We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Puerto Viejo
Nearby Hotels
US$331
US$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Escape Caribeno(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Banana Azul(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
US$169
US$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Costa de Papito(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Umami Hotel(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
US$170
US$163
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Boutique Indalo(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
US$96
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Yare(Cocles)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Coco Loco Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
27
32
25
11
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
32
25
11
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvegan restaurantpuerto viejovegan cakeshot waterkurthippie
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

i just walked around the corner form the bus stop to this place. Rooms were cheap (about US$15 for a private room), some of the cheaper in the area.
Beer is cold in their fridge and the kitchen is basic but serviceable for most travellers.
Rooms are small but matresses were pretty comfy. Wifi was pretty good also. Very central to all restaurants and bars but not on a busy street which is nice.
Communal areas are chilled and there is a wide array of travellers. It's definitely for backpackers or the easy going traveller.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salted_Boards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

It's just a few blocks off the water, but that's a good thing. Great vibe, amazing structure - all wood, tons of differently coordinated rooms. Good wifi (in the right spots). The owner actually offered me the room right above the router - it was approaching the off season so there were many rooms available.

It's a super close walk to EVERYTHING - the beach, numerous markets, and all the "goings on" down on main street. I just happened to be there during the 2013 Afro Caribbean film festival (it's in September if anyone is interested). It was really cool to be able to see a top tier event in a small venue like that. Danny Glover was there, Alfre Woodard - there was great music and a very warm comfortable Caribbean vibe you are unlikely to find at a typical red carpet event in the states.

Back to the hotel - a great place for newbie backpackers, they had actual warm showers, and decent bathrooms. It's a very laid back place, the owners and staff are on site, and can provide a wealth of local knowledge. The kitchen is not good - sorry guys. But that's wasn't a big deal for me. If you are the hippie granola communal meal type, this place would be a 10 out of 10 on everything, EXCEPT the kitchen. It's usable, but not set up for high use - serious lack of refrigeration too... just keep in mind when shopping for groceries.

Overall the place Rocks, by not trying to ROCK.. if that makes sense. Puerto Viejo is a phenomenal place to wander around pristine beaches, learn to surf (reasonable surf schools), and just relax and The Hotel Puerto Viejo is an inexpensive, yet very comfortable option in one of my favorite Costa Rican towns.

Room Tip: just tell the owners what you are looking for!! They have a bunch of different combo's - huge plus for eclectic groups:) BTW it doesn't have a pool or fitness center?? I just couldn't figure out how to uncheck those things.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thompsonm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I Was here with my friend in February 2014. We were staying in private room for bargain price. Everybody in the reception is really nice and helpful with everything that you need. In the reception you can also order shuttle for Bocas del Toro, Panama, for only $25 (one way). Room was clean, there was always hot water in the shower + towels. I also love the garden in the back, with a lot of nature around, also friendly cats+dogs ;) It feels like home.:)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleksandra_H24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The place is fine for somewhere to crash and sleep at night.
If you can get over the smell of weed that you have to walk past every time you walk in/out the main entrance (I don't understand the smoking area being RIGHT in the entrance door), then you can enjoy your stay here. We had a back room/cabin which has sufficient room inside and was nice and quiet. The kitchen is large, but not greatly stocked and easily crammed and crowded if more than 3 people given the poor layout.
We had a nice quiet stay and were really only here to sleep as we spent the days outdoors visiting the local areas.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JPescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

it was the first hostel I stayed at In Costa Rica and now having been travelling for two months it was one of the best I must say! front desk girl a bit grumpy. but owner Kurt is a character and so is the whole friends and family who live there full time! it was fun using the common area and kitchen! nice showers. we got upgraded to a bungalow and still at 10$ per night! super chill and good vibes. great location too!thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koshka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews