We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful accommodation in a Botanical Garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful accommodation in a Botanical Garden”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Great garden and surroundings. Spacious cabin/bungalow and bathroom, very romantic, hammocks to relax, delicious breakfast. The only thing we didn't like is that the room wasn't clean when we arrived, but when we announced that at the reception it was arranged right away. In the early morning you'll we awaked by the howler monkeys, very funny.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvgdvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    154
    32
    15
    6
See reviews for
100
257
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leander, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This hotel is amazing. Beautiful art everywhere, lovely rooms, incredible food and the most attentive staff. Each detail is well thought, tropical flowers, amazing mosaics pieces on the bathrooms, beautiful pool and the beach is very well kept. We had an amazing vacation and will visit soon on our next vacation. Super recommended. Now if you are looking for ac and a not in the middle of the trees experience this is not your hotel. You are in the middle of a beatuful jungle.

Room Tip: All of them are great! Enjoy he bathrooms true works of art
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston Heights, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We used a travel agency that recommened Shawanda Lodge. We arrived late after a long drive from the airport. The staff warmly greeted us (despite it beign 1am) and had a bucket of cold drinks waiting for us on our porch. The breakfast was amazing and the scenery was even better. Our lodge was the perfect size for two and it's simplicity was refreshed compared to our normal hectic life. We loved the hammock outside and waking up to the sound of howler monkeys. It was a short walk to the beach and the beach wasnt crowded. We felt like we were in our own paradise. I would strongly encourage anyone to visit Shawanda! When my husband and I went to our second stop of the trip near Arenal, we said several times "We miss Shawanda"

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I had a wonderful time at the Shawandha with their unique Bali styled lodge. I had a feeling of one foot in the rainforest and the other in Puerto Viejo, although it is a cab ride away. The food was really good, slightly over priced but well presented. I found the staff to be wonderful and made the stay that much more relaxing. I would recommend as long as you don't mind not being in the center of town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

The Shwanda lodge is located away from the town of Puerto Viejo. We had to call a cab every evening to be able to go into town. If you just want to spend time at the lodge, it has a very easy access to the beach, nice pool, very friendly staff, and a great bar and restaurant. We had dinner there once, enjoyed our after dinner drinks and desserts there all nights and loved it. We weren't very happy with the rooms though because it was very easy to let bugs in. The rooms and bathroom are spacious with an outside deck with a nice hammock.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank preeti15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I am a Costa Rican who has been living abroad for the past 15 years. I return quite often to my beautiful country but for some reason I had not been back to the Caribbean side for over 20 years. I am very happy I decided to rediscover this tropical gem during this trip and Shawandha was definitely a perfect match within this tropical context. If you enjoy a clean, charming, well planned hotel, tucked in the middle of the tropical forest and only a few steps from the beach, this is THE PLACE (even an evening of tropical rain turns magical laying on a hammock outside your bungalow). However, if you are looking for "luxurious" accommodations this may not be the place for you. For a seasoned traveler like me personal service will always win hands down. At Shawandha, throughout my entire stay, I felt as if I had a personal butler/concierge at all times tending to my every need, even on the phone while I was riding my bike searching for the perfect beach spot, which I FOUND !!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juankicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manzanillo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I live in the area so I didn't try the bungalows but the restaurant is wonderful. Starting with a cocktail under the huge thatched roof, the candle-light dinner and the chocolate mousse ... just romantic and perfect ! I wonder why people say in other reviews that it's expensive. I think it's cheaper than other real restaurant in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
4.6 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shawandha Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shawandha Lodge

Property: Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Address: Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shawandha Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Shawandha Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shawandha Puerto Viejo
Hotel Shawandha Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing