We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will come back to this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra
Gdansk, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I will come back to this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

I have spent a week in La Perla Negra this march and I hope I will return there each european winter. Politeness of the hotel staff, delicious costarican breakfasts and not even 50m to the beach made my trip so fantastic. Many fantastic activities can be booked at the reception (I recommend canopy tour and rafting)!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patryk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    54
    24
    14
    24
See reviews for
46
70
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We came to Perla Negra from Paris as a group of ten in May 2013. We arrived late at night but the reception (especially Wesley) was very accommodating and they even spoke fluent French. The rooms were spacious and clean with hot showers and balconies. Most of them have view of the ocean, which is about 50 meters from the hotel. The beach is beautiful and deserted.

Make no mistake, this hotel has been the longest around, so yes it does have a few wrinkles, don't we do, all as we age. That is precisely what gives it a soul and makes its beauty. We came to CR to experience the nature, the jungle. We did not want to spend our stay in one of those modern fancy hotels.However the hotel is WIFI, you can still connect to the rest of the world, and talk to your friends on Skype. We met a lot of nice people and among them the owners Julian and Marlena, and Wesley at the reception who speaks about 7 languages.

The hotel is just 15 minutes walking distance from the picturesque village of Puerto Viejo, which offers all kind of shopping, restaurants, night life and reggae. The hotel can organize for you all kind of tours. Should you wish anything special, you just have to ask and they will arrange it for you. They are very flexible and accommodating. Perla Negra is like home away from home, We would recommend it and YES WE WILL BE BACK .

Marie LanFranchi
Group Leader.

Room Tip: The hotel has no fitness center, however it does offer Yoga classes. It also has a swimming pool, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torun, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I've spent 2 weeks in Perla Negra this year and looking forward to visit this place again and again.
The closeness to caribbean sea, kindness of staff and Costa Rica's nature surrounding made my dreams comes true. Moreover they serve absolutely delicious food, u can play tennis/billards whenever u like. With an honor i totaly recommend Perla Negra Resort!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael de Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

This was our second visit to Perla Negra and it was both familiar and a surprise.
The overall ambiance with the sound of the ocean, the charming wooden rooms and friendly staff were familiar and reminded us of our first visit. Some enhancements, two beautifully crafted cement parrots and upgraded beach accommodations were a pleasant surprise.
WE will be back next year and look forward to our next vacation.

Room Tip: Ocean side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Our trip organizer told us this was the only hotel we could to stay in this town on the way to Panama.So we stayed for one night. I received a room close to the reception. Apparently there are also apartments in the back of this property which I was told are nicer. My room presented a very low standard. This room was very poorly clean, showed a signs an insect invasion,extremely simple furniture.In my opinion it is should be closed because of the sanitary problems.The entire property shows the signs of significant ran down. I was glad we left in am next day.

Room Tip: Avoid this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom5671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

The property itself was a bit less than obvious to find and twice we thought we had taken a wrong turn. Not to fear we arrived down the dirt/sand road to a bit of paradise in the caribbean. Had a private yoga class after a very warm welcome. Room was spacious and clean. Fan was adequate to keep temp from being too muggy and mosquitos from getting too close (both common issues in Pto Viejo). Breakfast was included and though the beach waves were a bit too rough for my taste, the pool at the hotel provided plenty of cool refreshments. Walking distance to the heart of town without being in the thick of the night life. Free Wifi, useable tennis court and of course the peacefully simple yoga room added up to a fine choice for a night's stay.

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool with ocean slightly visible out the front and tennis court out the back. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_JB_916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mount vernon, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We were happily surprised to find this hotel and pleased with our experience here. The staff was very kind and accommodating. The breakfast was delicious, the pool clean and refreshing, and the beach was beautiful. The hotel provided the perfect, relaxing end to our trip. Thank you!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amg347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
2.3 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Lizard King Hotel Resort
#30 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
VIP Hotel Playa Negra
VIP Hotel Playa Negra
#22 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra

Property: Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra
Address: | Playa Negra, Puerto Viejo, 500m from Bar Point, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 87555, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Pearl is a Beach Front Rustic Accommodation, surrounded by an ecological, quiet and out of town atmosphere.   You will find an atmosphere of relaxation in the South Caribbean Coast of Costa Rica. Enjoy the services of Puerto Viejo town as bars, nightclubs and restaurants with a variety of local and international food, surrounded by very kind and friendly people.   Our Rustic Beachfront Accommodation  offers you a unique style of sharing and enjoying the environment of Costa Rica's Caribbean,we do not sell you a room , we offer you peace, tranquility and good life view as it is in our place, whitout seals or stereotypes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Negra Beach Hotel Puerto Viejo
Hotel Rustico De Playa Perla Negra Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing