We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing couple of days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We arrived at the lodge in the middle of our vacation. We were greeted by a very friendly and informative young man at the front desk. He truly enjoys his job and is quite happy to share information about the area and the lodge. He took us to our cabin and showed us around and all the ammenities. The cabins had the feel of being in the middle of the jungle but they were quite close to road and we did hear a fair amount of traffic. Another review on here mentioned the barking dog, yes that too! We ventured to the pool for a relaxing swim and cool down and there were plenty of chairs and the pool basically empty. The cabin was a good size with nice sized bathroom. The water pressure was low but plenty of hot water. There was in an in room safe and lots of places to store our belongings. The only thing missing in the room was a coffee maker. I am an early riser and I found the breakfast slated for 7:30 quite late. A couple of coffees on our beautiful front porch first thing in the morning while listening and viewing the wildlife would have been nice. We saw wildlife throughout the property and could hear the howler monkeys in the distance each morning. We ventured to the beach, which is a short walk. It is a very natural and unspoiled. The water was far too rough to swim in but it was a nice walk to and from. We only ate breakfast at the restaurant which was fresh fruit, eggs and toast. We went into town for our suppers at Palmer View since there was a group of us and it fit the bill for variety. Outside the lodge on the road there are a few soda's and also a convenience store that carried a vast amount of products and beverages. There is no in room fridge so you were limited to what you could buy for your cabin. The lodge is set in a very beautiful lush setting and has a very nice dining area and lounge area in the evening. The front porches are big enough we all congregated there and spent our evening. Overall a very nice stay and it truly is a gem in the jungle!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamilton_OntarioDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Shawandha Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

Visited Shawandha for the first time, had heard for years about the place!
The owner is great, she makes sure you are comfortable and enjoys speaking with guests.
The staff are very friendly, Argelis is amazing! Lots of information on the area.
The grounds a great, they have a beautiful pool and lots of animals come onto the property.
The bungalows are close to roads but really at night there is next to no traffic.

What makes this place unique is the special care that has gone into the design.
Each bathroom in the bungalows is different and tells a story.
The restaurant is palm thatch and has a very high roof, very relaxing the atmosphere at diner is beautiful.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable beds and the patio at each bungalow provides a great place to sit and chat in the evenings.

Recomend this place for sure, but as most lodges in the caribbean the aim is to escape, there are no phones in the rooms or television or radios. Not a problem is you want a break but maybe not for everyone!

Room Tip: Bungalow #12 is beautiful and spacious! Bungalow #6 has a great bathroom design!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Since we live in South Florida, being on the beach was not as important as being in the jungle and, while the beach is close, the jungle is all around you at Shawandha. The staff were exceptionally helpful and the rooms while not elegant, fit the location and were quite comfortable. After many trips to Costa Rica, we always enjoy hearing the howler monkeys in the morning and late afternoon. Now if someone could just feed that neighbors hound so he didn't bark so much, things would be just about perfect!

Room Tip: The rooms are very private and the restaurant was great!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailfishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We visited Puerto Vieja and lucked in to booking a night here and fell in love with the place. Designed by the owner some 19 years ago it is a wonderful retreat into gardens with beautifully planned cabins throughout. Quiet, serene, and a 5 minute walk down the trail to a fantastic beach to swim at. The cabin design and wonderful gardens and trials are difficult to imagine being 19 years old...I wish we had known and taken a week in this marvellous cabin. Great food and service of course...but what a little piece of paradise she's carved out in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarrenCWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

we really enjoyed our stay here surrounded by the jungle plants and saw a 2 sloths and some agoutis and the swimming pool was great--the howler monkeys are your alarm clock and the birds around all day.
we only eat at the restaurant once as the bill was a bit of a shock--we eat at some local restaurants with good food for half the price as the hotel has to charge taxes etc which pushes the price up/ the breakfast was excellent. and was included.
one problem was the lack of furniture in the rooms and only fixed hangers in the miniscule hanging area and the lighting was so dim it was impossible to read in bed.
the madame manager kept an eye on everyting that was going on and this was reflected in the standard of cleanliness and service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Well maintained resort that was very quite and isolated from the hussle and bussle of Puerto Viejo. Beach area was beautiful, but the surf was very rough so we didn't dare to go swimming. The beach was nearly empty. From San Jose we drove to Cartago and took route 10 through the "Costa Rican Alps"......absolutely beautiful....no traffic and a hugh vistas around ever turn. Ate at local "sodas" along the way and were surprised at the quality of the food for $5. We don't speak Spanish, so it was a bit of a challenge to order, but the locals were more than helpful, even though they didn't speak English. The breakfast buffett consisted of lots of fresh fruit, eggs, and toast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOPNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

we have spent there 3 wonderful days in a very nice and original lodge.
everything was great, surroundings rooms, people and breackfast[the best we had by far in all costa rica]

really recommend

Marco & nelly Hofmann

Room Tip: all rooms are super ok.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
4.6 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,479 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,038 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
653 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shawandha Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shawandha Lodge

Address: Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £98 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shawandha Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Shawandha Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shawandha Puerto Viejo
Hotel Shawandha Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing