We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Relaxing - The Perfect Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“So Relaxing - The Perfect Vacation!”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I can't even begin to describe how pleased my husband and I were with Samasati. It truly was everything we'd hoped for and more! Liseth was a huge help to us even before we got there, and gave us advice and assistance with everything from transportation to even recommending hotels in San Jose for us to stay in. Being vegetarians and just environmentally conscious in general, we LOVED the fact that their restaurant offered 100% vegetarian buffets at each meal, which were probably some of the most delicious food we've ever eaten. Even meat-eaters will love this cuisine!! The individual open air bungalows were soooo nice and relaxing to hang out in, and the view from the balcony was absolutely breathtaking. In terms of activities, we did a zip line tour, which I HIGHLY recommend. I will admit that I was a bit nervous before hand, especially when the tour guides came to pick us up in their run-down jeep, but honestly that added to the adventure! Just be sure to bring water in a backpack with you, because you will need it! Another must do activity is a simple trip down into the town. We had some of the best margaritas of our lives in a little restaurant there that overlooked the water on one of the side streets. Visitors definitely need to look around and discover the hidden treasures of this place.

So really, to sum it up, this was pretty much the best, most relaxing vacation ever.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a bungalow, totally worth the extra money!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahB0Barah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    63
    25
    16
    13
See reviews for
36
117
101
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

It was a pleasure not to see major hotels in the area so that the native flora & fauna & citizens could be appreciated. I'm still raving over the delicious vegetarian meals that were served in your dining room and I am definitely NOT a vegetarian. The housing at Samasati was clean and comfortable and we didn't miss TV or telephones.

Sylvia and her staff were efficient and accommodating which certainly put me at ease. I make sure I spread the word about our wonderful time at Samasati.

cacoyote@aol.com

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cacoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My stay at Samasati Nature Retreat was better than expected. It's the perfect spot for any nature lover and health advocate. I've stayed in lots of hotels over the years. Some very fancy and some very shabby. At Samasati, like Goldilocks, I could finally say, this is just right. All the creature comforts were there as well as the added beauty of the forest. Being surrounded by so much nature was truly awesome. I had never heard a howler monkey before and it was a shock when I did. At first, I thought "Big Foot" was outside my door. But it didn't take long for me to anticipate and welcome their resonant calls.

The day trips that can be planned right at the reception desk are convenient and wonderful. The staff was friendly and helpful. Everyone comments on the food at Samasati and I must, as well. It was absolutely fantastic; a feast for the taste buds and the eyes, both beautiful and delicious. I am already planning my return trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moonglow_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Nothing can describe the energy of place till you get there. It's a hike up the mountain (Don't worry, a 4x4 takes you up there) and then you are in the rain forest, with Caribbean views.

The staff is super friendly and the food is wonderful. A great buffet with all you need. Rooms are great and very spacious, and the property is nicely maintained in a natural way.

I led a yoga group there, and everyone was very happy. They organize activities, and really take care of you. It's not right on the beach, and it doesn't have loud music playing, rather it gives you a chance to find your own inner voice....

A beautiful place to get away, a place to find some inner peace, to disconnect from the race of the world, slow down and enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The other reviews are accurate about the awesome food and jungle setting! We had an amazing time!

That said, be aware that the bungalows are rustic; no air conditioning and lots of bugs (but it IS the jungle). You could find a room in town for about $20, rather than the Samasati price of $150-250/night. It just depends if you want to stay in the jungle, or stay in town and take excursions to the jungle.

I think its worth looking into other prices and deciding what is best for you.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ArizonaTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

There are many reasons people travel, but if one of these is to return to your natural self, your natural rhythm and nature's way, then Samasati is for you. Sure you have to deal with the elements, and for those who need every creature comfort, be warned. But that is what makes Samasati so special. Despite the creatures, you can be comfortable. In fact, if you give yourself half a chance you might be surprised to see what you really need and what you don't. Along with unwanted noise and unwanted calories, Samasati is a place to shed your baggage---speaking of which, you don't need much.

Within reach of Samasati Nature Reserve are numerous day options, including beaches, forests, waterfalls, chocolate and coffee plantations, farms and zip lines. The nearby town of Puerto Viejo is charming and feels quite safe and a good alternative for a meal or some shopping. However, you can also spend the day on the slopes of the hillside where Samasati sites and enjoy watching the sun, moon and stars dance among themselves and in step to the tunes of forest monkeys, birds and frogs.

Whatever you need, if being refreshed is your goal, Samasati is worth the trip. There is nothing like the air and moisture of a rainforest. And there is something to be said for the inspiration of its founders to create a suitable retreat for those in need of something genuine and true.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelatSunRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Vegetarian, jungle, paradise, those are the three words I would use to sum up our stay at Samasati Naure Retreat. Incredibly delicious meals coupled with a gracious, friendly staff characterize this awesome venue. My wife, 3 1/2 year, and I had the most amazing stay. The folks running Samasati are genuine, caring, and always welcoming. We look forward to a return visit in the near future. Our only regret was having to leave after one short week due to my work obligations. Riya misses you Molly...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kanwal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaZani1, Owner at Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Deepa!! It was wonderful and have you and your family with us! We all hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,466 reviews
6.0 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
5.3 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
644 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#5 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
234 reviews
7.6 mi away
Tree House Lodge
Tree House Lodge
#17 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary

Property: Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary
Address: Carbon 1, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica (Formerly Samasati Nature Retreat)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary Perched on a magical mountain ridge overlooking the Caribbean Sea, Samasati offers guest house bungalow and casita accommodations just minutes away from the beaches of Puerto Viejo. For over 20 years we have hosted world class retreats, workshops, guest artists and travelers like you! Your stay includes delicious gourmet vegetarian buffet served in our renovated open air restaurant with breathtaking views. Also available on site are healing massage treatments, jacuzzi spa, nature trails, waterfall with natural pool, daily yoga classes and a meditation hall. Tours, excursions and beach shuttles to local attractions are arranged daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samasati Nature Retreat Hotel Puerto Viejo
Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing