We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff”
Review of Aiyana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aiyana Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My husband and I went here on our honeymoon at the end of September. It is not the fanciest of hotels, but had everything we needed. Our room had a living area that worked great for dumping our stuff off after a visit to town. It also had a full size fridge which was handy because we drank a lot of water (Costa Rica is very humid and we spent a lot of time swimming/zip lining/white water rafting etc) so we needed to keep hydrated. Tommy the brother of the owner was excellent! He found out we were there on our honeymoon and he brought a plate with beautiful flowers and candles and two glasses of local sangria at no charge! He also taught us some German so we could play fetch with his dog. (They are originally from Germany) It was just a quick walk into town, but far enough off the main road that we never heard any traffic.

Room Tip: Depending on how booked they are; you might want to choose the lodge on the far side, away from the...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherS6761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Aiyana Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 9 days. The location was great - about a 10 minute walk into town. The accommodation was basic but had everything we needed including someone who came in and took out the garbage, swept the rooms, changed the towels etc daily. The rooms had a kitchenette so we were able to make coffee and breakfast in the morning. The owner even allowed us to keep out room until the shuttle arrived to pick us up at 2pm without an extra fee.
(rather than mandatory 11am checkout). The pool area was an added bonus. This spot isn't 5 star but I found it to be clean, safe and the owner very helpful. It was great for what we needed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdsNYC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed nine days here and had a wonderful time. I liked the location... a third of a mile to the left is the town of Puerto Viejo and a third of a mile to the right is the beautiful Cocles Beach and OM Yoga. The road has crazy traffic but we got used to it. The best part of this place is the pool. It's good for small kids and has a fun water slide for the big kids. It's hot in this part of Costa Rica so jumping into the pool after walking home was devine.

The pool is clean and the grounds are well kept. The cabins are simple. There are no blenders, toasters or modern coffee makers in the kitchen, but there are cooking pots, dishes and a Costa Rica style coffer maker. The refrigerator works very well and the shower is reliably hot. The drain in the bathroom is straight down instead of the trap style so sometimes it can get stinky. The maid comes once a day and cleans well.

The owners are very nice and we always felt safe. Coming home after dark was not an issue because the entire way is very well lit and well travelled. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaublue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

i paid $50 for this chalet for a night; it was scruffy, dirty and hot. I had to ask for a fan for the bedroom. The shower smelt of sewage. I did not want to get in the shower as the water smelled as if it had come from the cesspit. It was a rip off for $50 and i would have got better value in a hostel and paid $15. I am not exaggerating and am angry that i paid this much for such a dump.

Room Tip: my advice - don't stay here.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ferran V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: las cabinas tienen una relación calidad con el color de las mismas, así que pregunten antes... cuale...
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlène D, Gerente at Aiyana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016
Thank alain m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.2 mi away
Cabinas Monte Sol
Cabinas Monte Sol
#32 of 107 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Guarana
Hotel Guarana
#9 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Perla del Caribe
La Perla del Caribe
#16 of 107 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
El Tucan Jungle Lodge
El Tucan Jungle Lodge
#6 of 8 in Cocles
80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#9 of 107 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
121 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kaya's Place
Kaya's Place
#22 of 107 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aiyana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiyana Lodge

Address: 500 m from Puerto Viejo towards Cocles | Entrada Aiyana Lodge, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £40 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A I Y A N A Lodge offers you a pleasant way to take a break and relax.Our arartments are in a beautiful garden full of exotic fruit trees and plants.You will find a pool with waterfall and waterslide in it.Our apartments have a fully equiped living room and kitchen, 1 or 2 bedroom(s). We are near to town, and some of the world's most beautiful beaches are a walk or bicycle ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Aiyana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aiyana Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing