and the beautiful beaches. Miriam is an angel and helped us set up our transportation to and from the airport and made sure we had everything we needed to make our stay a memorable one. Dilan who also works at the hotel is one of a kind. He set up all our tours and excursions for us and introduced us to awesome people throughout the trip. He made sure we were always in good hands and watched out for us. They are two very special people and we will never forget them.
The hotel is very clean and offers an AWESOME complimentary breakfast every morning. We didn't get to have it one morning because we were going canopying early and we were so sad that we had to miss it. However, Miriam and Dilan made sure to put fruit and coffee in our rooms for us.
This was by far one of the best vacations I have ever been on and VIP Playa Negra is the hotel to stay at when visiting Puerto Viejo. Looking up flights back right now actually =)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

The hotel is very well located, in the middle of the jungle. You can enjoy of the beautiful beaches that are about 5min or so. I had a great time there! I'll return as soon as possible!! Nice people and delicious breakfasts.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the VIP and we are completely rested and satisfied. The facility far exceeded our expectations. It is in the forest and was clearly built with the utmost respect for the environment. The gardens are magnificent. We saw spider monkeys, toucans and many other animals and birds in the area. Breakfast was always delicious. We rode bikes to the beach. The owners are the most considerate people and we were treated like family members.

Room Tip: Bring binoculars and walk in the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johninchanguinola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and i was positive surprised! Its a little bit far from the beach, but the rooms are very nice and the garden is beautiful! And the best of this hotel is the owner Mariam! Very helpfull and friendly. Its a really nice place for quiet stay outside the tourist machinery.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyro17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I recently stayed at the VIP this past November. I have to say that overall I had a great experience. Our room was always clean, breakfast was made every morning (delicious) and the staff was very friendly. I loved that there was a kitchen area to make snacks at night. We went to the supermarket and cooked. The hotel is a far walk into town, I didn't mind, you can ride bikes, walk (beautiful views) or take a cab which is no more than $5. If you're expecting to be partying it up, it's not that kind of place. It's very peaceful and relaxing. My only real complaint is the beds. They were WAY too firm for my taste. I felt like I was sleeping on concrete. And the pillows had no support. Also November probably is not the best time to visit the Caribbean side of Costa Rica as I'm told it's their rainy season. It rained the entire time, but I enjoyed it. It was still warm out and I got to really experience the rain forest.

Room Tip: there were only a few units. they all had a cute porch with hammocks. I can't really see having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InEffect1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

If you want a quite relaxing and recovering stay, surely this is the right place.
Just came back from our holidays and batteries are fully charged again, thanks to the quiteness, natural enviroment, personal attention of staff and location standards.
I don't usually repeat holiday destination, but will surely return to this ideal hotel shortly.
:))

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,487 reviews
3.0 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Lizard King Hotel Resort
#34 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Perla Negra
Hotel Perla Negra
#28 of 111 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
190 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Perla del Caribe
La Perla del Caribe
#16 of 111 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casitas Joanna
Casitas Joanna
#42 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Hotel Playa Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Hotel Playa Negra

Address: 3er camino a la izquierda del Hotel Banana Azul. | Fin de la ruta, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £109 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — VIP Hotel Playa Negra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a different hotel,offer much more than a quarter,have for you a house suite,for the same price,more privacy,more space,more comfort.A luxury available to everyone.The suites are fully equipped,microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, satellite TV, internet, blender,safe-deposit box,pool,professional gym,fantastic garden,BBQ,rancho lounge,parking,laundry.Everything you need....will be our pleasure to make your dreams come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your VIP Hotel Playa Negra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
VIP Hotel Playa Negra Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing