We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have stayed here 5 separate times”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
Eden Prairie, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I have stayed here 5 separate times”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I am a yoga teacher and the first time stayed i 2006 with a large group of students. We had a blast and were very well taken care of. I have returned 4 more times, 3 with groups and once with just my husband and I. It feels like home, except for they have way better food, view, lodgings and the people who take care of the place really care.

Room Tip: stay in a double bungalow, whether you are traveling alone or with a partner, it's a luxury wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    63
    25
    16
    13
See reviews for
36
117
101
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Where do we start !!!
It was a unforgettable vacation. We rented a 4x4 vehicle in San Jose.. It was necessary to have a 4x4 to get in and out of this resort although no vehicle is necessary as they have a free daily shuttle to the town The yoga classes were incredible. Classes were at 6.30 a.m. and 5:00 p.m so it gave you enough time to explore or relax on the most beautiful beaches. Stephanie the resident yoga teacher has 36 years experience. If you are going to Samasati with another yoga group be sure to take in at least one of her classes. It will be money well spent. We attended six classes from Sunday to the Thursday. She tapped into our souls and helped open the gates to release buried grief and stress. I am a 53 year old widower who was widowed in 2009. I hadn't slowed down enough to give myself time to heal. I recently met Karen who has introduced me to yoga. I joined a yoga studio on my own and have been to ten classes. The last night we had yoga, Stephanie had a class that was the best I have ever been involved in. It was absolutely amazing. It helped me in so many ways, released some pain, opened up my heart and brought me inner peace that I had not felt in many many years. Stephanie made us want to continue with our healing and her classes have enriched our yoga practices. She is a healer with a beautiful soul and comes from a place of love. She gave us a gift that has really changed our lives and we are so thankful for her. Thank You Stephanie.
Scott the manager is truly a wonderful man. He is very helpful and made us feel very comfortable. Gave us helpful advice on travelling off resort with shopping and excursions.
Definitely ask him to show you the giant tree.
The food was healthy and delicious. It is evident the food is prepared fresh everyday and with a lot of love. The kitchen staff were incredible.
Samasati was definitely the best vacation of our lives and we consider ourselves seasoned travellers. A definite destination for your bucket list.!!!! We truly did not want to leave and will definitely be back.
As with any tropical vacation destination you want to take precautions with your valuables. Make sure everything is locked in your cabin safe because there is no way of locking your cabana securely. As this was a gated resort we had no issue.
Just when we thought the vacation couldn't get any better a magical blue butterfly led us down the mountain as we were leaving Samasati symbolizing new beginnings. Jim and Karen
• Stayed May 2014

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

They have done a great job of blending nature, beauty, and eco friendly into one place! We loved it!! My husband and I went here to celebrate our 25th Anniversary and it was everything they said it would be....romantic, peaceful and relaxing! Higly recommend it

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 895Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My mom and I had the pleasure of staying at Samasati in March of this year. Arriving to samasati we were both extremely exhausted from life and travel. We walked into the home we were staying in and it was beautifully decorated with flowers from the grounds and the towels were folded like swans. I love little things like this. Sleeping peacefully to the sounds of the rainforest, I awoke the next morning to a breathtaking view of nature. As I sipped on my coffee, I watched the toucans and parrots fly back and forth. Listened to the monkeys greeting us. We saw lots of hummingbirds and beautiful butterflies even blue butterflies which I had always dreamed of. The staff greeted us everyday with a smile and helped us figure out our surroundings. By the end of the week, the staff felt like family. We only stayed for a week and it felt like way too short of a visit. I felt like a completely different person upon leaving. I was happy to reconnect with myself and nature. I think my most favorite part of Samasati was the massage I had with Jasmine. Had I received a massage in the beginning of the week, I would have scheduled more time with her. I have done massage therapy for 10 plus years and she was one of the best. Needless to say, I absolutely dream about returning to Samasati and spend more time reconnecting with myself and nature. I am very grateful for Samasati, the cheerful staff, and the absolute beauty. See you soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaZani1, Owner at Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your review! I am very glad you have had a good vacation and that you could enjoy Samasati and its magic! We look forward for you to come back soon!
Warm regards, Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

For anyone who loves nature & all that it brings, I recommend Samasati. It's the perfect spot for a yoga or meditation retreat, or a bird-watching expedition. First of all, I would highly recommend making shuttle bus arrangements, in advance, between San Jose & Samasati, which are 4 hours apart. Also, be sure to allow 2 hours between arrival at the airport & your flight departure time. Choose a month that is cooler, because Samasati is located 6 degrees north of the equator, & can be extremely hot during most of the year. In addition, there is no a/c in the rooms. Because of the hours of rain at night, you can sleep comfortably without a/c, but the days are very hot in the late spring & all summer. The food is vegetarian, but is prepared beautifully in a buffet style presentation. Be sure to visit Puerto Viejo, 6 miles down the mountain, where you can find Playa Negra, a black sand beach formed by volcanic lava, as well as other beaches, shops, & restaurants. The Jaguar Sanctuary, where a variety of rescued animals can be found, including 2-toed sloths, is just outside Puerto Viejo. To see more sloths, visit the Sloth Sanctuary, which is a little further away. Shuttles & taxis are available from Samasati to each of these destinations. Enjoy a truly unique destination.

Room Tip: Choose a suite that faces the Caribbean, with a great view of the jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank funnymonkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My sister and I have been hosting yoga retreats together for the last 6 years... the last 3 of which we brought our group to Samsati. Samasati is like our home away from home. Every year we meet the same familiar faces from the year prior, so it feels family esque:) It is in the jungle, though still feels like the HIlton Hotel.... only much better!!!! The vegetarian food is amazing and the women who cook really pour their hearts and love into every delicious preparation. The Yoga domes are absolutely perfect, the rooms are so comfortable, again the food is AMAZING and the staff feel like family. I would highly recommend anyone come to Samasati for a comfortable experience in the jungles.
ps. I loved hearing the sounds of the jungle as I fell asleep every night:)

with love,
Syama
StantonStreetYoga.com
BhaktiCenter.org

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mulaka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaZani1, Owner at Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your review! It is wonderful having you with us. We look forward to the next time.
Love,
Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The staff at samasiti responded immediately when I placed a call two days before the retreat started! They made arrangements for transfer from San Jose. When I arrived at the reception desk I was greeted by Stephanie, the retreat director and yoga instructor. I have practiced yoga for over 10 years, have been to other retreats in costa rica, and I can say Stephanie is by far one of the best and versatile yoga instructors I have practiced with. We practiced twice a day for a week and never had the same practice. Mine was a solo retreat. She quickly accessed our groups ability and planned out her week. Exceptional! Stephanie also arranged our activities, massages and shared meals with us!

The cabins were comfortable, cleaned daily with a hammock on the porch for relaxing. The food was exceptional and the kitchen staff very accommodating to personal requests.

The staff was cheerful, attentive, and I would go again!

Purr Vida

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Cyndhi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaZani1, Owner at Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for the review! I am so glad you enjoyed your week at Samasati and that you enjoyed Stephanie, her classes and her wisdom! I look forward to have you back
Warm regards,
Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,466 reviews
6.0 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
5.3 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
644 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#5 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
234 reviews
7.6 mi away
Tree House Lodge
Tree House Lodge
#17 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary

Property: Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary
Address: Carbon 1, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica (Formerly Samasati Nature Retreat)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary Perched on a magical mountain ridge overlooking the Caribbean Sea, Samasati offers guest house bungalow and casita accommodations just minutes away from the beaches of Puerto Viejo. For over 20 years we have hosted world class retreats, workshops, guest artists and travelers like you! Your stay includes delicious gourmet vegetarian buffet served in our renovated open air restaurant with breathtaking views. Also available on site are healing massage treatments, jacuzzi spa, nature trails, waterfall with natural pool, daily yoga classes and a meditation hall. Tours, excursions and beach shuttles to local attractions are arranged daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samasati Nature Retreat Hotel Puerto Viejo
Samasati Retreat & Rainforest Sanctuary Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing