We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing on the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas del Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villas del Caribe
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

Villas del Caribe is a fantastic value and right on the beach. Just south of Puerto Viejo with rooms just 50 meters to the beach. It is also a part of the beach even up and down from the hotel where you will find very few other people :o) Great for re-enacting a Corona commercial ... the grounds are green and abundant ... the foliage could use more attention and if they were to keep the leaves and underbrush cleaned up the grounds would be on par for a 5 star location. It is one of the best locations on the Caribbean side of Costa Rica :o0

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutdoorsCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    71
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
41
55
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

Nice bathrooms, fun colors, clean, friendly staff. We stayed two night's then went to travel furter south but wound up coming back and staying 4 more nights. Best accomodations for a family in the area. Access to beach with fun tide pools. Location was nice, away from Puerto Viejo but not too far if you want to go into town for food and surfing beach.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinmamaAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2009

I was very pleased when I saw my room here. I did not book it, so I had laid my trust in someone else. Ive stayed at many of the motel/hostels in town, and the villas was a treat. Our place had two levels, kitchen, living room downstairs, bedrooms, bath upstairs. The beach was practically out the front door. It was sucluded and far enough from the party noise in town. Luckily we had a rental car, because it was a bit of a walk. The beds were comfortable and actually had "real" matresses and we did have hot shower, ooooohhhh!!! This is a beautiful place to stay, although, if your used to big resorts with all the amenities of home, you probably wont like it. Which is too bad for you. It is central america, as well, there will be insects no matter how "fancy" of a place you stay in! Dont let a cockroache in the shower ruin your whole outlook of the place!

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2008

We did not like it at all. The villa that we rent was very dirty and unconfortable. We were almost the only guest in the place. We left after one night. We would never go back there again and I do not recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggiegaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2008

Stayed here twice. Great location, with ocean views (not that many places in this area have ocean views). Spacious accomodatons with kitchens and outdoor area to sit looking at ocean. Rooms were dated back in 2007 so its nice to hear they are being rennovated. I liked it here. Nice to hear the ocean at night. Bat was flying around in my room and I am a bit afraid of those little guys, so that was not too much fun but other than that it was a great stay and I have stayed.

  • Liked — That it faces the ocean when many places there do not.
  • Disliked — The bat in my room
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RasNovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2006

As a group of 4 women, mid-20's, non-spanish speaking... we had a AMAZING stay at Villas Del Caribe. After many internet searches, we opted for this one. The website does not do the property justice. We stayed in a double unit, room #1 ( request that one-- easy access to front desk, restaurant, and walkway to beach.) The staff was extremely helpful, the villa was very clean, and the view was great. We also felt very safe.
While the property is not situated directly on the beach, the lanscaping between the ocean and the room makes for a fabulous view. Our room was two -level, 2 BR, 2 BA at about $450 for the week.... we would expect to pay close to $1000 for the same room-type for a week in the states.

For adventure, I highly reccomend Outdoor Adventure whitewater rafting tour. ( They wil aslo transfer you back to San Jose, if needed, so you may want to schedule a tour on your check-out day, and use the transfer to your advantage.) For dining, Standford's Restaurant in Puerto Viejo is great. Perto Viejo is not far by bike or foot. Try Pure Jungel Day Spa, for an amazing jungle massage while you are there.

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snow Hill, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2005

I stayed at Villas del Caribe for four nights in early September, and I loved it! Travellers should know, however, that the hotel is undergoing renovation, so that many of the rooms are closed. (I was the only guest while I was there.) The villas have french doors on the first and second levels; all the rooms look out onto beautiful gardens and the beach. In front of the hotel are coral reefs and tidepools, but directly to one side is a lovely crescent beach with relatively calm water. There is a path a bit back from the beachfront that seems to go for miles in both directions. The villas are decorated with bright colors and nice artwork and have both hammocks and chairs that you use on the balcony. The bike ride into Puerto Viejo is about fifteen minutes, but there's a small store across the road from the villas that sells fruits, vegetables, milk, etc; and there's a French bakery /deli just down the street. The staff is well informed. friendly, and helpful. All in all, this place far outweighed my expectations. I would love to go back.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank jconly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
5.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
2.4 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas del Caribe

Property: Villas del Caribe
Address: 5 kms. al sur de Puerto Viejo, Limon, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 8080-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas del Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life is at its tranquil best at Villas del Caribe. The days go something like this: You wake to the sound of bird songs and a view from your bed of silvery palms and clear blue sea. You throw open the sliding doors and take to the hammock on the balcony for a little rest, refreshed by the ocean breeze. You may now be ready to take a dip in our swimming pool and enjoy the elevated thatched Jacuzzi for a relaxing massage.Once the lure of the sea becomes too much, you wander through the landscaped gardens onto the beach path, where you face a decision between the long, deserted golden sand beach to the left or the many pristine golden sand beaches to the right.You settle for one of the shallow, sandy natural lagoons formed by the coral reef right offshore, and watch tropical fish wiggle past your toes.After a fresh water shower on your terrace, you walk over to the SeaSide Restaurant for breakfast or a snack, then you take a bike and cycle down the flat paved road past fields, forest, a few thatched bars and restaurants to Puerto Viejo for coffee or a drink, the local gossip, and some good, fresh fish at the beachfront store.You spend the afternoon alternating between the beach and the sea, the loungers on the terrace, and the hammocks on the balcony. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Del Caribe Hotel Puerto Viejo
Hotel Del Caribe
Villas Del Caribe Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing