We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mother Dear Ocean Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mother Dear Ocean Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Writing from the deck of our MD cottage on our last day in puerto viejo: Today is Sunday, we have been here since Monday night. There is a reason why this place has been rated nothing but excellent. Great hospitality! Great location! Great design!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adrakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
179
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parry Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary our stay at Mother Dear was the highlight of our memorable trip to beautiful Costa Rica. The Beach House is the best oceanfront place we have ever stayed. A simple but clever layout. We loved breakfast on the deck after an early morning walk on the beach. The location is perfect. Quiet section of beach that is only a fifteen minute walk into town, It is also only a five minute walk to a small grocery store and great pub/restaurant (The Point)
Not only outstanding acommodations but equally outstanding hosts, Jim and Debbie take your stay here to another level. They are wonderful people. We had some items in the fridge and pantry to get us by on our first night, They made dinner reservations and even got up at 4:30 am to see us off.
100 EXCELLENT reviews is not impossible at Mother Dears ... oooh did I mention the wild horses grazing in our front yard and running on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Misterchips666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Mother dear was recommended to us and although we had a good time already in Puerto Viejo, Mother dear cottages and the lovely owners really made this holiday turn into our top list! The cottages are super super clean, very very big, the wood and openess give a real Costa Rica feeling. The view makes you want to stay on the deck the entire time and the kindness of the owners make you sad to leave. Awesome big bed and satin sheets so soft... Shower like in you are in the middle of their garden and wake up with the sound of the waves in a beautiful surrounding in a cottage that could be named a little villa as well!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babette81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I only got one night here and wish I could have stayed for weeks. These two treehouse-like homes are clearly labors of love, everything is done so beautifully. Debbie and Jimmy are so warm, kind, and fun, and when you balance that with being perfect hosts, well, this is a wonderful getaway. The view, the breeze, the sound of the ocean and being able to walk right out into it, close enough to town but not in the midst of it, it all makes for a very relaxing place to restore yourself. I'll be back, Jimmy & Debbie! Thanks so much, h

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taco1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My daughter and I thoroughly loved staying with James and Debbie. I say “staying with James and Debbie” because being at Mother Dear is like is like staying with good friends. They make you feel at home as soon as you meet them. They are the consummate hosts, whether it was giving us directions in town, recommending places to eat, calling the taxi for us, leaving treats in the fridge, or helping us do the laundry (an unexpected plus!). The cottage is gorgeous. It looks like it came right out of a magazine. The beach is a short walk from the cottage through a beautiful garden. The deck faces the beach and has chairs and a hammock. The double doors open to the large room with full kitchen, couch and queen bed. It has windows with screens and the walls are very tall with the top ¼ completely open with screens. Ok, let’s be honest. My worry was the bugs. There are some critters here and there, but overall it was clean and comfortable. Debbie gives you plug-in bug repellant to use at night, and we didn’t have any problems. My other concern was the lack of air conditioning. Again, not to worry. The fans and sea breeze kept it perfectly comfortable. You can't get more relaxing than the sound of the ocean waking you up in the morning and lulling you to sleep at night.

Mother Dear is in a great location. It’s a 20 minute walk to Puerto Viejo by way of the beach. Completely enjoyable with warm water, ocean breeze, great views. The town has lots of little shops, a grocery store and many restaurants. We felt safe at all times and would take the cab back at night (around $4 one way). James recommended the restaurant Jungle Love, which was fantastic and owned by a wonderful couple.

Our activities were all planned through Gecko Trail Adventures (except for the rescue center). They were easy to work with and picked us up and dropped us off at Mother Dear. I would highly recommend them. You can book online or at Banana Azul.

Jaguar Rescue Center: We rented bikes at Banana Azul and rode to there. A great place to spend the morning. Saw many animals and got to hold a small howler monkey, the highlight of our trip! One tip¸though. The tour books tell you not to wear insect repellant there because of the contact with the animals. We took that advice, and by the time we rode to the center, we were completely eaten by insects. It turned out that it would have been ok to wear repellant, as you sanitize you hands before you go into the monkeys. If you’re prone to insect bites, slather up before you go!

Ziplining: So much fun! Over 20 lines flying over the forest, and the Tarzan line is not to be missed.

Horseback riding: Rode along the beach and through the forest. Short hike on foot to a bluff that overlooked the ocean. Fantastic!

River rafting on the Pacuare River: One of the best things we did! The river was fun and exciting and the view throughout the ride was unbelievable. The other perk was that they dropped us off at our next destination in Arenal.

Of course our stay also had to include beach time. The beach attached to Mother Dear is clean and the water is warm. It was like having your own private beach.

Overall, Puerto Viejo a great vacation destination and staying at Mother Dear is the icing on the cake. You will not be disappointed and I give it my highest recommendation!

Room Tip: There are only 2 cottages and you can't go wrong with either!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itellunolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

I could have stayed at Mother Dear for a month! These "cottages" are actually spacious, beautifully finished homes on stilts overlooking a garden and the ocean. Jimmy and Debbie are gracious hosts and have obviously labored over the details -- the finish on the wood, the tile in the bathroom, the hammock, the flowers. All you have to do is just melt onto the balcony and soak them up.

We swam in the soft surf right in front of our cottage. We wandered into town for lunch at a terrific bakery. Debbie recommended a fabulous massage. One night we ordered terrific pizza on our balcony; another night we took Jimmy and Debbie's excellent reservation and had fabulous dinner at a restaurant down the beach, Jungle Love. All in all, flawless.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apc-nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Mother Dear for the last 3 nights of our trip to Puerto Viejo, but I wish we would have stayed there all 6 nights! The 2 cabins are gorgeous and have very comfortable beds, huge balconies that get amazing ocean breezes all day and night (we saw 2 wild horses right on the beach and in the garden from our room a couple of times during our stay), and giant showers with hot water (the only ones we had all 10 days of our trip). Jimmy and Debbie are the sweetest people who were happy to help us in any way they could...from calling us a cab whenever we needed one to having the fridge stocked with some essentials when we arrived to even letting us stay after checkout when our snorkeling tour got cancelled and had to wait until 4pm for the bus to San Jose. We fell in love with Puerto Viejo and will definitely be staying at Mother Dear during all of our vacations there!! Can't wait to see you in May!! :)
-Wally and Alyssa

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallyssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
2.6 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
3.7 mi away
Casa Moabi
Casa Moabi
#3 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mother Dear Ocean Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Dear Ocean Cottages

Property: Mother Dear Ocean Cottages
Address: Calle Bar Pen Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70401, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two hand-crafted hardwood cottages by the sea. Built for maximum air circulation, the cottages are elevated, cooled by ocean breezes during the day and mountain backdrafts at night. Beach music and forest sounds help you rest, relax, and renew. Beautiful hardwood floors and custom furniture make for a warm and cozy nest. Looking out above the beach from your porch, listening to the sound of the crashing waves, life is good! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mother Dear Ocean Cottages Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing