We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ho Hum”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Certificate of Excellence
colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ho Hum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

This little place could be a gem in the jungle, but it seems to be getting rather tired. It just needs a little shining uup. The rooms were clean, the staff was very nice and helpful, the location is okay, but there's something missing. I think if there was a little more attention paid to the grounds upkeep it would look fresher. I wanted to grab a rake and get to work. Maybe I should have!! :) There needs to be more of an open area with chairs for sitting comfortably. The main restaurant area is nice but kind of gloomy after a while. A pool at this property would be an amazing addition. The beach is pretty close but a cute little swimming pool onsite would be fab.

We stayed in the small budget room next to the kitchen and the cabin was clean and the noise level was fine, but there's an exposed sewer pipe off the porch that might need some attention. The wafting odor occasionally had us looking at each other with a grimace. The breakfasts were amazing, but the food off the specials nightly that we tried were simply average and once it was just downright not good. Not sure what the "Caribbean Barbecue" night was all about. :)

So, although a lot of the reviews here are stellar for the Hotel La Costa de Papito I'm wondering if they've been to a couple of other hotels we've stayed at in the area that are over the top beautifully done and much closer to grabbing the five star rating. All in all it was an okay stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmfsclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Costa_de_Papito, Owner at Hotel La Costa de Papito, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
These clients stayed in the budget cabin for $59 nightly (including breakfast) which we offer for people on a tight budget. We explain on the website that it is located close to the reception/kitchen area and because it is not in our beautiful 4 acre bungalow garden it can be noisy and the setting is entirely different. The design is different from the bungalows (the bathroom is outside and separate) and it is located under some guarumo trees which shed their leaves in January and February. When the kitchen grey water waste treatment set up is opened and cleaned a few times yearly the budget cabin can receive foul breezes for a few hours that day.
You cannot compare the experience of staying in the cabin with your stay in a bungalow at La Costa de Papito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    164
    40
    10
    9
See reviews for
168
276
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

For my first time out of the country, I couldn't have pictured a better vacation and place to stay. The bungalows are perfect. We stayed in bungalow 10, with two seperate bedrooms. Each bungalow has a huge front deck equipped with your own table and hammock! It was very private also. The bungalows are spread out and you have a lot of privacy. The staff there is unbelievable. By far the friendliest people I've met in a long time. The food and drinks are delicious, you can rent bikes to go into town, and if you want to take a taxi into town, it is only 4 US dollars. La Costa de Papito is also right across from one of the nicest beaches in the area, in my opinion. An excellent opportunity to learn how to surf! This place is definitely one I will be returning to.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CourtneyMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was our third time staying at La Costa--every bit as warm, friendly and fun as before. Cabins are rustic and arty and sooo comfortable, Caribbean is 30 yards away (you can hear the waves crashing from bed..or hammock). We ate breakfast every morning at the restaurant and twice for dinner--loved the shrimp in coconut sauce. Saw two toucans this trip--what a privilege!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manning M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We have stayed 4 nights in this hotel and enjoyed every second of it. The rooms are very big and comfortable. Our bathroom was very big and could have been used in any “Flintstones” movie as it looks like a stone cave. The outside deck is great and we liked to sit there when the day came to an end and watch the agouti running around in the garden. There is no A/C, but we did not have a problem with that and loved to wake up to the sound of the birds in the morning.

About the area: We have already in 2013 been in the Puerto Viejo area and just had to come back. The whole region is beautiful and absolutely worth the long trip. However, we are not particularly keen on Puerto Viejo itself as it is rather dirty. However, all the little villages and beaches between Playa Cocles to Manzanillo are just beautiful and the restaurants in the region belong (in our humble opinion) to the best in the whole of Costa Rica!

Last year we have stayed at Physis Caribbean and loved it, but since it was already booked out when I did my reservations back in July, we chose to go to La Costa de Papito instead. It turned out to be a very good alternative, even though the staff and owners are not as enthusiastic and welcoming as Jeremy and Emily of Physis. However, that does not mean we had any problems with the staff. They have always been willing to help, especially also when we had a problem with our rental car and could use their phone for free to contact the rental car agency.
The only little disappointment was the fact that they no longer serve the “beef filet strips in a pineapple” in their restaurant. I had been looking forward to this meal since I knew we would get back to Playa Cocles.

Apart from that our stay was great and we would always go back there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ocelot1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

This was my first trip to Costa Rica. I live in Houston Texas and was expecting a culture shock and many changes from living in the states. I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was Very friendly! We got to know Eddie and his family and it seemed that the staff was like family to them also. The wedding we attended had the reception at La Costa and it was beautiful! the food was great, and the callipso band sang happy birthday to my niece, who turned 5 on this trip! The Indulgence Spa did hair and makeup for the whole wedding party. They were so sweet and did a great job on all of our hair and makeup. I highly recommend this hotel and the spa, I wish we had had more time to get a massage too!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MugzCoffeeBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowen Island, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We really enjoyed Costa de Papito. The bungalows were very comfortable and our famliy of four had plenty of space to spread out and relax. The deck, table and hammock were awesome as well and we would have spent all our time there (except for the mosquitoes) but otherwise...perfect. The food was also great, we ate dinner there a few times and were always really pleased with the tasty and fresh ingredients. Had lovely service as well and we especially want to thank Coco for being so friendly and helpful with us. Our kids had a great time and everyone made us feel right at home. I'm really glad we made the effort to get to the Caribbean side. We enjoyed it immensely. Thanks Eddie and family. All the best!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJuneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

The property and the little bungalows are really quite cute, and the location is great, but we didnt so much enjoy our stay here.

The weather is very hot and humid, not a problem, but the ceiling fans are too slow to help at al and the way the netting is hung it clings to your sweaty body while you are trying to sleep.

The staff was OK but didnt have a pleasant helpful personality. The restaruant was really very good but i did get sick from the food one day.

I wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Min108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Costa_de_Papito, Manager at Hotel La Costa de Papito, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Following up on this commentary we replaced the capacitor in a ceiling fan and it's now spinning again like it should. We leave the mosquito nets positioned so there is adequate space for closing. If the net is pulled out from behind the headboard of the bed it will be clingy.
I'm glad our guest enjoyed the restaurant. One of the awards we won last year in the annual South Caribbean Culinary Festival was for the most higenic kitchen. Since christmas a stomach virus has affected both locals and visitors in the area. I haven't heard of any more cases in the last week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
2.5 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
12.2 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Costa de Papito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Costa de Papito

Property: Hotel La Costa de Papito
Address: Beach Road, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 10010, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Costa de Papito 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 5 coconuts from Caribbean Travel Magazine for style, service and setting. Rustically elegant, hard crafted bungalows are privately set apart in a lush five acre tropical garden on the edge of the jungle. In front or the gorgeous white sand Cocles Beach, winner of Costa Rica`s blue flag for pristine beach. An idyllic romantic hideaway with a family friendly double occupancy price for a family of four. Que Rico Papito Restaurant specializes in food fit for jungle royalty. Massage, facials and delicious body treatments at our Indulgence Spa. Rest easy! Secure Lodging with Safes & Secure Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Costa de Papito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa De Papito Hotel
Hotel La Costa De Papito Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing