We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Hospitable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Our stay at La Costa de Papito was one of a kind. We arrived on the later side, but were still greeted with delicious watermelon welcome drinks. Our room was the perfect mix of tree house and hotel. It was clean and comfortable. However, we spend most of our time out on the deck and in our hammock! We woke up to jungle noises and howler monkeys all around us and were pleasantly surprised with the beautiful landscaping that we had missed in the dark the night before. Breakfast was fresh and delicious every morning. We had the option of fresh juices and fruit, coffee, rice and beans, a daily special and eggs to order each morning. We dined at the restaurant a few nights and this was delicious as well. Definitely be sure to try the blended drinks on the menu; the bartenders do a fantastic job!

We loved the opportunity to "chose your own adventure" at 'Papito. The beach really is 100 yards away so we could spend the day lounging in the sun and playing in the waves. Or, when we wanted something more exciting, the staff was always friendly and ready to help plan any excursions we wanted.

The location of La Costa de Papito is a definite plus as well. We felt like we were far enough out of town that we had some peace and quiet, but close enough to bike anywhere we wanted (highly suggest renting bikes!). The waves at the beach across the street can be a little aggressive, but Punta Uva and other peaceful beach spots are only a short bike down the road.

Overall, we had an absolutely fantastic time in Puerto Viejo and this was made possible by the folks at La Costa de Papito. We did feel as though we were on the younger side of guests staying there (we are both 25), but much of the staff is young or young at heart and were willing to point us in the right direction for a fun time- we are looking at you, Henry! We would recommend this to anyone, couple or family, young or old, looking for a beautiful, clean, friendly, and comfortable vacation spot.

Room Tip: We were in bungalow 1 which had the awesome grotto shower. Closer to the road, but we never had an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Costa_de_Papito, Owner at Hotel La Costa de Papito, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We, too, enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will make it back to visit soon!
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at La Costa for three nights to end our honeymoon and had an unforgettable experience. Hank and Coco were fantastic hosts and made us feel at home. La Costa has all the amenities you could ask for in a very cool, slow paced, town. The food was good, drinks were great and the ambiance was perfect. If you are headed to the Caribbean side of Costa Rica, be sure to check out La Costa de Papito.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We've come back to 'Papito at least half a dozen times:
The location is AMAZING, right across from one of- if not THE- best beaches in CR. The staff, whether new or long-term, are all incredibly friendly, helpful & happy to speak with you in English or Spanish (this is not the case at other places where pride gets in the way sometimes...). The food is always good, and highlights some of the best local Caribbean fare around. Additionally, it's wonderful quality at a truly affordable price. Muchisimas gracias, 'Papito!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank camerongreenlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My friends and I stayed at La Costa de Papito for nine nights and there's no other place in the area that I wanted to stay. The location was great--about a 20 minute walk or 5 minute bike ride in one direction from Puerto Viejo and about a 20 minute bike ride to Manzanillo in the other direction. The Cocles beach with a volleyball net is right across from the entrance. This beach has the best waves and a great view of the island.
The staff of La Costa de Papito was more than helpful! They could easily go back and forth between Spanish and English. They helped us call taxis, plan day-time activities and were more than knowledgable about the area! The rooms had a very 'home-y' feel to them. They were always maintained very tidy, there were mosquito nets that hung over each bed.
The bathrooms were nice and the water always worked, however the shower had two temperatures: very hot or very cold. This was a very minor problem since they have outdoor showers near the entrance.
The breakfasts, lunches and dinners are all delicious. The provided breakfast did tend to be a bit repetitive, but it was all good quality food-- the banana pancakes were amazing!
If that didn't convince you enough, they have a great spa within the property which is very well rated!

Would definitely stay again! Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The bungalows here are really phenomenal, they are gorgeously laid out on the very well landscaped property. The restaurant is really fantastic, the bar is even better. The drinks are delicious and the workers are super nice as well as helpful. It's more expensive then all the other places in town but for a reason, It's great for families or a group who want to be, close to town close to the best beaches but far away Enough for the secluded relaxing feel that vacation should hold. The spa was fantastic, the staff there was wonderful. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterWaffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Costa_de_Papito, Manager at Hotel La Costa de Papito, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you Mister Waffles! We work really hard to create and maintain the ´secluded relaxing feel´that you speak of. We really appreciate you experiencing all the great things we have to offer.

We hope that you will come back and visit us a next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The property is amazing and I rented a nice little cabina for four nights. It’s close to everything and the owner Eddie and Kitty are awesome. I would definitely stay here again. There is also live entertainment. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

la Costa de Papito was a great place to enjoy the wonders of Puerto Viejo. The room was great, the staff was wonderful, and the restaurant was excellent. No problem at all with our lack of proficiency in Spanish. I'd stay there again without question.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,507 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
665 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Costa de Papito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Costa de Papito

Address: Beach Road, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 10010, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £86 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Costa de Papito 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 5 coconuts from Caribbean Travel Magazine for style, service and setting. Rustically elegant, hard crafted bungalows are privately set apart in a lush five acre tropical garden on the edge of the jungle. In front or the gorgeous white sand Cocles Beach, winner of Costa Rica`s blue flag for pristine beach. An idyllic romantic hideaway with a family friendly double occupancy price for a family of four. Que Rico Papito Restaurant specializes in food fit for jungle royalty. Massage, facials and delicious body treatments at our Indulgence Spa. Rest easy! Secure Lodging with Safes & Secure Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Costa de Papito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa De Papito Hotel
Hotel La Costa De Papito Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing