We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rice and Beans!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Tamara

Restaurante Tamara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rice and Beans!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Cold beer!! Good reggae Music!!
Nice restaurant in the main street of PV, good Rice and beans with caribbean chicken and ''patacones''.
Love the style and vibes in this place!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CRNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    57
    22
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cohoes, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best Place in Puerto Viejo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We ate here on our last night in PV, and we were so discouraged...WHY DIDNT WE COME HERE BEFORE!!! We had the most amazing meal...The seafood with rice and beans, and the caribbean chicken with rice and beans...the sauce the chicken was stewed in was the best I ever tasted. The drinks were great and the service was great also. We also had the civeche and that was great! We wished we got to eat here again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DumesNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
268 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Terrific food with a Caribbean flair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Tamara is the real goods: solidly tasty food, especially fish, with succulent fresh salad and seductive Caribbean rice and beans. Right on the main drag of Puerto Viejo, it’s a great place to sit and watch the small town and savor the coconut flavors in the rice and beans.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bobinathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Caribbean flavour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Rice&Beans with chiken or meat is great. Great platan fried, good guacamole, good lobsters -ask for the weight and the price in advance-.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Your Credit Card isnt safe here - Camera in the ceiling”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

The food was great and service was fine. The issue was when we came to pay... We were asked to go to the main reception where we paid by credit card. The machine was passed over. I had to use one hand to hold the machine as the cable wasn't long enough and the other hand for entering the pin. Because both hands were in use I couldn't hide what I was typing. THAT WAS WHEN MY WIFE NOTICED A CAMERA IN THE CEILING. The girl at the till told us that it was filming and though it was funny.

I think the camera is for monitoring staff, but you are better finding a restaurant that doesn't use such disgraceful tactics. I have had to cancel the card for safety.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rob776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Tamara also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Restaurante Tamara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing