We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a wondeful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a wondeful stay”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

we have spent there 3 wonderful days in a very nice and original lodge.
everything was great, surroundings rooms, people and breackfast[the best we had by far in all costa rica]

really recommend

Marco & nelly Hofmann

Room Tip: all rooms are super ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    154
    32
    15
    6
See reviews for
100
257
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2013

My son and I stayed at Shawanda for 3 nights at the end of our Costa Rica trip. It was Christmas and I turned 40. The owner went out of her way to make sure I had a wonderful birthday and my son had a fantastic Christmas. The bungalow was super clean and cozy. We woke up to the sounds of the rainforest. The food was amazing!!! I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

My wife and I decided on a trip to Costa Rica for our honeymoon, and we did exhaustive research before choosing Shawandha Lodge. At first, we thought we would spend a few nights here and there and try to see different regions while we were in CR, but in the end we chose to go to one peaceful place and just chill. We were soooooo glad to find that we made the right call in choosing Shawandha.
First of all, the region is exactly what we were looking for - an eclectic mix of people from every imaginable walk of life in an idyllic, unbelievably beautiful area. There are locals, expats from all over the world, surfers, travelers, ticos and ticas, bri bri, rastas ... you name it, and everyone's super friendly and the vibe is awesome. It feels very welcoming, but completely authentic, too, the antithesis of a packaged, resort-y type of place.
Secondly, Maho and her staff at Shawandha are as warm and hospitable as they could possibly be. I cannot say enough good things about them! Junior, Maria, Caleb, RJ ... everyone treated us like family and made sure we felt welcome the whole time we were there.
The food is also excellent. Beautiful, delicious fresh fruit for breakfast every day with coffee and eggs is a lovely way to start the day. The dinners were tremendous, too. The Bali-style open-air dining area is a real highlight of Shawandha. SUCH a cool place.
And that leads me to the cabins. If you are looking for comfort integrated with the natural surroundings, they've got it figured out. The only thing I can say is "just right." I wouldn't change a thing about the facilities.
Lastly, the beaches and rainforests in the area are unbelievable. You will see tons of wildlife including sloths, toucans, monkeys, and more. You will hear the frogs and ocean waves at night, and the birds and monkeys during the day. There is plenty to do in the area if you want to keep moving, but there are endless spots to chillax and do nothing, too.
Overall, we give Shawandha Lodge and the entire area between Cahuita and Manzanillo one very enthusiastic thumbs up. Can't wait to go back again some day!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

My Wife and my copule friend stayed for two nights. Riding on our bikes from San Jose.
If you like to experience a bungalow inside a jungle this is your place!!!! Check out the nearby restaurant Jungle Love

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoflaDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We've gone to Shawandha several times over the years, and just returned from yet another great 2 nights there with our 18 yr son. We are in the travel business and based in San Jose, so know most of the hotels around Puerto Viejo and also in the country (and many in Latin America as that is where we cover). Shawandha remains one of our favourites: great location beside playa Chiquita, one of the best little beaches in the country, comfortable charming cabins with a delightful balcony, a restaurant with excellent personal service and food, and all set in a very natural and little touched jungle setting where toucans, parrots and often howler monkeys appear. This time there was a change, an attractive pool beautifully designed to fit naturally into the ambience. Our 2 nights should really have been 3, as we felt slightly rushed given the 4 hour drive from San Jose. Overall the lodge is a marvellous natural place to relax. We'll be back within the year this time!

Room Tip: All the cabins are spread out in the jungle setting, with pretty good privacy, and so there is littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulC92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encino,Californa
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2012

This really is a magical place. The beautiful and private A-Frame cabins are serenely tucked among the lush garden-forest landscape. Everyone who helped us, from the front desk to the waiters and waitress were friendly and helpful. This is one place we didn't want to leave!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, you'll be happy wherever you stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laird K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County , CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

The location is far from 'town' but thats just what I wanted. The plan was to experience what the caribean side was all about. Was glad I rented a car which gave me freedom to explore more. There are things I dont like about CR like the humidity and bugs so no matter where you stay you will expereince it. There is a large ceiling fan that cools the room, at night it was fine during the day hot. The rooms were rural just like the pics, individual structures made it fun and private, laying in the hammock was great, the pool is secluded from the main road and the beach across the street is 5 star. You have to walk along a skinny path about 100 yards and the end result is breath taking, just like the the exotics pictures you see. Wifi was intermittent, a storm knocked out the electricity, but who cares, I planned to stay in the jungle anyway. The howler monkeys talked to me every morning, watched sloths in the trees while floating in the pool. I felt safe there, the staff is awesome, and the place was much nicer than many others I saw along the road. If you need lots of stimulation this place is not for you and neither is the caribbean side of CR.

Room Tip: each room appeared to equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
4.6 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shawandha Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shawandha Lodge

Property: Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Address: Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shawandha Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Shawandha Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shawandha Puerto Viejo
Hotel Shawandha Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing