We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very expensive”

Alice Ice Cream Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The highest quality ice cream, sorbet and vegan ice cream is all homemade and organic where possible. We use only local and organic produce, free-range, organic eggs and raw, organic sugar and chocolate from a local cacao farm. Fresh whipped cream and unique flavors from our backyard and around the world are offered every day. Open every afternoon. **Note** We had a tree destroy the left side of our house and property and are having major renovations done. We will try to be open and encourage you to call before driving here so you won't risk being disappointed. We're sorry for the inconvenience and hop to be back to every day service soon.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very expensive”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stopped after a hot day at the beach for a quick refresher, it was a spur of the moment stop but one that did not quite satisfy. It was very expensive. It was over $20 for 6 small scoops of ice cream, no frills, no extras, just a small scoop. The place has so much potential, it has an ideal location, great building, but it has no atmosphere. I think they could do so much with the spot they have. The ice cream was tasty though, just not much of it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ShazzieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice W, Owner at Alice Ice Cream Bar, responded to this review, 27 October 2014
Hi, it's impossible that 6 singles cost "over $20". It's 1500 CRC or $3 a scoop. We didn't have our Artisan flavors when you visited. Your total was $18. I'm sorry you felt it wasn't a good deal, but making things up isn't very nice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    39
    12
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious home made ice cream ”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Adorable funky and friendly family run ice cream place. The ice cream was delicious : we had coconut- banana and dolce leche and a very unique flavor : vegan avocado and chocolate : the were are great!

Helpful?
2 Thank Shardozois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heavenly Ice Cream!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

what a refreshing and delightful spot! How i wish i were digging into a scoop of their homemade, organic goodness right about now. My 10-year old boy had a blast scampering around with the owner's kids and it truly felt more like walking into his home vs a place of business. The family run place is just what you need after/to walk from the supermarket or after dinner...even before dinner, for that matter! They have wifi, so i was able to catch up on emails too. Do yourself the favor & go! You will have a hard time leaving & will find yourself returning each day!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cubaloveCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious ice cream”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The homemade ice cream here is absolutely delicious! The peanut butter flavor has actual nut bits mixed in! The owner was warm, friendly, and courteous, and told us his family's story of moving from the U.S. to Puerto Viejo. My only complaint is that this place isn't open past 6pm - we would have loved to stop by for ice cream after dark on several evenings.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MLV0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt shasta, Ca.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home made ice cream”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

What a nice place to stop in the afternoon for some Ice cream. I had the vegan coconut and was delicious, my girlfriend had the chocolate mint and it was awesome. Was $3 a scoop and well worth it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tyson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alice Ice Cream Bar also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 

Been to Alice Ice Cream Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing