We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in the Jungle :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Lisboa, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good choice in the Jungle :-)”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I forget completely to review this hotel. Excellent! No tv, excellent idea! No glass, no windows, good, but first night it was difficult to sleep because of the noise of the animals outside, specially monkeys. 5 stars breakfast, near the beach and good service! Enjoyed a lot

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Célia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    159
    33
    16
    6
See reviews for
102
265
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The bungalows at the Shawandha are private and surrounded by lush gardens and forests. The bungalows have screened windows on all sides with tall ceilings in the Balinese style. Our room had a king size bed and two twins to comfortably sleep our family of three. The bathroom featured a tiled shower, vanity and toilet. Hair dryer was provided. On a large lanai at the front of the bungalow there was a hammock and an outdoor seating area where one could see the Howler monkeys, numerous birds and butterflies and the shy agouti. A tropical breakfast of beautifully prepared fruit, toast and coffee is served in dining room. There is a pool for cooling off, new since our last stay here four years ago. The beach is directly across the street and offers good swimming for families. Guidebooks such as Fodor's suggest that the location requires a car. Not true. Bicycles can be rented for $20 a week at the market nearby. It is 20 minutes to bike to Puerto Viejo, 15 minutes to the beach at Playa Cocles and 10 minutes to the Jaguar Rescue Centre. The beach at Punta Uva as well as the chocolate tour are within a 10 minute walk. There is hourly bus service via public transportation as well. I have come to Costa Rica three times, all to the Puerto Viejo area. Our reasons for returning are simple: the area is beautiful and the people are friendly. Maria and Caleb, both long time employees of the Shawandha, are part of what made are visits so special.

Room Tip: The bungalows are separated such that you cannot hear people in the other huts. Everyone will hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzyqmalamute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Loved the Shawandha! We were 2, 50 something year olds and our 2 college age daughters. They still talk about their stay and how much fun they had. The nearby beach was picture perfect, and the on site French restaurant was just wonderful. Our waiter took very good care of us, so we enjoyed dinner there, twice. We loved the breakfast, especially the passion fruit. We took advantage of a bit of time in the refreshing pool, before taxi into town for shopping and fun. The bungalows are very unique, and added to the whole jungle experience, and vibe. The bathroom tile work is really interesting. We hope to return soon. Thanks, Shawandha Lodge for such a unique and memorable stay!

Room Tip: Only stay here is looking for a lovely, quiet Jungle experience, with a very short pathway walk to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celeste O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were got married in Costa Rica and spent a couple of weeks traveling around the country...this was the last hotel we stayed at on our honeymoon!

We love the Puerto Viejo and Playa Chiquita area...and Hotel Shawandha was the perfect place to end our honeymoon.

Don't expect a 5 star modern hotel...it's not that type of lodge. The Shawandha Lodge is set on an incredible garden on flowers, plants and jungle...each room is an individual bungalow. Our bungalow had a large king size bed, a writing desk and one of the most unique bathrooms I have ever seen. The room did not have AC and at the time of year we stayed that was not an issue. The windows are actually not windows at all, but large screen openings...there is a large ceiling fan and we found that the temperature was comfortable during May when we were there. The bathroom was interesting, set down a flight of stair behind the room...the tile and stone work was great! We had plenty of hot water and love the unique feel to the bungalow.

Breakfast was included with our stay and we did eat at the hotel every morning. If anything was lacking it was any type of choice for breakfast...although it was included in our room rate, we had no choice in what was served. We were given fruit, juice, scrambled eggs and toast each day. When we asked if other options were available they said no. I would have like to have had more choices, eating the same thing every day did get old.

The hotel staff was incredibly nice and polite...we actually had a spider in our room and the staff was quick to remove it and explain that it wasn't harmful.

The hotel does have bikes to rent, but only 2 it seems...we rented bike from a place down the road...not a good idea, the bikes were junk, we ended up walking as a result of flat tires. It would be great if the Shawandha had a few more bikes to rent.

All in all, it's an incredibly unique place to stay, I travel for a living and have never stayed in anything like it...it made for a very memorable adventure, one that we will not forget. If we were to go back, I'd stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrevorF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We loved this hotel and our bungalow. Clean, spacious tiled bathroom and great ventilation throughout. Excellent staff and friendly owner. Wonderful breakfast of fruit and I had the best avocados ever. And the best beach (recommended by locals) is across the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsjones0726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Shawandha Lodeg was the last place we stayed at in Costa Rica and was a wonderful way to finish our holiday. The staff were very friendly and seemed genuinely anxious that ww were enjoying ourselves, without being intrusive in any way. The little cabins/lodges were very comfortable and the porch a great place to relax and listen to the howler monkeys in the trees. Lovely dining room, lounge and reception - all very calming and pleasant. The pool was a delight and the gardens beautiful. I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who likes the outdoors, and a special sort of luxury.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJHALL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The staff was helpful and friendly but being awakened each morning by "the beautiful sound of howler monkeys" turned out to be terrifying and not conducive to any amount of sleeping in. Our shower had a live scorpion waiting to greet us when we arrived. The hotel restaurant was very overpriced and underwhelming. A cab ride into the beach town was lengthy and $20 USD each way. The bungalows were close enough to each other that couples celebrating their honeymoons easily kept their neighbors awake. We have had better night sleep in a sleeping bag on the forest floor than we did on the cardboard box like mattresses in the delux room.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Konas14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
4.6 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,452 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
675 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
641 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shawandha Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shawandha Lodge

Property: Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Address: Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shawandha Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Shawandha Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shawandha Puerto Viejo
Hotel Shawandha Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing