We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gecko Trail Adventures Animal Rescue Centre, Chocolate Lady and Waterfall Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Jaguar Animal Rescue Center is already mentioned as one of the top attractions in Puerto Viejo but there's a great way to see this, get transportation and also see two other top sites in the area. The Animal Rescue Centre, Chocolate Lady and Waterfall tour includes: Entrance and tour of the Jaguar Animal Rescue Centre located near Playa Cocles. This centre serves as a refuge and rehabilitation center for many local animals including members of the cat family, sloths, monkeys, snakes and more. After spending around 2 hours at the rescue center you will visit to see organic indigenous chocolate being made — the whole process from the growing of the Cacao plant to the making of chocolate as well as lots of information about the indigenous culture. Last but not least you will do a short hike to a nice waterfall where you can have a swim. Transportation: pickup and drop-off at your Puerto Viejo hotel All for $55. This is a great deal and you can see so much. And a friendly driver/guide who comes along will make sure you are going to have a great time and makes the whole experience extra special.
edsion
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“3 in 1”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Great tour that enables you to see 3 fun tours...Chocolate lady was fun and informative! you get to sample chocolate and buy some. waterfall was very strong, and you had to hike up hill to get back, but nothing to hard!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bolognafrank1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Animal Rescue Center”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We didn't visit the Chocolate Lady or the Waterfall, but the Jaguar Rescue Center was a real treat. We saw baby sloths, played with baby monkeys and saw many other animals. This is not a zoo - all the animals are returned to the wild as soon as possible. If you like wildlife, this is a great place to go.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsG53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only recommend the animal rescue”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

While the other two pieces of the trip were interesting, I don't think they're worth the money to spend on all three activities.
The animal rescue was great, but the groups were too big and I had to fight for breathing room with rude europeans.
The chocolate lady, while some pieces were interesting, I would not recommend someone spending the money. I learned more about costa rican women having babies in the woods than I did about chocolate.
The waterfall was pretty much a joke. It was a small waterfall with a bunch of locals giving you dirty looks. I couldn't get a decent picture because all the local kids were jumping off the falls into the water. The last two activities wasted half a day in costa rica that I could have used enjoying something else.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyastewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We did this tour with Gecko Adventures... our guide was fantastic. He actually stayed longer than usual in certain places because we enjoyed it so much!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Halifaxsamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FUN FUN FUN”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Read Hotel Review for more. Jaguar Rescue is amazing. Chocolate Lady is insightful and delicious, and the waterfall is a clear beautiful paradise.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Austin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gecko Trail Adventures Animal Rescue Centre, Chocolate Lady and Waterfall Tour also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Gecko Trail Adventures Animal Rescue Centre, Chocolate Lady and Waterfall Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing