We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and could stay longer, it was a Good experience. Breakfast very Good. Beds a bit small for two. Puerto viejo is lovely, this really looks one of the best places to stay! Price somewhat steep but try the last minute deal.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toos83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    165
    40
    11
    9
See reviews for
171
279
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Grove, MIssouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013

After spending four days at La Costa de Papito we return home refreshed and relaxed. Due to a jungle setting, even though there are 14 or 15 bungalows, each one is secluded and quiet. Everything is open air (virtually no bugs or temperature highs or lows) including the restaurant, lobby and cocktail area. Our cabin offered two beds, a rain shower bathroom and an open porch with a table for dining, chairs and a hammock. We found ourselves spending much of the time on the porch listening to various birds, counting butterflies and taking pictures of the impressive vegetation around the facility. The beach and ocean, just across the rural road, was perfect for watching swimmers (the undertow is strong and wading is better for enjoying the salt water) and surfers. Surfing lessons were easy to procure. Town is a short distance away (great expresso bar there for those in need) and offered beach type shopping, bars and a few local restaurants. Excellent hiking available just north of Puerto Viejo! We had a wonderful trip and thank those at La Costa de Pepito for making it everything they promised!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ginny1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This place was very interesting. It was recommended by our friend from Panama and we were not disappointed. The accommodations were interesting, but we found ourselves tired of it after a little while. It seemed liked glorified camping after a few days and having to take cabs to many places got expensive. But you are relatively close to the beach, less than five minute walk and you are right in among the trees and animals. Make sure to keep the bug net closed and sleep with it over your bed. The staff was friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at La Costa de Papito at the end of May. What an excellent experience! The staff are polite and helpful. Melvin made the best drinks and was wonderful to converse with. The accommodations were cute, clean, and close to the beach. The food was delicious as well. We will definitely make this a destination again. We cannot thank them enough!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank MarlouBaldelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I just spent two nights at La Costa de Papito. The word that pops up is "unique." I love the creative artwork that decorates it. Even the furniture is a creative art. The paintings of the Caribbean culture remind me of the area's rich history. The whole place has a feel of...live creativity. It's so interesting!
The staff are very friendly and make me feel like I am part of the family.
And, forgive me veggie lovers, but the breakfast sausage is the best in Costa Rica! Ha ha!
The dining/bar area is warm, glowing, and cozy. Perfect!
One feels safe and cared for.
Thank you, Costa de Papito!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asusena1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

AMAZING PLACE...

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a couple.
We were greeted with a frozen drink after checking in and taken to our bungalow.
The bungalow was so cute, tucked away with terrace and hammock.

Breakfast was great, had something for everyone and had no complaints.

We stayed here for dinner one night, food was lovely alot of choice and cocktail menu was even better (have a great happy hour too)

Henry on reception is the kindest, sweetest guy !! so polite and helpful. We also met the owner who was lovely man too.

would recommend hiring bikes to go to down to the main town, the beach is across the road and you can hire towels from reception.

Just make sure if your in Puerto Viejo you stay at this place !!!!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are great, unique quirky bungalows !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amp90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013

La Costa offers bungalows for couples or families--each one more unique than the other built with local hardwoods and handcrafted with inlaid tiles and beautiful woodwork. The location is a short bit from town--in itself a great destination--and lies directly across from a beautiful white sand beach. Staff help you rent bikes, surfboards and snorkeling gear or set you up with tours of the jungle canopy or nearby national parks. We did all of these things, but best of all was just lying in the hammock listening to the parrots and monkeys and other native residents--amazing sounds. We had a sloth come down a tree near our porch one morning as we were having our coffee. What an experience! Did a massage that same morning at the spa, and after a day at the beach, had dinner at La Costa's restaurant. The coconut shrimp was out of this world. In all, a great stay in a magical place I look forward to returning to soon.

Room Tip: Staff are very accommodating. Just tell them your preferences or needs and they will help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manning M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
633 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Costa de Papito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Costa de Papito

Property: Hotel La Costa de Papito
Address: Beach Road, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 10010, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Costa de Papito 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 5 coconuts from Caribbean Travel Magazine for style, service and setting. Rustically elegant, hard crafted bungalows are privately set apart in a lush five acre tropical garden on the edge of the jungle. In front or the gorgeous white sand Cocles Beach, winner of Costa Rica`s blue flag for pristine beach. An idyllic romantic hideaway with a family friendly double occupancy price for a family of four. Que Rico Papito Restaurant specializes in food fit for jungle royalty. Massage, facials and delicious body treatments at our Indulgence Spa. Rest easy! Secure Lodging with Safes & Secure Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Costa de Papito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa De Papito Hotel
Hotel La Costa De Papito Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing