We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Samasati exceeded our high expectations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Samasati exceeded our high expectations.”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

From the moment we arrived in Costa Rica, our trip was enhanced by the people of Samasati. We were picked up at the airport by a driver they helped arrange. We arrived at Samasati, and found the setting to be amazing. You are truly in the jungle, and we regularly saw monkeys and toucans and hummingbirds and magical, bright butterflies, too -- all at Samasati. The food, the yoga, the massage, and the people were all incredible. This trip was "out of my comfort zone" because I'm not a fan of bugs and critters and other such things, but I never once felt unsafe or even uncomfortable. We went on several excursions and loved them all. Punta Uva beach, horseback riding on the beach, surfing lessons, Cahuita National Park, smoothies in Puerto Viejo -- all A++ activities. We are excited about returning, and are already wondering when we can next do that. It's true there isn't TV or emailing in your bungalow, but that was a wonderful part of the experience. Relaxing in a hammock & listening to the sounds of the jungle, going to bed early and waking to howler monkeys -- that is the reality, beauty, and one of the many gifts that Samasati provides. Finally, the other guests were a terrific addition to our experience. We participated on a couple of excursions with other guests, we regularly ate meals with other guests, and we will likely remain in touch with some as well. Staying at Samasati was, overall, an incredible experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    63
    25
    16
    13
See reviews for
36
117
101
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I'll be honest. I had read some bad reviews about this place and was thinking twice about having purchased the Groupon for 5 nights for my wife and I, thinking we would run out of things to do, it would be too humid/hot/rainy, there would be scorpions in our room, unfriendly staff, the whole transportation to town, etc. I was wrong on all accounts. Dont believe the reviews from complainers who probably should have skipped costa rica altogether.

Plenty on great local outings which Samasati makes readily available and easy to sign up. If you want to go surfing the first day, the jaguar rescue the next day, and chocolate tasting the 3rd its all there. We loved all 3, hung out at the beach and hiked every day in the jungle. Never was a dull moment. We also relaxed every night with a book, incredible massage or the sounds of the jungle.

Shuttle to town was easy and free. People complain of having to come back at 3 pm. 90% of the time we were done w our outing and ready to come back. If not we just took a taxi back, super cheap (10 bucks), end of story.

All the staff we met at Samasati were amazing. Cecelia, Judy, Jasmine (best massage we've had in a while) Frederico and all others made our stay very enjoyable. Judy even brought my wife ginger tea to our bungalow when she didnt show up to dinner due to upset stomach. Above and beyond. Thank you.

Bungalows were very nice. Comfortable bed, hammock, oversized towels, deck with incredible views.

Yes we did have little critters running around outside our bungalow. Awesome red frogs and squirrels. We had a small gecko in our room from time to time we named Blue. There were ants and butterflies and mosquitos and scorpions (which we did not see) and howler monkeys who howl in the morning and the most amazing toucans at Samasati. And rain. It is a RAIN FOREST after all and if the idea of waking up in nature for a week weirds you out a little then you better skip Samasati and find a commercial resort on the beach.



However, if the idea of doing yoga in a beautiful natural setting surrounded by amazing wildlife, while you eat amazing food (and i am not vegetarian) where their is no TV or phone distractions, where you can go to heal yourself from the world, then Samasati may be just your ticket.


Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank jcc3839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I truly enjoyed my stay here and while at the resort I though the itching my boyfriend and I had was just mosquitoes and sunburns- well 2+months, 2 doctors visits, 4 rounds of scabicides, several hundred dollars and itchy sleepless nights later I'm struggling to day dream about my adventures in the tropical rainforest. After we discovered we had scabies- I called the resort and request that they take action to remedy the problem and prevent other travelers from contracting scabies- no one has called me back in regards to this. The food was great, staff were nice, views were priceless, everything was planned out for us- don't go here unless they have remedied the scabies and you might want to bring your might want to bring your own linens and a plastic mattress cover. The resort was very quiet and relaxing until the last day when a huge group of yelling kids and a yelling cursing man arrived- who brings toddlers to the jungle and who goes to the rainforest to yell at people on their cell phone? PS this review was written after the resort contacted my boyfriend and requested that he write a tripadvisor review- so here ya go.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MOeCA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaZani1, Owner at Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hello,
I am sorry to hear that you have had such problems upon your return to the States.
We never had such a thing reported or observed at Samasati. We have just in January renewed all our mattresses and linen for all the accommodation and we have a crew of three women cleaning rooms every day. The Health department of Costa Rica inspects the facilities every 6 months. Needless to say that is our pride and priority at Samasati to offer a clean and safe environment in the forest. It is sad to be accused of such a problem and there is no much more we can say in response to this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I originally found Samasati two years ago via Groupon and went for 5 days of yoga/relaxation with my sister. We had a phenomenal time and I was excited to return with my daughter this time. Samasati is as beautiful and remote as I remember, the vegetarian food is delicious, the staff, especially Cecilia are friendly and helpful and Stephanie, the yoga teacher is wonderful! I've stayed in Bungalow 7 and 5, both have beautiful views. It's true that the birds/bugs/monkeys wake you up at 5:45 am and there's not much to do after 8 pm but if you want to get back to nature, unplug from civilization, and just relax there's no place better. There were a few giant scary bugs in our room but we dealt with it! Our favorite activities included renting bikes in Puerto Viejo and biking to Punta Uva and the Water Fall hike with Fernando.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Absolutely amazing!!! Everyone needs to take a break of life, electronics, daily routine, work, co-workers, your boss, your car and the traffic, everything! Have kids? Bring them! Samasati welcomes all ages and offers so many adventures, yoga, delicious food and the amazing sound of nature, rain forest and warm personalities of the staff. Love this Place!! If you are too much of a city person, I do not reccomend it, if mosquitos bother you I suggest you think about it first, however if you are willing to carry your mosquito repellent with you and smile at nature, visit this place, pure magic!

Room Tip: We stayed at one of the houses, a whole house just for two. Go for it, it is worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viajem0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This place was pure magic. The perfect retreat from civilization and all that comes with a busy life. The staff was friendly, helpful and informative. The plentiful vegetarian meals were AMAZING. The yoga classes will have you blissed out beyond words. I actually cried tears of joy at one point, the experience was so beautiful. The yoga space is also worth note--a round separate structure, tucked into the woods, where all you can hear is the din of happy wildlife who's home you are sharing. Max, our gifted Italian instructor, has friends for life in our group of 7 friends who unanimously considered this our best trip ever!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank cantwait4nexttrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed with Samasati Nature Resort last year. Flew into San Jose on Easter Day, and was transported to Samasati safely, securely and without interruption the very next morning.

I entered true paradise...then led to my bungalow, and REALLY entered into another paradise...

I had my own "house", IN the jungle...

Very clean, very, very well maintained and ....in my humble opinion ;)....the BEST place in Costa Rica.

I will not even look anywhere else.

I will go back as soon as I can.

This place is magical, mystical, and remember....it's a JUNGLE out there, but at Samasati...you are safe.

God Bless!

Room Tip: I stayed in a the single bed bungalow. It was HUGE inside, great bathroom with HOT shower! But....t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kichia32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,466 reviews
6.0 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
5.3 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
644 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#5 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
234 reviews
7.6 mi away
Tree House Lodge
Tree House Lodge
#17 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary

Property: Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary
Address: Carbon 1, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica (Formerly Samasati Nature Retreat)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary Perched on a magical mountain ridge overlooking the Caribbean Sea, Samasati offers guest house bungalow and casita accommodations just minutes away from the beaches of Puerto Viejo. For over 20 years we have hosted world class retreats, workshops, guest artists and travelers like you! Your stay includes delicious gourmet vegetarian buffet served in our renovated open air restaurant with breathtaking views. Also available on site are healing massage treatments, jacuzzi spa, nature trails, waterfall with natural pool, daily yoga classes and a meditation hall. Tours, excursions and beach shuttles to local attractions are arranged daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samasati Nature Retreat Hotel Puerto Viejo
Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing