We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in the middle of the jungle”
Review of Casa Moabi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Moabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2013

It was a great stay at Casa Moabi.
Tom and the other staff are so friendly and lovely , they always want the best for you to have a great stay.
The rooms are clean and have a great atmosphere.
I really would recommend this hostel and you should try their pancakes in the morning! delicious :D
Thanks a lot !

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

Casa Moabi is a wonderful house in the middle of the jungle. There is a lovely secluded beach about 5 minutes walk from the house. It is situated between Playa Cocles and Punta Uva, and is about 5 km from Puerto Viejo itself, which was somewhat frustrating at times as it costs $8 one way for a taxi into town, and probably the only reason I cannot give Casa Moabi five stars. We stayed in a room in the main house, and it was large, with lots of storage space and a very good sized bathroom with towels provided fresh as often as you wanted. The room was cleaned every two days, and sometimes more often. The common areas are wonderful to sit in, with a number of hammocks and lounge areas looking out into the jungle. We saw sloths, monkeys, and hummingbirds right around the house, and a few nights woke up to the sound of howler monkeys close by. There is a well-stocked outdoor kitchen that is free to use, and each room is given a storage drawer and shelf in the fridge to keep their food and drinks.

But the best part about Casa Moabi were the people working there - Lucas and Indy. They were friendly, helpful and a pleasure to be around. Lucas went out of his way to drive us into town or to a restaurant on many occasions and have a drink with us and wait for us at the end of the night to take us home after the bar (even stopping to let us pick up slices of pizza!). If you are fine staying in a more remote location, and being on less crowded beaches but maybe having to go more out of your way to go out at night, then this would definitely be the place for you.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

The no-terrible-or-poor-reviews standard really fits this hotel. Great value for your money and the people working here are really, really nice. It is located between Puerto Viejo and all the major beaches, but it feels secluded and has a great restaurant close by (Malbec).

Highly recommended for budget traveleres!

Room Tip: Don't choose the room by the kitchen if you are traveling in couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Isislabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

You are emersed in the jungle, its really a place like no other. Inde was great, always asking if we needed anything. Lucas was a great guy too. You are in the jungle, and will see toucans from your hammock among others. Little primitive, real Costa Rica jungle flavor. Should have a rental or bike and lock.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I can't praise CM enough, we stayed for 3 nights and its more like staying with friends than being in a hotel. Lucas was a diamond in picking us up, dropping us off and taking us to places when we needed to get somewhere and where else would you get a couple of cold beers on checking in?.

Indy keeps the space spotless and is a great help in planning in the local area. The social spaces and kitchen are very well laid out and the setting in the rainforest in spectacular.

Not far from a local beach and 4km into town.

Great place and great times.

J

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Very nice hostal in Puerto Viejo!
Really cool stay in the djungle!
We loved it, in our casita house!!
Best hosts ever, thank you Indé and Lucas!
Awesome Awesome Awesome! :)
We hope to see you again................................

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaKristofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed at Casa Moabi for three nights. Great value ( rooms are bright, spacious and clean) Location is great if you're looking to be in a quiet setting, but near beaches and puerto viejo. We saw so much wildlife! The communal kitchen is clean and airy, there are hammocks and an open sitting area. Lucca and Indie are great!! Lucca picked us up in town and dropped us off at the bus stop..also helped us with our francois :) helpful with the area ans hings to do. We rented bikes at the market up the street and explored the entire area. beauiful!!.....And you won't forget Papoose :) Would defiantly stay again!! Thank you!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivatuvida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
676 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#9 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,062 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,544 reviews
1.7 mi away
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
#75 of 118 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
120 reviews
1.6 mi away
Playa 506
Playa 506
#2 of 118 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Moabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Moabi

Address: Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £26 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Moabi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Costa Rica, on the Caribbean coast, in the national park of Gandoca ManzanilloThe "Casita" : Built in traditional Indian style, comprising 3 floors of 60 m² each, for six "casita" : - Four comfortables room each with bathroom including toilets, with access to a large common lounge and fully equipped kitchen, safe, garden, terrace and hammocks.- Independent pavilion with large rooms on the first floor, private bathroom, large balcony overlooking the garden and forest ; on the ground floor, large room with fully equipped kitchen and dining area.All of this in a lovingly cared for flower garden, with monkies, toucans, sloths and parakeets as neighbours, and only 200 m from a superb beach which you'll almost have all for yourself.Alimentary shops and restaurants only five minutes away by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Casa Moabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Moabi Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing