We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Price, Breathtaking View”
Review of The Lazy Loft

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lazy Loft
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap Price, Breathtaking View”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed at The Lazy Loft for 7 days and it was very affordable and had a beautiful view and a 30 second walk to the ocean.

The staff is friendly and more than willing to help you figure out what to do in the area. The food service in the downstairs bar is a little slow but it doesn't matter when you're basically sitting on the beach. The water is clean, clear and refreshing. You can play on the beach all day, walk upstairs take a shower and be back down for a beer without having to walk farther than 50 feet. The downstairs bar, "The Lazy Mon," often has live music and if you're lucky fire performers that are unlike any you have ever seen before.

It is great for relaxing and is in close proximity to the grocery store (so you can use The Lazy Loft's kitchen). It is also close to bike rentals, shops and day time tours.

Room Tip: Ocean Front view...you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    13
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
6
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

I stayed for about 6 nights a few weeks ago and had an enjoyable time. The hostel genuinely has a good vibe with friendly staff, affordable rates and an excellent location. I do feel there a few things fellow travellers should know before they stay here: it is located above a bar which although is fun is very loud even on a weekday (making it impossible to sleep), the bar has been described as the 'drug capital of puerto Viejo' with many seedy stoned people wandering around, there is absolutely no security (no locks on doors, no lockers, no safe - not really reassuring given the bar below), the place is incredibly dirty - especially the kitchen where I consistently saw rats running on the benches, the kitchen looks good but is deceitful as only two small stove tops work, there are no bowels for cereal and only one spoon for everyone! The dorm is also quite uncomfortable with no working lights, no ceiling. Overall I feel there is no love from the owners. I don't mind if a hostel misses a few things, but this place seriously missess most, which is unfortunate because of the location

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicG89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2012

"The Lazy Loft" hostel sits atop "The Lazy Mon Beach Bar and Grill" in scenic Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica de Limon. "The Lazy Loft" is affordable and overlooks the second most affordable beach with some of the most amazing views in Latin America according to Huffington Post. Tourists are welcomed by the friendly staff and encouraged to join the crowd for amazingly tasty dishes enjoyed by tourists and locals alike daily and nightly at "The Lazy Mon." Guests listen to the eclectic sounds of music reflecting the diversity of the area. Live music is featured several nights during the week and guests can enjoy a game of pool, ping pong and occasional dancing. The "Lazy Loft" and "The Lazy Mon" are excellent places to experience a great vacation on the Caribbean side of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SenoraRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Had a good overall stay at the lazy loft, however, cleanliness standards could have been higher. Staff werent constantly around and kitchen was decieving with only one working stove. Very good view from all rooms and good positioning within the town. The staff were friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anon150800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.0 mi away
Rocking J's
Rocking J's
#48 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
465 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#5 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
#65 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Club Dub
Casa Club Dub
#35 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Selina
Selina
#61 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kalunai Hostel
Kalunai Hostel
#8 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lazy Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lazy Loft

Property: The Lazy Loft
Address: Salsa Brava Break | Stanfords, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 231-7304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hostel located directly on the beach with low prices & and a great atmosphere. The Lazy Loft is located above The Lazy Mon Sports & Music Bar & offers views of the famous Salsa Brava surf break. The Hostel is made up of 6 private rooms and 1 Dorm Room. All rooms are shared bathrooms with hot water. We offer a large industrial style shared kitchen for our guests. Tours, bike rentals, & laundry services available through us at competitive prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lazy Loft Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing