We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay to relax” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Had a great time, in walking distance to the best beach in the area. Located right in the rain forest so you can hear the howler monkeys at night. Great common room with lots of areas to chill out. Plus had a fantastic kitchen.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeybstunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    20
    10
    9
    9
See reviews for
6
22
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mackinac Island, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

This place was lots of fun. The staff are awesome thanks Vincent and Greta foe everything. Relax vibe here and lots of interesting people pass through. Stayed in a dorm room and a private room simple rooms and perfect for a good nights sleep. The beach nearby is quaint and very private. Kitchen has pretty much everything you need to cook as food can be a problem to find and expensive in CR. Wildlife right outside your window monkeys and birds will wake you in the morning so no need to set an alarm. I would return here as it is just a great place to relax.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank upnorthliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed here back in November on my way to Punta Mona and had such a super rad experience. First, it was really nice to get out of the bustle of Peurto Veijo with my cousin to kick back and relax with the jungle vibe and re-charge at the nearby beach. Secondly, the owners are super cool very nice people and very helpful, when I asked to stash my extra bags while I went into the jungle they were so nice about it (cautionary note to travellers keeping clothes in plastic bags in the humid tropical rainforest, they tend to get moldy very quickly so be careful, however it is harmless green mold and washes completely off, all good after a good wash). I stayed here again on my way back from the jungle and they were super nice about the whole thing. I rented a bike and cycled in to Peurto to visit friends at the bar which was alot of fun, if you like to cycle I highly recommended to make that trip on a clear night, the stars are amazing but bring a flashlight! Also recommend the hiking trail across from the hostel to the right of the beach which takes you over to a side beach which is less crowded and very long and beautiful great for yoga and meditation! Over-all would love to go back, the private rooms are nice and comfy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

After reading the reviews I expected a bit more. There is a jungle feel, indeed. I would not call this place a clean but I have admit that in this humid climate it might be hard to keep anything clean. There are two kitchens. At least the one on the ground floor wasn't very welcoming. Part of the jungle feel are the mosquitoes that are there also during the day. There was a large enough net covering the double bed. We got quite bitten still so I don't know what kind of bugs there were. A stronger repellent would have been needed than I had.

Staff is helpful they do their best to create a nice atmosphere. I was also grateful for their flexibility when I messed up with my Hostelworld booking.

I enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere of this place. It is very close to the beach and you can find several restaurants and two supermarkets from walking distance.

Thanks for the waste sorting facilities. I was happy to use them. Since sorting instructions vary from one country to another it might be a good idea to have list next to each of the bins what to put there. Recyclables is too general of an advice.

It is good to remind visitors that water is a scarce resource. However if the shower is leaking 24/7 that probably has larger contribution than the people using the shower. Pls. fix the leakage first before asking the guests to save water.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

So,I also caught the virus here but it seemed to be everywhere on the Caribbean coast!
The hostel was a good size, the beds could have been more comfortable, but the feel was nice and the people who were there when I was were lovely! Shame that the water cuts out sometimes and they rely a lot on the rain!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beegirl90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Hidden away in the jungle this place feels a lot more remote than it is. Right across the street from the beach and across from a really great restaurant. The private rooms are very quiet and have a wooden hut kind of feel. There are some spaces in between the boards and the mosquitos can get pretty bad in the evening (like everywhere else) so use your bug net properly at night. It has a beautiful garden and a really nice shower that is partly open so you can look up into the trees. One of my best memories was taking a shower and looking up at a sloth who was looking down at me! Also, red eyed tree frogs frequent the shower often so it's worthwhile to bring a camera, we managed to get some really great shots.

Room Tip: Stayed in private room 3 and it was right on the balcony with a neat hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

What a beautiful building...that space is enchanting and the location fantastic. But please give it a spring clean. Mice and rats, and although the cleaning woman did a fantastic job on her daily duties, the place needed a good clean and some maintenance - - fix the boards that one would fall through, put some hooks on the back of bathroom doors, hang some curtains in front of the showers, fix the shower doors. Sort out the water issue - while there 6 people became violently ill.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmmeire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#3 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rocking J's
Rocking J's
#35 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
#69 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kalunai Hostel
Kalunai Hostel
#11 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vista Verde Guest House
Vista Verde Guest House
#10 of 51 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Lizard King Hotel Resort
#28 of 51 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses

Property: Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
Address: Punta Uva | Puerto Viejo, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 1451-2050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walaba is a charming property located between the jungle and the beach in the South Caribbean coast of Costa Rica. Our houses Caribbean style, are perfect for people who enjoy the tranquility of nature and love life. Our regular visitors in the area include monkeys, sloths, hummingbirds, toucans and many other species of birds, frogs, lizards along with other critters and creatures that mother nature has offered Costa Rica. We are located 5km from down town Puerto Viejo on your way to Manzanillo. There are buses during the day that will drop you off directly outside the hostel or you can get a taxi from Puerto Viejo. Punta Uva is quite and relaxed with restaurants, markets and bars with a local touch. Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses is a short 2 minute walk from Punta Uva beach; one of the most beautiful and well known beaches in Costa Rica and the world. Playa Punta Uva is surrounded by exotic vegetation and wildlife with pristine crystal blue waters. Protected by a rock cave it’s a perfect beach to swim, snorkel/dive, kayak or just relax and enjoy a book or the company of old and new friends. For those travellers who may want to veer from the typical budget hostel or party environment and feel the real magic of the Caribbean Coast, our multi lingual staff can guide you in any direction you want to travel. We offer: Free Wifi, kitchen, beds with mosquito nets, hot water showers, dining room & hammocks, open air terrace and BBQ, parking, bicycle and snorkel rental, tour desk and shuttle service all set in a Tropical Rainforest Garden. "Walaba Hostel – Your Caribbean Vibe Mixed With The Costa Rican Pura Vida." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing