We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and in a good position”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hidden Jungle Beach House
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I stayed here just for one night because I had a pretty busy itinerary to follow, but I would had like to spend more days. The hostel is easy to reach if you ask the bus driver to drop you off at Kaya's Place (not my case though, he drop me off to far!) but I called Lisa on the phone and she guided me step to step! The hostel is located just 5 minutes walking outside Puerto Viejo, in front of Playa Negra (Black Beach).
The place was clean and comfy, with a mosquito net covering the bed, here you HAVE to have one if you wanna sleep. The mattress was a bit humid though, but in this part of Costa Rica humidity is a must have! There was a fan in the room, a very good thing to have. The kitchen is well furnished and there's a supermarket where you can buy food just few minutes away.
Lisa is a very nice person, she helped me a lot finding activities to do close to Puerto Viejo like the Jaguar Rescue Center, just 15 minutes away. I also rented a bike from her to reach Punta Uva, a great Caribbean beach 30 minutes away from Puerto Viejo. She also helped me calling a taxi to reach the Rescue Center, that morning was pouring down!
This place definitely deserve a try!! :)

Room Tip: Rooms have big windows with a great nature view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuendalinaDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa V, Owner at Hidden Jungle Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thanks for the nice review! I'm glad you enjoyed my place.

To reply about the humidity: yes it is humid here in the Caribbean. The mattress you had was in very good condition and it was not at all wet. I am very careful to keep my place clean and fresh.

And as for the Rescue Center that you went to: I just want to clarify to the readers - it was the Jaguar Wild Animal Rescue Center. I didn't want anyone to think it was YOU who needed a rescue :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

If you are looking for a few days of relax and would like to stay out of the trouble and partying of Puerto Viejo, Lisa's Hidden Jungle Beach House just a few hundred meters away from "downtown" is the right place for you. It has four small rooms and a shared bathroom/shower. You can use the kitchen in case you might wish to cook or to prepare breakfast in the morning. Lisa is a very attentive and dedicated host and can help with any questions regarding things to do in and around Puerto Viejo.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa V, Owner at Hidden Jungle Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Thanks for the very nice review. And what you said is exactly true. My place is very close to all the fun activity, but when you want to enjoy the tranquility of nature and get a good night's sleep, you can find it here.

One detail though - I do not call my place a hostel. It is a Guest House. Hostels give the idea of cheap dorm living with lots of people. I have only 4 rooms and they are all private. My Guest House is a step up from a hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This is one of the best places to stay in Puerto Viejo, if you are looking to relax and take it easy.

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week, and really enjoyed it. you are about a block from the beach, so every morning we would walk the two minutes to the beach, Playa Negra, where it was relatively empty, making it even more relaxing.

The house, set back from the road, is definitely hidden, making it all the more quiet and safe. Also, having a full kitchen is awesome - we cooked all our meals here, allowing us more money to go out and get drinks and appetizers at a number of great locations in Puerto Viejo.

For us, it was great - we would often go out to enjoy happy hour or to stay out late, partying it up at a few bars in town. We went and had some drinks with friends at Rockin J's, and were very happy with the choice we made - it was great to go visit the PARTY that was happening there, but it was even better to be able to walk to our quiet, peaceful home where we could get some real sleep rather in a bed than be woken up by someone in the neighboring hammock!!

Lisa is very on top of things around the house, helpful if you have questions, but also has her way of doing things.

Our only complaint was that when the house was full, everyone was living on top of each other. The walls are pretty thin, so you can hear what else is going on in the house, and if someone doesn't get along, it can get a little awkward. However, if you're going with multiple friends, this wouldn't be a problem, and like I said, this is our only real complaint!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vida_nueva_lisa, Owner at Hidden Jungle Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thanks for the nice review. I am glad you enjoyed my place. As for your only complaint, I totally understand. The place is small and the 4 rooms are close together. But I have never had anyone who did not get along, causing people to hear other's domestic arguments. Snoring and the dogs barking at night sometimes is usually the worst of the noise. And that is tempered by the sounds of the waves and the jungle. Hidden Jungle Beach House is not perfect but I do as much as I can to make it nice and make everyone comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The reviews I've read of the hidden Jungle Beach House were very complimetary and well deserved. I've stayed in a lot of hostels in the last few decades but this one has an appeal all of it's own. A true Tico house tucked away and wrapped in jungle. It's a three minute walk to the beach or four if you've really honed in on Carribean culture.

The "noise" you hear isn't the bars or people, it's the surf you go to sleep to and wake up to in the morning.

A great place and a lovely hostess!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cupebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vida_nueva_lisa, Owner at Hidden Jungle Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Thank you for your nice review. If I am a lovely hostess it is because I have lovely guests. Trip Advisor brings me some wonderful people!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Lisa is a great host, her location is convenient (not in town but right next to it)

She pays lots of attention to detail and makes a genuine effort to deliver the best experience for her guests.

If you need advice on what activities are available in Puerto Viejo, just ask her, she is very knowledgeable and eager to offer suggestions.

Very good option for those of us on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfie_cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Thanks for the good review. I notice YOU pay attention to detail, too in your description of what I do. I try hard to make everyone feel at home and make available every resource possible, for my guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Just had a great stay at Hidden Jungle Beach House in Puerto Viejo. The house is very cozy and comfortable, with soft beds and plush pillows...a rarity in Central America.
Lisa is a wonderful hostess and makes you feel right at home. She has two friendly dogs, Sativa and Santo, and a sweet kitty names Little-Bit.
The kitchen is stocked with everything you need to prepare your own meals. The common areas are conducive to meeting other guests and after a couple of days it feels like staying with family. There is free high-speed internet and cable TV. Hot water in the shower (a big plus!) and a wonderful jungle setting where you can listen to all the birds and other jungle animals throughout the day and night. Sometimes she even gets wildlife that comes right up to the house. A couple of days before I got here she had a sloth on the porch. So cool!
It is located very close to town ( 5 minute walk) and the beach is right across the street. Great beach for swimming too! Lisa has bikes you can rent for $8 a day, and you can bike just about anywhere nearby from Cahuita to Manzanillo. The area is very bike friendly.
Overall this is a great place that I would highly recommend. A very unique stay that I will always remember.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Thanks for the nice and very thorough review. You covered just about everything we have to offer. I am so glad you had a nice time here and really felt at home. My mission has been accomplished!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I had been researching a trip to Costa Rica for some time when I came across Lisa’s Blog, and was impressed with the depth of information, and her personal story on becoming an expat in Costa Rica; so what better spot to begin since my interest was learning more about living in Costa Rica.

During my stay I took 2 tours with Lisa, and I was able to get a good introduction to the area from Puerto Viejo to Manzanilo, as well as a road trip up into the mountains along the Panama border and through some of the indigenous Bri Bri villages. Lisa was not only a detailed guide and fun person to be with but was kind enough to introduce me to other expats in the area, which really helped me get a view of life in Caribbean Costa Rica.

I can’t tell you how beautiful the Caribbean area of Costa Rica is, and if you prefer the “less developed” side; you will appreciate the life here. I found the people I met here to be really friendly and sweet and I think you will too. Thanks to Lisa I had a wonderful introduction to the area.

As well the location and accommodations were great. I especially liked that my window (when open) looked out directly into the jungle. On my second day there, while standing in the kitchen we spotted a Sloth climbing up the very tree viewed from my room.

I certainly plan on returning again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonKinFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Thanks for your great review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and I"m glad to have been able to help you and share what I love about Costa Rica's Caribbean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
658 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabinas Coconut Grove
Cabinas Coconut Grove
#18 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kaya's Place
Kaya's Place
#19 of 111 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Natural Puerto Viejo
Natural Puerto Viejo
#71 of 111 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1 reviews
1.1 mi away
Be My Guest Cabinas
Be My Guest Cabinas
#27 of 111 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
54 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casitas Joanna
Casitas Joanna
#42 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Jungle Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Jungle Beach House

Address: Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70401, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £29 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden Jungle Beach House is a sweet little guest house, close to the beach but hidden away in the jungle. Its for people who love nature and its tranquility. There are only four bedrooms, so we are never crowded, with two shared bathrooms and a spacious shared kitchen. Everything is bright, fresh and clean. We are located in the jungle and right near the beach and town, too. We are close enough to all the activities and action of Puerto Viejo, yet we enjoy the jungle's tranquility and peace. Hidden Jungle Beach House attracts the most interesting of people from all over the world. We also offer a guide service and as I have lived in the area for ten years, I can advise you on activities to make the best of your stay in Costa Rica's Caribbean. Our quiet little hide-away is full of pleasant surprises. Come join us and see! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hidden Jungle Beach House Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing