We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap - $17 for a solo room”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunrise Backpackers Hostel
Brampton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheap - $17 for a solo room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a double room by myself and it was $17 total for a night. The bathrooms were alway dirty and full of sand by 11am. The bar upstairs wasn't too noisy. I was there for 3 nights. I like t because it was pretty central and near the bus station.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_kin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
5
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stay here one night in June...
Out of 3 showers, only one works. Rooms are cleaned ok but the one we had on the ground floor were smelly (smell from outside) and noisy (even at midnight).
The kitchen (or what they call a kitchen) is very dirty, not even a light (we had to use our torch).
In the bed, a few bugs during the line, I am not sure when they clean the linnen for the last time...
To be avoided.

Room Tip: The first room when you enter on your right are not good to choose. Noisy, smelling the rubbish from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popov66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels

Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

After a horrible first night in a different hostel, we switched to Sunrise and stayed in the rooms downstairs, which were fairly clean and cool all things considered. There is wifi and the front desk was pretty friendly. The kitchen is poorly stocked and not very clean. The bathrooms were pretty average but there definitely wasn't enough for everyone and it seemed like someone was always waiting. I would recommend asking to see the rooms and everything before you make up your mind on where to stay. The really nice part is that it is right in town and only a 3 minute walk from the bus stop so if you can deal with the kitchen and bathroom situation it is great for your last night if you want to take the first bus out of Puerto Viejo

Room Tip: Upstairs seemed cramped and unclean compared to downstairs. They are pretty good about accommodatin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Ok, so I only paid $4 to rent a tent... ...a tent that doesn´t keep out the bugs... a foam mattress with no pillow or bedding... a kitchen with no cookware... internet you have to pay for... coffee that isn´t served until 9am. ...unfriendly staff... If you´re looking for cheap this is it, but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: In my experience hostels never have the ammenities they promise, so don´t be surprized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht Province, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Although we are backpackers as well, compared to the hostels we stayed in during our trip through Central America this was not really good. The staff is friendly and somewhat helpfull but the rest is pretty average. We had the idea that although the linnen was folded it was not properly cleaned, a strange smell. The upstairs bathrooms do not look really clean, the downstairs bathrooms are okay. They advertise with a kitchen but is really dirty, we did not want to use it. There are a lot of places to eat in puerto viejo so no worries about that. The rooms and beds are okay but not great, there are fans turned (we stayed in the dorm) on but we could not detect a lot of wind cooling the room down. If you are staying for a day or 2 it might be okay but i guess there are better places to stay in Puerto Viejo.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

My husband and I stayed in a double room with a shared bathroom for 16us per night. The location of the hostel was good and the bus drops you off pretty much right outside. The rooms were extremely hot but did have fans. The fan in our room didnt work but they gave us another one. The rooms are very basic with nothing but a bed, fan, and a shelf. It also has a small window into the alley next door. The rooms are noisey as above the rooms you have either a restaurant, kitchen, internet room(not free) or the dorm and sound travels far!
The bathrooms were cleaned regularly and had cold water.
There was also kitchen access but it was a really dirty kitchen. You also had to leave a deposit and get the needed utensils from the reception desk. The utensils were never cleaned properly. Up near the kitchen is also an indoor camping area and a couple of bathrooms.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Camacho87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
0.4 mi away
Cabinas Talamanca
Cabinas Talamanca
#72 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#4 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Exotica Lodge
Exotica Lodge
#44 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Lizard King Hotel Resort
#30 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Veronica's Place Cabinas
Veronica's Place Cabinas
#38 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Aban
#4 of 5 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Backpackers Hostel

Property: Sunrise Backpackers Hostel
Address: Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Also Known As:
Sunrise Backpackers Hostel Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing