We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best location in the area”
Review of Villas del Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villas del Caribe
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the best location in the area”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We enjoyed very much the location beach front, it is a wonderful place to go swimming in the sea, with its marvelous pool in the corals. The rooms are not spotless and the balconies are in bad condition. I think it needs to be refurbished.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antonietakopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    72
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
41
56
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Overall the caribbean coast in Costa Rica is less touristically developed than the pacific coast. So, you need to take this into consideration. It is unfair to compare a hotel in this side of the country with one in the west coast. That being said, if you are visiting the caribbean coast, this hotel offers a nice tropical setting with lush vegetation. Our family room (room #1) was a two story villa with two rooms upstairs (one king in one room, two singles in the other) with a nice balcony with view of the ocean. The first floor had a kitchen (only available in few rooms) and a tv room with two sofas that also could be easily used to sleep another two people. No AC in the rooms, just fans which was sufficient during the July weather.
The beach is beautiful but the water is too rough and has dangerous rip currents making it unsuitable for swimming. A small inlet forms a pool during low tide which the kids used for splashing and is safe. For actual beach swimming, it is better to take a short drive to Punta Uva or to Manzanillo.
Cahuita National Park is a short 15 min drive from the hotel.
The hotel has a nice mid-size pool which the kids enjoyed. Not many hotels in this region have a full size pool.
The room cost included breakfast. The food was tasty but the service was poor as the lady serving was very grouchy and complaining if the group had any special requests. The choices were limited but again tasty. It typically consted of fried or scrambled egs with gallo pinto (rice and beans) with occasional other choices.

Overall, I would say it was a nice place to stay if going to the Puerto Viejo/Cahuita region. If you are new to Costa Rica and have never visited any places, I would first suggest a trip to the Pacific Coast. If you are a seasoned traveler in this region, then venturing in the Limon/Puerto Viejo Area is good.

Room Tip: Room #1 for large families
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rfmonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Within walking distance to town, so you can enjoy some nightlife and shopping if you like, this place provides a nice relaxing, quite place to sleep, relax, and/or explore. I enjoyed the breakfast of fresh fruit and toast, the little bar, the pool, the close proximity to the beach, and all the little (jungle?) trails between the hotel and the beach teaming with interesting wildlife. I only stayed one night, but wish I could have stayed longer -- this area of Costa Rica is amazing and my experience at the hotel was great.

Room Tip: Upper floors seemed to have better balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rebircs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I had first looked at Villas del Caribe about a month to six weeks earlier when I stayed at the Toucan , a nice little set of rustic cabinas run by a German couple.
The lady who showed me around Villas del Caribe was courteous and friendly and frankly I was impressed.
I planned on bringing clients of my tourism company, Going Native Adventures, to the hotel and was scoping it out.The view was great, it was on the beach, and had nice little kitchens that were more than adequate for meal preparation for those wishing to cook. Nice balconies were accessed upstairs off the bedrooms. I returned with a friend while on my way to Panama a month later. The nice lady was on her days off and the two guys I dealt with were surly, arrogant, and aloof. This is a common occurrence in some areas when dealing with Ticos who don't care for Americans. The rooms were ok though not spotless. The breakfast was yuk and again the service was minimal and not all that friendly. We returned to the area several days later and stayed elsewhere. Regardless of view and location, poor service and surly employess coupled with lousy cooking ruins the experience.

Room Tip: Call ahead and inspect before registering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobinman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

The service in this hotel was perfect. We stayed in standart double room for only 3 nights. the room was very beautiful and clean, located not far from the sea, so we could hear the waves. For breakfast there were fresh fruits, toasts and coffe. Free wi-fi access was very important for us. You can see sloths and hear monkeys just from your balcony. Really quite and romantic place.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJulikaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China Grove, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Great rooms and near town. We took day trips to up and down the coast and loved coming back to the AC. We looked at several places and decided this was the best one!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earniebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Villas del Caribe is a fantastic value and right on the beach. Just south of Puerto Viejo with rooms just 50 meters to the beach. It is also a part of the beach even up and down from the hotel where you will find very few other people :o) Great for re-enacting a Corona commercial ... the grounds are green and abundant ... the foliage could use more attention and if they were to keep the leaves and underbrush cleaned up the grounds would be on par for a 5 star location. It is one of the best locations on the Caribbean side of Costa Rica :o0

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutdoorsCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas del Caribe

Property: Villas del Caribe
Address: 5 kms. al sur de Puerto Viejo, Limon, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 8080-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas del Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life is at its tranquil best at Villas del Caribe. The days go something like this: You wake to the sound of bird songs and a view from your bed of silvery palms and clear blue sea. You throw open the sliding doors and take to the hammock on the balcony for a little rest, refreshed by the ocean breeze. You may now be ready to take a dip in our swimming pool and enjoy the elevated thatched Jacuzzi for a relaxing massage.Once the lure of the sea becomes too much, you wander through the landscaped gardens onto the beach path, where you face a decision between the long, deserted golden sand beach to the left or the many pristine golden sand beaches to the right.You settle for one of the shallow, sandy natural lagoons formed by the coral reef right offshore, and watch tropical fish wiggle past your toes.After a fresh water shower on your terrace, you walk over to the SeaSide Restaurant for breakfast or a snack, then you take a bike and cycle down the flat paved road past fields, forest, a few thatched bars and restaurants to Puerto Viejo for coffee or a drink, the local gossip, and some good, fresh fish at the beachfront store.You spend the afternoon alternating between the beach and the sea, the loungers on the terrace, and the hammocks on the balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villas del Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Del Caribe Hotel Puerto Viejo
Hotel Del Caribe
Villas Del Caribe Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing