We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovin' the jungle” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Shawandha Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovin' the jungle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Decided to take a trip to the Caribbean... Friends were in country playing tourist so I packed the dog and off we went... Nice hotel... Very friendly staff good food excellent setting!!! Zen atmosphere!!!!! Way cool environment...... A must

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    151
    30
    15
    5
See reviews for
96
256
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

My family all loved this place, probably because it was more up market than they expected of me! When we arrived there had been a mix up and they had to put us into 2 rooms for the first night and then moved us to a bigger room. Although this was a bit annoying after a long drive we understand that these things happen and it wasn’t a major inconvenience.
The large room that we had was fine for us, the bathroom wasn’t as prettily tiled as the other rooms but was nice and big. The kids loved the hammock on the veranda and my son relaxed playing ukulele to us!
I was awoken first morning at about 4.30am by the roaring sound of the howler monkeys. It was the second day before we actually spotted them, closely followed by a sloth. After that there was no stopping us and we saw them all the time! Also agoutis and green and black poison dart frogs. It was a fantastic place for wildlife; one sloth was so close we could have touched him.
The pool was beautiful and we had it largely to ourselves. The restaurant and sitting areas were very nice. Breakfast was excellent with beautifully prepared fruit and the best eggs ever. We only had dinner once and drinks a couple of times. It was quite pricey but then we found Costa Rica to be an expensive place.
A short walk took you to the beach at Playa Chiquita which was pretty much deserted.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank capability_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at Shawandha Lodge. The rooms are gorgeous, secluded, and the whole ambience is relaxing, rustic, and luxurious all at the same time. We definitely utilized the hammock and front porch area. I am a very high maintenance sleeper and was worried about not being able to sleep well due to the wildlife noises and no AC. I used my iPhone sleep machine app and never had an issue with howler monkeys waking me up at 4am. And we never noticed the lack of AC as the weather was fabulous- even mid day. The beds are a little firm but we prefer that. Also we did not have a car but rented bikes the whole time and had free transfers with our scheduled activities. We did take a taxi to puerto viejo at night once (which is only a twenty minute bike ride but don't bike at night) and it was $20 US round trip. We thought this was expensive so we stuck to having dinner near us-Jungle Love, Malbec, and Shawandas restaurant were all lovely. I absolutely do not think its necessary to have a car as the best beaches (Punta Uva and Playa Cocles) are each a ten minute bike ride or twenty minute walk. The beach next to the hotel is very nice as well and only a three minute walk. The service was also top notch at the hotel and restaurant. I had developed some sinus issues and Danny who mans the front desk brought me some nasal spray which was very kind. He also made sure breakfast was available for us at 5:30 am before we had to depart at 6am. Caleb, Danny, and the whole team provided incredible service.
Oh! We were kind of concerned about the bar not opening until 4 but you can get beer or water at any time and there is a grocery store only a five minute walk from the hotel that has snacks and alcohol-this is also where we rented our bikes. And lastly, I am very much a city gal and not too thrilled about wildlife or bugs in our room at night and this was never an issue. Of course anywhere you stay in CR this will be a concern but I only saw a few harmless bugs in our room and no jaguars hiding in the bushes :).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaleyClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Great staff, beautiful grounds, clean rooms, all around amazing. Please be advised that rooms do not include A/C, TV, or mini-fridges, which is all common to the region. The open air bungalows are cool at night, clean, and gorgeous. Would recommend this place for an overnight stay or drop-in dinner. Staff was far above average.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ultratravel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in may 2013 and we loved to be there! We enjoyed our very spacious room, the beautiful nature around us and especially the Breakfast with a large fruitplate! The stuff was very friendly and helpful. And we enjoyed the tasty dinner at the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daniela-puravida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

A great place if you want to experience a jungle around you. If you need air conditioning and TV to enjoy your vacation, this is not the place for you. If you want to hear howler monkies at 4am with lush beautiful surroundings, this is the perfect place. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The pool area is great and the food is good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Purplefridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
331 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at the end of 2 weeks vacation in this great lodge. The staff is very nice, rooms beautiful. Highly recommended. Only issue you cannot have a non carbonated drink before 4 pm... The beach is 100 meters away, it is calm, breakfast and dinner to die for. The French touch of the owner is definitely there, thanks.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, the shower to get hot water is tricky due to an advanced electrical system, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toomuchtravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbugbog, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shawandha Lodge, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thanks a lot for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Shawandha Lodge. The restaurant opens at 4:00pm so unfortunately there is nobody in the kitchen before that time. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yare Hotel
Yare Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cocles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shawandha Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shawandha Lodge

Property: Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Address: Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shawandha Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Shawandha Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shawandha Puerto Viejo
Hotel Shawandha Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing