We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive Pura Vida Vibrations in Punta Uva”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Walaba Hostel & Beach House is a super cool Hostel with a fun rustic style, great location, and a very helpful staff. The following are just a few things that left a lasting impression!

-Affordable Rates with lots of options
-Surrounded by Nature
-Falling asleep to the sound of crashing waves
-Cool bike rides up and down the coast to places like Manzanillo, Cahuita, Cocles, & Puerto Viejo.
-Making yummy home cooked meals in the public kitchen
-Super convenient little market close by. The locals call them Pulperias, they have everything.
-Morning sunrises on the beach at 5 30, with a hot cup of organic coffee with local cacao.
-Meeting so many fun international world travelers.

♢ Thanks Walaba for fun vibes and good memories, Chad Carson ♢

Room Tip: The little houses with private bath and kitchen with a patio are a great deal and totally worth it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chizad93021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

Walaba was great from the get go. Several very friendly, cute Tico girls running the place that were always very helpful. Felt like we were staying in a tree house in the of the jungle. Super clean, short walk to beautiful quiet beach. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adamo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Walaba is wonderfully clean and relaxing, close to a beautiful beach and staffed by the nicest group of girls around!! Awesome place can't wait to come back!! Great location between veijo and manzanillo, punta uva is the perfect place!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tylerleblanc90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. We miss Lupi the dog. She became our friend for the week. I can recommend staying here. Close to some very nice beaches. Recommend renting bikes and taking a trip to Manazillo. Walk through the jungle trek to find amazing hidden beaches!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveyD_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We really liked our stay at Walaba. The owner was incredibly sweet and helpful. The beach, Punta Uva, across the road was pretty much all ours, and pretty much perfect. Renting bikes was a good way to see the other nearby towns. We preferred being father from the crowds at Puerto Viejo, and cooking some for ourselves was a big help for our small budget.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Walaba is just a dreamplace. I could not believe how amazing this place was just for 15 bucks a night! Every room, common are, restroom, bathroom is decorated/designed in an unique manner.
But this place would not be the same without the amazing staff that operates it. They could not be more helpful! I loved talking to all of them.
Best regards from the Bulgarians:)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Walaba is perfect. We had to rent a room for 4 people (we were 2) because there was nothing left for the dates we wanted but it was totally worth it! The staff is really friendly and helpful, common areas are awesome and you get to meet many cool people while being there. They rent bikes, organize tours and are greatly located near a very peaceful and beautiful beach.
We really loved our stay there and would totally recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the 1rst floor kitchen are better and quieter, you have the bathroom and a better equi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaiFrappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
4.2 mi away
Kalunai Hostel
Kalunai Hostel
#6 of 116 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
79 reviews
4 mi away
Rocking J's
Rocking J's
#61 of 116 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
483 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Moabi
Casa Moabi
#5 of 116 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
#76 of 116 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
66 reviews
3.2 mi away
Playa 506
Playa 506
#3 of 116 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
120 reviews
1.9 mi away
One World
One World
#4 of 10 in Cocles
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses

Address: Punta Uva | Puerto Viejo, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 1451-2050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £24 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walaba is a charming property located between the jungle and the beach in the South Caribbean coast of Costa Rica. Our houses Caribbean style, are perfect for people who enjoy the tranquility of nature and love life. Our regular visitors in the area include monkeys, sloths, hummingbirds, toucans and many other species of birds, frogs, lizards along with other critters and creatures that mother nature has offered Costa Rica. We are located 5km from down town Puerto Viejo on your way to Manzanillo. There are buses during the day that will drop you off directly outside the hostel or you can get a taxi from Puerto Viejo. Punta Uva is quite and relaxed with restaurants, markets and bars with a local touch. Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses is a short 2 minute walk from Punta Uva beach; one of the most beautiful and well known beaches in Costa Rica and the world. Playa Punta Uva is surrounded by exotic vegetation and wildlife with pristine crystal blue waters. Protected by a rock cave it’s a perfect beach to swim, snorkel/dive, kayak or just relax and enjoy a book or the company of old and new friends. For those travellers who may want to veer from the typical budget hostel or party environment and feel the real magic of the Caribbean Coast, our multi lingual staff can guide you in any direction you want to travel. We offer: Free Wifi, kitchen, beds with mosquito nets, hot water showers, dining room & hammocks, open air terrace and BBQ, parking, bicycle and snorkel rental, tour desk and shuttle service all set in a Tropical Rainforest Garden. "Walaba Hostel – Your Caribbean Vibe Mixed With The Costa Rican Pura Vida." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing