We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle paradise, a must experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

There are no words to describe the feeling of staying in this lodge. In the middle of the jungle, sorrounded by moneys, billions of crickets and birds, even though so loud you can hardly sleep, I will miss it forever!!!!
Nice restaurant and chilling area in this natural sorrounding, with wooden paths to the lodges. (Very important since Puerto Viejo is small and boring, so you can just chill for hours in this resort- that's more than enough). There is a small creek flowing thru the estate, poisonous frogs and angoutis hopping around, humming birds flying around, a path to the beach nearby. It's not white sand but it's very nice and we had a lotta fun in the waves :)
The lodges were made of wood and instead of windows there are nets, so if you have light sleep bring some earplugs and sleeping pills :))) if it rains, not even that helps how loud it feels. It was clean, surprisingly few bugs considering the environment!!
The bathroom was big, with a round staircase leading down to it at the back of the lodge, very exotic decorated in tribal design, all tiles.
Service was very good, breakfast good, 3 courses, they even served it for us at 5.30 on the day of departure.
It is not close to the centre, you will be paying 10usd for a cab. You can rent a bike as well, ca. 5 usd per day. I am now in Arenal and compated to here, Puerto Viejo is expensive.
I swear to god, i would give anything to sit in that chilling area by the restaurant and listen to the jungle sounds for hours once again :( But, maybe it's waiting for me again in Monteverde or Manuel Antonio, wish me luck ;)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VK V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the first leg of our honeymoon and it is like being in the jungle. The hotel has 13 cabins. The hotel is very clean, very friendly, very safe. The cabins only have a ceiling fan and light, no TV, phone. This place is a great way to get away from it all. The beach is about 3 mins walk from the hotel (thru the jungle). The beach is soo empty, that it felt like a private beach and it is very clean too. At around 4 am, you hear holler monkeys "hollering" and it is very loud (i liked it, the wife didn't). Then closer to morning, you hear the roosters - the best! The town of Cocles is about 2km away and Puerto Viejo is 5km away. If you are not scared, you can always hitchhike (that's how we did it sometimes), otherwise, you can take a bus (bus costs about $1 per person). There is a security at night at the hotel and all staffs are great. If you like to get away from it all and like the jungle and animals, you will enjoy it. If you don't, do not go to this hotel. Recommendation: Go to Shawandha.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdekhkanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The staff here we're wonderful. Robert (pash) our waiter was so great! Every night he made sure that we were well taken care of and added all the extra touches. Argelis at the reception will do his best to take care of your every need. The rooms are nice and so is the garden. Our only complaint is that there is no lunch and this means no beverages at all either. There are great restaurants nearby. We would recommend to stop at a grocery store to buy drinks and snacks in case you just want to stay by the pool and relax. Other than that we would return if we were in the area. The chef in the evening cooks amazing dishes so it is worth staying in and ordering in the evening. The beach is across the road and not many people at all and usually you will have to yourself so bring a beach blanket and some drinks as it is all natural.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

This place is one of a kind. My husband and I spent the first 3 nights of our Costa Rica honeymoon here. The people are extremely friendly and helpful. The pool is lovely. Each room is it's own private bungalow with a porch that has a hammock and a couch. It is all open air (with screens of course) so there is no AC, but we were fine. Highly recommend!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kristen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Decided to take a trip to the Caribbean... Friends were in country playing tourist so I packed the dog and off we went... Nice hotel... Very friendly staff good food excellent setting!!! Zen atmosphere!!!!! Way cool environment...... A must

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank 1,268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My family all loved this place, probably because it was more up market than they expected of me! When we arrived there had been a mix up and they had to put us into 2 rooms for the first night and then moved us to a bigger room. Although this was a bit annoying after a long drive we understand that these things happen and it wasn’t a major inconvenience.
The large room that we had was fine for us, the bathroom wasn’t as prettily tiled as the other rooms but was nice and big. The kids loved the hammock on the veranda and my son relaxed playing ukulele to us!
I was awoken first morning at about 4.30am by the roaring sound of the howler monkeys. It was the second day before we actually spotted them, closely followed by a sloth. After that there was no stopping us and we saw them all the time! Also agoutis and green and black poison dart frogs. It was a fantastic place for wildlife; one sloth was so close we could have touched him.
The pool was beautiful and we had it largely to ourselves. The restaurant and sitting areas were very nice. Breakfast was excellent with beautifully prepared fruit and the best eggs ever. We only had dinner once and drinks a couple of times. It was quite pricey but then we found Costa Rica to be an expensive place.
A short walk took you to the beach at Playa Chiquita which was pretty much deserted.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capability_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at Shawandha Lodge. The rooms are gorgeous, secluded, and the whole ambience is relaxing, rustic, and luxurious all at the same time. We definitely utilized the hammock and front porch area. I am a very high maintenance sleeper and was worried about not being able to sleep well due to the wildlife noises and no AC. I used my iPhone sleep machine app and never had an issue with howler monkeys waking me up at 4am. And we never noticed the lack of AC as the weather was fabulous- even mid day. The beds are a little firm but we prefer that. Also we did not have a car but rented bikes the whole time and had free transfers with our scheduled activities. We did take a taxi to puerto viejo at night once (which is only a twenty minute bike ride but don't bike at night) and it was $20 US round trip. We thought this was expensive so we stuck to having dinner near us-Jungle Love, Malbec, and Shawandas restaurant were all lovely. I absolutely do not think its necessary to have a car as the best beaches (Punta Uva and Playa Cocles) are each a ten minute bike ride or twenty minute walk. The beach next to the hotel is very nice as well and only a three minute walk. The service was also top notch at the hotel and restaurant. I had developed some sinus issues and Danny who mans the front desk brought me some nasal spray which was very kind. He also made sure breakfast was available for us at 5:30 am before we had to depart at 6am. Caleb, Danny, and the whole team provided incredible service.
Oh! We were kind of concerned about the bar not opening until 4 but you can get beer or water at any time and there is a grocery store only a five minute walk from the hotel that has snacks and alcohol-this is also where we rented our bikes. And lastly, I am very much a city gal and not too thrilled about wildlife or bugs in our room at night and this was never an issue. Of course anywhere you stay in CR this will be a concern but I only saw a few harmless bugs in our room and no jaguars hiding in the bushes :).

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaleyClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
4.6 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,543 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
675 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
712 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shawandha Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shawandha Lodge

Address: Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £108 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shawandha Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Shawandha Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shawandha Puerto Viejo
Hotel Shawandha Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing