We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best , Real pura vida”
Review of Aiyana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aiyana Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best , Real pura vida”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Myself and four other friends had the pleasure of staying here . This was my second trip to Puerto Viejo . And I have just booked my third trip and I will be staying at Aiyana Lodge again for the second time . We came to Heike ( the owner ) after having been moderately screwed over by another lodge in town . The place we were supposed to stay , the ownership had completely misrepresented the size of the accommodation and the functionality of the kitchen for a group of 5 travelers . We were lucky to find Aiyana lodge because it had much more functional kitchens and a great pool area and was less expensive then the first place we booked ! I do have to say that totally disagree with these other negative reviews , if you cant find so one to help you out with a towel or a fan you really aren't looking that hard because the whole family lives literally across the street ( I mean 10 feet away ) .

The whole Caribbean coast is kinda a speak up if you want something place . if you need something speak up otherwise expect to be left alone . This coast is not big on rules and signs telling you what you can and cant to , if that is what you are looking for go back to the all-inclusives .

In closing , I like this place so much , am staying there again in about 3 weeks .

Pura Vida

CSW

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cswcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    25
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

We booked online and granted, our connection in San Jose did not work out so our first night was refunded without question, I will give them that.
Advertised as a 5 minute walk from town, it's actually about 15 minutes. It was also advertised as having bikes to use however "there are only two and one is broken", so this was not helpful - another important factor in Puerto Viejo where bikes are a must.
The wifi did not work the entire time we were there and we were told "oh it comes and goes."
There was very rarely anyone around in the house across the road (the "reception") to ask any questions or speak to anyone about pool towels or calling a cab.
When we checked in (4pm) our room was not ready and the cleaner shuffled us out, we only saw one other room being used in the entire complex so found it difficult that it could not be ready!
The rooms were extremely hot with very little opportunity to open any windows which in accommodation in the Caribbean without air con is a must!
Not good value for money, stay closer to town somewhere if you're going to pay this price!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Aiyana is without a doubt the nicest place in town, especially for the price. My boyfriend and I are twenty-four years old law students from Florida, who wanted to enjoy a fun, inexpensive Spring Break in Central America. We found out that Puerto Viejo, as a tourist hotspot, isn’t necessarily inexpensive, but our best deal of the trip was Aiyana Lodge. For $70 a night, we stayed in a cute lodge (which is in a duplex format) that came with a big shower, stove, fridge and freezer, double bed, pots and pans, and a TV (although we didn’t turn it on once, so I cannot attest to whether it works). Notably, the wifi works perfectly and I was able to send in a job application from my phone with no problem.

The cleaning staff is wonderful. Every single day, we were given fresh, clean towels and our sheets were changed twice in our five night stay. We came back the second morning and our dirty dishes were washed and put away (we felt badly about this because we never would have left without cleaning them had we known that someone would be coming through to clean). Likewise, our trash was taken out daily. While there is no A/C, there are two fans that we directed at us while sleeping and they worked excellently. Plus, there is an awesome pool—the neatest one in Puerto Viejo without a doubt—so you can always jump in to cool off if needed. The area is quiet, generally, and it was easy to relax. We spent a lot of time reading A Game of Thrones and tanning. Additionally, the actual ocean is only about 300 yards away, but there is access to a nice, big area of sandy beach around 800 yards away.

When walking throughout town, we couldn’t help but notice how much nicer and cleaner Aiyana is than everywhere else. Although it is a ten minute walk to the city center, there is a small grocery store and a delicious little restaurant (Todo es Posible) about two hundred yards away. We bought eggs, bread, cheese, coffee, soup, and fresh fruit and cooked many of our own meals.

Hyke, the owner, is friendly, accommodating, and incredibly helpful. We were supposed to check out on Thursday morning at 10:00 a.m.; however, we really wanted to go zip-lining, so we asked Hyke if we could have a late check-out in order to come back to shower and that we’d leave at 3:00. Without hesitating, she agreed and even called a taxi to pick us up afterwards. Likewise, we broke a mirror one morning, and of course, the cleaning staff had removed the broken shards before we returned home in the evening. We expected to be charged, and we weren’t. Hotels in the US and Europe always have hidden fees and touristy locations are even worse about extracting as much money as possible from consumers—but that is simply not how Hyke does business.

We fully endorse and recommend staying at Aiyana Lodge. Make sure you pet Larry and Anita, Hyke’s adorable dogs, for us!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlyCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emporia, Kansas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My husband and I went here on our honeymoon at the end of September. It is not the fanciest of hotels, but had everything we needed. Our room had a living area that worked great for dumping our stuff off after a visit to town. It also had a full size fridge which was handy because we drank a lot of water (Costa Rica is very humid and we spent a lot of time swimming/zip lining/white water rafting etc) so we needed to keep hydrated. Tommy the brother of the owner was excellent! He found out we were there on our honeymoon and he brought a plate with beautiful flowers and candles and two glasses of local sangria at no charge! He also taught us some German so we could play fetch with his dog. (They are originally from Germany) It was just a quick walk into town, but far enough off the main road that we never heard any traffic.

Room Tip: Depending on how booked they are; you might want to choose the lodge on the far side, away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherS6761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 9 days. The location was great - about a 10 minute walk into town. The accommodation was basic but had everything we needed including someone who came in and took out the garbage, swept the rooms, changed the towels etc daily. The rooms had a kitchenette so we were able to make coffee and breakfast in the morning. The owner even allowed us to keep out room until the shuttle arrived to pick us up at 2pm without an extra fee.
(rather than mandatory 11am checkout). The pool area was an added bonus. This spot isn't 5 star but I found it to be clean, safe and the owner very helpful. It was great for what we needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdsNYC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed nine days here and had a wonderful time. I liked the location... a third of a mile to the left is the town of Puerto Viejo and a third of a mile to the right is the beautiful Cocles Beach and OM Yoga. The road has crazy traffic but we got used to it. The best part of this place is the pool. It's good for small kids and has a fun water slide for the big kids. It's hot in this part of Costa Rica so jumping into the pool after walking home was devine.

The pool is clean and the grounds are well kept. The cabins are simple. There are no blenders, toasters or modern coffee makers in the kitchen, but there are cooking pots, dishes and a Costa Rica style coffer maker. The refrigerator works very well and the shower is reliably hot. The drain in the bathroom is straight down instead of the trap style so sometimes it can get stinky. The maid comes once a day and cleans well.

The owners are very nice and we always felt safe. Coming home after dark was not an issue because the entire way is very well lit and well travelled. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaublue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

i paid $50 for this chalet for a night; it was scruffy, dirty and hot. I had to ask for a fan for the bedroom. The shower smelt of sewage. I did not want to get in the shower as the water smelled as if it had come from the cesspit. It was a rip off for $50 and i would have got better value in a hostel and paid $15. I am not exaggerating and am angry that i paid this much for such a dump.

Room Tip: my advice - don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
2.8 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
467 reviews
2.3 mi away
Finca Ardilla
Finca Ardilla
#16 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#4 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages
#13 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Aban
#4 of 5 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
7 reviews
0.9 mi away
Selina
Selina
#40 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aiyana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiyana Lodge

Property: Aiyana Lodge
Address: 500 m from Puerto Viejo towards Cocles | Entrada Aiyana Lodge, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A I Y A N A Lodge offers you a pleasant way to take a break and relax.Our arartments are in a beautiful garden full of exotic fruit trees and plants.You will find a pool with waterfall and waterslide in it.Our apartments have a fully equiped living room and kitchen, 1 or 2 bedroom(s). We are near to town, and some of the world's most beautiful beaches are a walk or bicycle ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aiyana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aiyana Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing