We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good cheap accommodation”
Review of Hotel Puerto Viejo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Puerto Viejo
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good cheap accommodation”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

i just walked around the corner form the bus stop to this place. Rooms were cheap (about US$15 for a private room), some of the cheaper in the area.
Beer is cold in their fridge and the kitchen is basic but serviceable for most travellers.
Rooms are small but matresses were pretty comfy. Wifi was pretty good also. Very central to all restaurants and bars but not on a busy street which is nice.
Communal areas are chilled and there is a wide array of travellers. It's definitely for backpackers or the easy going traveller.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salted_Boards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    31
    24
    11
    16
See reviews for
6
27
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

It's just a few blocks off the water, but that's a good thing. Great vibe, amazing structure - all wood, tons of differently coordinated rooms. Good wifi (in the right spots). The owner actually offered me the room right above the router - it was approaching the off season so there were many rooms available.

It's a super close walk to EVERYTHING - the beach, numerous markets, and all the "goings on" down on main street. I just happened to be there during the 2013 Afro Caribbean film festival (it's in September if anyone is interested). It was really cool to be able to see a top tier event in a small venue like that. Danny Glover was there, Alfre Woodard - there was great music and a very warm comfortable Caribbean vibe you are unlikely to find at a typical red carpet event in the states.

Back to the hotel - a great place for newbie backpackers, they had actual warm showers, and decent bathrooms. It's a very laid back place, the owners and staff are on site, and can provide a wealth of local knowledge. The kitchen is not good - sorry guys. But that's wasn't a big deal for me. If you are the hippie granola communal meal type, this place would be a 10 out of 10 on everything, EXCEPT the kitchen. It's usable, but not set up for high use - serious lack of refrigeration too... just keep in mind when shopping for groceries.

Overall the place Rocks, by not trying to ROCK.. if that makes sense. Puerto Viejo is a phenomenal place to wander around pristine beaches, learn to surf (reasonable surf schools), and just relax and The Hotel Puerto Viejo is an inexpensive, yet very comfortable option in one of my favorite Costa Rican towns.

Room Tip: just tell the owners what you are looking for!! They have a bunch of different combo's - huge pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thompsonm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I Was here with my friend in February 2014. We were staying in private room for bargain price. Everybody in the reception is really nice and helpful with everything that you need. In the reception you can also order shuttle for Bocas del Toro, Panama, for only $25 (one way). Room was clean, there was always hot water in the shower + towels. I also love the garden in the back, with a lot of nature around, also friendly cats+dogs ;) It feels like home.:)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra_H24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

The place is fine for somewhere to crash and sleep at night.
If you can get over the smell of weed that you have to walk past every time you walk in/out the main entrance (I don't understand the smoking area being RIGHT in the entrance door), then you can enjoy your stay here. We had a back room/cabin which has sufficient room inside and was nice and quiet. The kitchen is large, but not greatly stocked and easily crammed and crowded if more than 3 people given the poor layout.
We had a nice quiet stay and were really only here to sleep as we spent the days outdoors visiting the local areas.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JPescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

it was the first hostel I stayed at In Costa Rica and now having been travelling for two months it was one of the best I must say! front desk girl a bit grumpy. but owner Kurt is a character and so is the whole friends and family who live there full time! it was fun using the common area and kitchen! nice showers. we got upgraded to a bungalow and still at 10$ per night! super chill and good vibes. great location too!thanks!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koshka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed in this so called hotel for some nights. The staff was out of money and begging all the time and the customers were robbed in the hotel by the staff. The kitchen was dirty as the cooking equipment in the kitchen. The price of the room was avarage for taying in Puerto viejo, so there are many places for the same price as the Hotel Puerto Viejo got, but these other hostels and hotels are offering better standart for the same price as the Hotel Puerto viejo got. I would not recommend this nest of thieves to anybody ...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels

Merced, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We arrived in Puerto Viejo at 9pm during a holiday and everything was full. After going to 5 or 6 other places without a single open bed, we showed up at Hotel Puerto Viejo and met Kurt, the owner. He too was booked solid but he actually offered us to stay in his house upstairs. This seemed a little weird at first, but it was clean, comfortable, and definitely better than the streets that were our only other option. The next day we were moved into a private room. It was cheap, close to everything, had hot water, a clean kitchen, and a super chill environment. We definitely enjoyed it.
The only thing that worried me was the lack of security - we locked some important things in a special room with other valuables near the lobby and whenever we needed to get anything, they would just hand us the key to go back there. It made me worried about who was going in the room alone with our stuff. Other than that, it was a great stay =)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#4 of 104 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kalunai Hostel
Kalunai Hostel
#10 of 104 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Lizard King Hotel Resort
#31 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Tower Hotel
Sea Tower Hotel
#13 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerto Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerto Viejo

Property: Hotel Puerto Viejo
Address: Calle 217 y Ave 71 -69 | Mts South From Hot Rock's Bar 50, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No shoes, no shirt - no problem! Hotel Puerto Viejo is Puerto Viejo's original and most well-known backpacking hotel. Located only a few blocks away from Salsa Brava, the original and still the best Costa Rican surf spot we cater to traveling surfers and backpackers alike. We offer a well equipped kitchen and spacious common lounge area with lots of comfy sofas and dining area or enjoy our private garden or our big back yard, all equipped with Wi-Fi. Located in the heart of Puerto Viejo, you can reach in 5 min by foot the beach, a wide range of restaurants and bars, surf shops, mini markets, cash machines, and beautiful sunsets. Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Puerto Viejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puerto Viejo Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing