We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to chill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“Nice place to chill”
Reviewed 15 November 2008

Stayed here for a weekend a couple weeks ago. La Costa de Papito has a fantastic location, right across the street from Playa Cocles... likewise, it's only a few minutes outside Puerto Viejo... it's def. not a resort, as some people were complaining, but it doesn't charge like one either, so what do you want? design is jungle-rustic, food at the restaurant is great, and for breakfast, you order the night before and they bring it to your villa in the morning... you sit out on your porch eating and watch the lizards... cool place, great people, great service, highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjk84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    169
    41
    11
    9
See reviews for
179
283
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2008

Over the past five years or so, I've stayed at La Costa de Papipto a half dozen times. The location is great: it's a five minute drive south of Puerto Viejo, which makes it close enough to access the several great restaurants in town, but also puts you closer to the better, less crowded beaches.

Each room is a stand-alone building and far enough away from other rooms to afford privacy. Room design features a spacious, tropical/funky feel, and includes a large front porch for early morning lounging.

Restuarant food is fantastic and breakfasts (included with the cost of the room) are of lumberjack portions. The bar area is cozy, though not often frequented.

Over the years, I've had the chance to talk to owner Eddie Ryan, on several visits. He's a great guy (hidden underneath a tough New Yorker exterior) and he knows how to hire people. I've found the staff generally super friendly (having traveled quite a bit throughout Costa Rica, I can attest to the often poor standards of service at other hotels, including hotels that cost substantially more per night).

Two final points: the rooms are priced below what they're worth (so book early). And, check out the spa: great massages.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank JulianLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2008

I stayed here with my girlfiend and to say she is squeamish when it comes to insects would be an understatement. She would possibly have given this place 3/5. However, bugs dont really bother me (within reason!).

First off the location is good - very close to the beach. However the center of town is not really within walking distance at night (for safety reasons mostly), but then most of the better places are out a bit.

The staff were extremely pleasant. The cabin itself is pretty much what we expected given the reviews on here i.e. rustic, pleasant but very dark. You can get over the darkness, and the lack of a/c was not an issue for us when we there as it was quite cool at night. A major plus is the delicious breakfast which is delivered to your room if you so wish, so you can eat on your own porch.

The hammock was a nice touch, and the restaurant was very good with a great cocktail menu.

There is no pool here but you're pretty close to the sea so it's no big deal. Also the breakfast is not included in the price, which again given how cheap the hotel is, isn't really a determining factor.

We used the on site spa also and for someone who isn't really into that kind of thing I have to say it was pretty damn good!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Homesick_Alien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

Stayed at Costa de Papito for 3 nights, our room was bungalow 4 and it's very open to the elements. Only two windows have a mesh netting but the rest are open so you feel like your in the jungle while in your room. The staff were excellent, very helpful in whatever we needed. Their restaurant is good, the food we ate was delicious and the staff there is also excellent.
We had massages at their spa, also great and relaxing and friendly staff.
The only downside and I say this so people are aware and don't give this place bad reviews is that as a result of being part of the jungle you have to accept the mosquitoes! Even with the netting and Off spray, I was bitten a lot, but your in the tropics so you can't really complain. My husband wasn't really bothered by them, I think it's just that I'm sweet to them! The place is great and you can't beat the two minute walk to the beach. I'd def. recommend this place, but if your a very prissy person this prob. isn't the place for you.

  • Liked — Location and Staff
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LaBoricuaCubana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2008

We stay few days at Papito during our Costa Rica trip and appreace very much the nice, confortable bungalow and the kindly welcome from property and staff.
It is a very excellent place to stay, the amaca is very good for relaxing reading a book, and the place is so confortable and Costa Rica and tropics so relaxing that the main thing to do is simple sleeping, earing the forests sound and watching vegetation, animals and ocean!

We was a bit worried for mosquito (not only in Puerto Viejo but generally for all Costa Rica) butm really, we have more mosquito here, in italy, than in Costa Rica!

Breakfast is very good and abboundant as well as the restaurant; tropical fruit taste is very different, and gooder, than fruit selled overseas and we hope to came back both in Costa Rica and Papito as soon as possible also to visit some near place that can't get for few time like Bribri, indigenous reserve, Cahuita etc and, why not, to try for the first time surfing!

If you go to Costa Rica and accross Puerto Viejo del Talamanca, we warm suggest Papito for sleeping and to visit Guandoca Manzanillo reserve and other neasr place.

greeting from Italy, or as said in Costa Rica
PURA VIDA!

Luca&Cristina

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lombo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

Paradise! Well worth the money for just about every reason (US$70). Where to begin. The bungalow (number 8) was really charming and a little rustic. Not a 5 star suite, but so what! Beds were comfy, the bathroom was nice, lukewarm shower, good towels and a mosquito net. The porch was awesome with a large picnic table and hammock. Would definitely recommend the hearty breakfast served porchside at the time of your choosing. We had a little animal (a rat) living in our roof, but we only heard it at night running around along with the other animals in the jungle. NOTE: We heard from other guests that some of the other bungalows were a little TOO rustic (animals and insects). Don't forget that you are in a jungle. Check your room before paying if possible or go with bungalow 8.

The staff were all fantastic, the restaurant and lobby were fully stocked with food, drink, bar, internet (free), bike rentals ($6/day), beach towels (free), and a pool table (free). The resident dogs were very friendly and cute. The location was farther away from town, which was good for us because we were looking for mellow (about 2km; US$2 for cab ride). May not work for the frat crowd looking to party and drink. In fact, stay away frat boys/girls! It will ruin the charm and mellowness of the whole place!

For all else, definitely recommend a stay here and will stay here again if we return.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank urbanwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

I have stayed in 1 to 2 dozen places in the Puerto Viejo and have now decided to review the ones that are on this website. Costa de Papito was one of my favorites. The location is PERFECT. Not too far from town but far not enough away to feel you are in the jungle, and of course close to the beach. Rooms are very clean and pretty. A bit dark but so are lots of rooms in this part of the world. Owner seems to really care about this place. Nice coffee in the morning.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of rooms, location
  • Disliked — A bit too dark of rooms and very small outdoor space to hang out in
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RasNovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
2.5 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
35 reviews
12.2 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Costa de Papito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Costa de Papito

Property: Hotel La Costa de Papito
Address: Beach Road, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 10010, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Costa de Papito 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 5 coconuts from Caribbean Travel Magazine for style, service and setting. Rustically elegant, hard crafted bungalows are privately set apart in a lush five acre tropical garden on the edge of the jungle. In front or the gorgeous white sand Cocles Beach, winner of Costa Rica`s blue flag for pristine beach. An idyllic romantic hideaway with a family friendly double occupancy price for a family of four. Que Rico Papito Restaurant specializes in food fit for jungle royalty. Massage, facials and delicious body treatments at our Indulgence Spa. Rest easy! Secure Lodging with Safes & Secure Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Costa de Papito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa De Papito Hotel
Hotel La Costa De Papito Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing