We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, unpleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The staff was helpful and friendly but being awakened each morning by "the beautiful sound of howler monkeys" turned out to be terrifying and not conducive to any amount of sleeping in. Our shower had a live scorpion waiting to greet us when we arrived. The hotel restaurant was very overpriced and underwhelming. A cab ride into the beach town was lengthy and $20 USD each way. The bungalows were close enough to each other that couples celebrating their honeymoons easily kept their neighbors awake. We have had better night sleep in a sleeping bag on the forest floor than we did on the cardboard box like mattresses in the delux room.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Konas14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel is very nice with a jungle like setting. A sloth hung outside our bungalow and the jungle was very active with lots of animals. It was a short walk to the beautiful beach. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was always the same, good but could get monotonous if you stayed for very many days. The pool was very nice in a great setting without all the rules.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

As a couple with one 2-years-old child, we avoid big resort for more wild places but we like to have comfort. Shawandha Lodge is the perfect place for that.

Beautiful bungalows in the middle of a rain forest, beautiful and very quite beach 100 meters from the lodge, very nice dining place and a cute little swimming pool.

The bungalows have big openings with mosquito webs allowing you to hear animals during night and feel like sleeping in the forest. Therefore there is no aircon but warmth is not so strong in the morning so you can sleep well anyway.

Staff is very nice and the French owner makes you feel like in a Bed&Breakfast.

If you want to have a more backpacker ambiance, you go and have dinner 50 m from there in small outside restaurants with concert, pool tables, parties ...

Animals are all around, we met one morning a sloth crossing the road.

The lodge is 5 hours car from San José airport but the road through the mountain rain forest is worth it.

Very very nice place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skyfly09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My son and I had a fantastic time at Shawanda. It had charm, personality, comfort and a sloth! My son loved the wildlife and pool; I loved the breakfasts and the sweet cabins. Everyone was very helpful and nice. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DallasRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Amazing lodge with private access to the beach. The room was gorgeous tucked away in a forest, large with a huge bathroom...staff was amazingly helpful and courteous. The hotel restaurant serves great food - both me and wife are vegetarians and we finally found some options here for us. Our server was extremely helpful and went out of his way to make us feel comfortable. Would definitely love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was the third stop on our honeymoon. The location is stunning though the jungle sounds take some getting used to! The Caribbean and isolated beach is only a short (if scary!) walk away and we even saw sloths in the hotel gardens! The room was lovely and the restaurant excellent and the staff courteous and helpful. Definitely would recommend the trip to Manzanillo-Gandoca too.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jimmyfarold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

At first glance it looks amazing, the bungalow design is cool, the atmosphere is cool, the pool, the hammocks, the friendly stuff and good service effort.
But I was disappointed, I cannot imagine how it can be that there are more bugs inside the bungalow then outside when I lie in the hammock. I was going insane with nowhere to hide.

The bungalow is not lit enough, the bathroom and closet have enough lighting but in the "bedroom" there are 3 table lamps and that is it, during the day you open the drapes and can see but at night I was constantly bumping into stuff.
The windows only have nets, no glass at all - so at night I was cold.
And to top everything the awful shower, you turn the knob 180 degrees to get cold water, and then slowly turn it back to get some hot water (if you're lucky)

I can see the efforts to give customers a good and enjoyable stay, but i couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sshahar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbugbog, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shawandha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

We feel really bad that you had that experience. As you said all windows have screens so maybe you left the door a little bit too long open. You should have let the reception knows and we would have helped you of course.

Regarding the issue of being cold at night, again we can have given you extra blanket. We love our climate, hot during the day and a little cool at night. That is exactly why we do not need air conditioning.

For the shower, unfortunately you had to experience the fact to have hot water in the jungle. Sometimes things are not as easy as in a developed country but isn't that what you are also looking for when you travel?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
4.6 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,559 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#9 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
678 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
721 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Escape Caribeno
Hotel Escape Caribeno
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shawandha Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shawandha Lodge

Address: Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £107 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shawandha Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Shawandha Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shawandha Puerto Viejo
Hotel Shawandha Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing