We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only stayed 1 night which was long enough.”
Review of Exotica Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Exotica Lodge
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Only stayed 1 night which was long enough.”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night before a white water rafting trip. The rooms have aircon (extra $5) and a large fridge which is good. Our room had a double and two single beds all very uncomfortable, the sheets had stains on. The room was covered in dust and dead bugs and the bathroom was dirty.
For the price it needs cleaning with new linen, I would not have stayed a second night.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    19
    7
    10
    7
See reviews for
2
24
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I would recommend Exotica Lodge to anyone staying for either a night or a few days. The price of the room was fantastic compared to others in town and for the look of the place. Nacho was very accommodating along with his friendly staff. After conversing with him by email through trip advisor and getting a reservation our check in process was very smooth.
My boyfriend and I stayed in room 2 without a kitchen but with AC for 2 nights. We felt very comfortable sleeping at night as result the gates close at 8:00 at night. It's very close to town and very close to beaches. The place is very clean and offers a washer and dryer. We were unable to use the laundry service as result it was being used every time we went to try to do laundry. There's a fridge in the room which helped with having leftovers and keeping our water cold. Right next door is a bike rental shop which we rented for 24hrs for 2500€. If we come back to Puerto Viejo we'll definitely be staying here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boquete, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have have been to Puerto Viejo 3 times in the last year and stayed at 4 different hotels. Exotica Lodge is great value for money especially as they offer the option of air conditioning for only $5 extra per night. The rooms are big and spacious and the grounds make it a nice environment to just hang out in. The location is very convenient for walking to the beach, shops, bars and restaurants.
On the down side I could hear the noise from the bars late on Saturday night and the beds are quite hard. This didnt bother me but it might be a problem for some.
On the whole this is the best place we have found to stay and will be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lafiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The young woman working at Exotica (don't know her name) was the best part about the place. She spoke English very well and was able to get us an on-the-spot booking and then extend it later during the week. We loved the outdoor kitchen area but the wooden, backless stools were awful. Please get some cheap camp chairs with backs!. Love the room (we had a/c) and the woman who cleaned each day was lovely (even though we could barely communicate). The beds were not comfortable due to really thin, worn mattresses. Could also benefit from night lights (cheap ones) for the beds as we had to leave the overhead light on so I could read at night while my friend wanted to be asleep by 10pm.

Loved the location, loved the staff. Mattresses and wooden stools need to be tossed! Loved being surrounded by jungle and saw a sloth just up the road (right in town).

Would stay here again but request chairs in advance...would also check to see if mattresses were changed.

Room Tip: we liked room 7...air conditioning (not needed unless you're super hot all the time like me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COCO1328999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Pros;
Location- between the local beaches & en route to manzanilla beach (hire a bike)
Helpful staff
Privacy of kitchen area/garden
Nice big beds
No issues with safety as some reviews have questioned - it's 5 mins max to the heart of the town

Cons:
Kitchen not well equipped
Hammock was dirty - felt horrid!
Gardens= bugs so come prepared

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We loved this place! It is a short, safe walk to town, but it has the privacy of a remote resort. The room is simple and basic with everything we need; the bathroom and shower are big with lots of counter/shelf space. I recommend asking for a room with a kitchen, because the kitchen is outside on the covered patio. So not only do you have kitchenette facilities, you also have an extra-large patio for hanging out (especially nice when it rains; you feel like you're out in the rain forest but with a roof over your head). Nacho and Carlos are terrific; they'll help you with everything from local advice to transportation to your next destination--if you can even pull yourself away to go elsewhere! There is beach just across the road, but the really nice, expansive beach is about a 20-minute walk or very fast bike ride. Highly recommended! We will stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDS3287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scheyern
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I have been in this hotel for three nights and we really loved it. There a so many loud and overpriced places in puerto viejo that we have been so happy to find this hotel: it is a bit outside of the center (approcimately 5 minutes to walk) and very quiet and clean. The stuff was really friendly and helpful.

The hotel offers 8 rooms: 4 with and 4 without kitchen. They have two beds, a big bathroom and each has a nice balcony. Free coffee in the morning is included and nextdoor is a great bakery.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal. But we were very happy with room number 1 - it is without kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.0 mi away
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Lizard King Hotel Resort
#32 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lotus Garden
The Lotus Garden
#26 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Veronica's Place Cabinas
Veronica's Place Cabinas
#41 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#6 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#5 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Butterfly Hotel
Blue Butterfly Hotel
#46 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exotica Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exotica Lodge

Property: Exotica Lodge
Address: Main Street 300 metres south of Salsa Brava | Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Exotica Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exotica Lodge is located just steps away from the main centre and situated in a quiet tropical garden setting. There is plenty to see and do while staying at Exotica Lodge, discover the black sandy beach of Playa Negra then travel south to the golden sandy beaches of Playa Cocles, Chiquita and Punta Uva, all just a bike ride away. Aside from the some of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica, there’s plenty of other activities to do. We look forward to seeing you soon at Exotica Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Exotica Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exotica Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing