We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in beautiful setting”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel with our 2 kids for 3 nights and enjoyed this place. We loved the rain-forest setting. The breakfast was very good. We loved the laid back culture and enjoyed in Puerto Viejo the most during our trip.

You have to walk a bit to get to the beach and beach there is not safe for kids. We did not eat at the restaurant as they don't have much options for vegetarians. Veronica's was a great place for vegans/vegetarians. The rooms had no telephones so you have to walk to the front desk if you need anything. Being in the forest setting, bugs can easily enter in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    388
    153
    48
    43
See reviews for
227
488
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McKinleyville, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I didn't stay here, but I did take surf lessons for a week a half, which was organized by my hostel in Manzanillo. Adrian runs the surf lessons and board rental- very professional and organized! Communicated very well, making sure to call me and let me know each day whether or not the waves would allow for lessons on playa cocles before I rode my bike in from Manzanillo. My belongings were kept locked up on the hotel premises. Leo was my surf instructor- amazing!! Such a good teacher, very highly recommend. Also very professional and kind, I always felt confident and safe in the water with him! I took six lessons- was standing up on the first day, catching waves on the third. I'm not in costa rica anymore, but am dreaming of surfing and my future return! Hope to go back and see these guys again soon.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Calamity-jane1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boise
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Went on a family vacation in early Oct and stayed at Totem. About a 10 minute walk to "town" in Puerto Viejo.
The room was excellent, comfy and the staff was friendly. They spoke broken English, we spoke broken Spanish so it all worked out :)
Nice pool, and accommodations. They included a free breakfast every morning which was great and delicious!

One of the best parts was it is literally a 10 step walk to the beach, a nice big clean beach with waves for surfing!

We had fun. If you go Costa Rica, and are staying on that side... I suggest you look into Totem. Clean, comfy and nicely located.

Room Tip: Get a suite that looks out at the pool. We had french doors open right onto the pool, it was beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqueline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

In it's day it had to be Charming, But Where did all the Love Go?? The place is Old, Worn Out, Has a tremendous degree of Deferred Maintence. The Jacuzzi is Cold Water, The Pool needs a Good Pressure Cleaning on the Status's and Rocks, the fence which use to decorator is broken and in Sad Shape. The wooden worn lawn chairs were very uncomfortable, I tried to sit & read but the Ants were awful . We stayed 3 nites, the room was clean every day very well. The flowers which rooms gets decorated with is very sleek but also very Buggy (little ones) A hard toss up! The Family that runs it is Super Nice, Food; Breakfast & Dinner were all homemade.

Room Tip: you have no tv except in Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realtordebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was clearly a very nice hotel when it was new. The years have not been kind to the property, as is the case with most properties in Costa Rica. Tropical weather is harsh and things deteriorate very fast. Maintenance must be constant, on much shorter cycles than in other climates, or things start to fall apart.

The Totem Hotel is well maintained. The gardening staff does a great job and I saw them working busily. Maids scurry around the property cleaning everything. It's not dirty or poorly maintained, it's just aging. I'm starting to get wrinkles on my face so I can relate.

When I checked in, I asked to see the room. It was OK, with air conditioner and an in-room safe. The room smelled a little musty but every room in Costa Rica does, it wasn't any better or worse than most places I have stayed. I asked whether there were problems with insects (both in English and Spanish to make sure I got a correct answer) and was told no. After checking in, I battled ants and killed some kind of scary spider, this happens in Costa Rica. Still, "no problem" wasn't the right answer; a recent fumigation and there would have been no problem. Subtracted points for this. Also subtracted points for the unusual way the hotel requests a deposit: they want a black credit card voucher! Never, ever sign one of these in Costa Rica or anywhere. You can pay a $100 cash deposit (they give you a receipt) and I chose to do this instead. I don't give anyone a blank check on my account.

I was warned that the water is not drinkable in the area, and the water wasn't available 24 hours before checking in. No points subtracted for this - the hotel fully disclosed the problem and it wasn't due to the hotel, it was as a result of the municipal water supply. During the hours that water was promised, it was available and I was very happy with the hot shower. Plenty of water pressure and it was constant, no "shower roulette" here!

WiFi is available on the property and is free. The speeds are good. It may not work in your room, and you might need to use it in a common area. In my room, it worked fine.

The room was fine. I got a good night's sleep with the air conditioning on. Security on the property was good. Breakfast, included with the room rate, was excellent. I am not sure why people complain about it being the same every day - there is such a huge selection you can have different things every day. There was no way I could have tried everything. The hotel seems to have responded to people complaining about flies etc. and now has professional quality serving ware which is all covered. They do not keep the breakfast items heated though - some Sterno cans would go a long way toward keeping everything piping hot (and stop the growth of bacteria!) until the breakfast hours ended. Should I take off points? Probably not if there is no health code violation... and there probably isn't because Costa Rica is very well organized and regulated about hygiene (I'm totally serious here, believe it or not). I am tempted to take off points for the giant black lab who roams the restaurant because she smelled really bad and needed a bath, but there's really no way to control what trouble a dog decides to get herself into. She will beg, do not feed her!

Note I also tried dinner in the restaurant and this didn't impress me much. The main dish was just OK, and my watermelon smoothie was full of seeds that had been through the blender (making them very hard to spit them out). I couldn't believe they didn't strain it, but "muy tranquilo" and "pura vida" so I did not complain, this gets you nowhere with Costa Rican people. Just roll with it, it is a way of life here. No points off for this because dinner is not included with the hotel room and I review restaurants separately; however, do keep this in mind if you plan to enjoy meals other than breakfast.

Would I stay again? This was a good quality property, and the rate includes a very nice breakfast - definitely a breakfast above the 3 star rating of the hotel (the only thing that they could have improved upon would be to include some fresh fruit among the selections - I'm really surprised this wasn't available given the very low cost of local tropical fruits in Costa Rica). The room was just OK, but it wasn't bad. The two things that knock this down from "excellent" for me are the somewhat dilapidated state of the property--particularly the jacuzzi area (which is very run down) and the relatively high price. Other properties in the area are significantly less expensive so I don't think that value for money is very good. This doesn't make the Totem Hotel a bad choice or a bad property, so you should definitely consider it if the absolutely top-notch location is important to you, or if you visit in the high season and availability is limited at other properties.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good. Ask to see one before you pay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dialtone69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarielaTotem, Gerente at Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hello,
Thank you for choosing us and for all your recommendations.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Very nice and big rooms, recently refurbished.

Just 50 mts away from the beach.

A bit far from Puerto Viejo center if you go by foot

Friendly people, managed by italian family, good italian cuisine

Good breakfast, ask for espresso, very good

I'd definitely reccomend it

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michel_Tesmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarielaTotem, Gerente at Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hello Michael,
Thank you very much for your comments. It is incentive to the staff of Totem Hotel.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Ukraine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel in October 2013. The hotel is beautiful, well-kept grounds, the location is great. Perhaps, on this coast is the nicest hotel. And for this reason, prices are unreasonably high. Personally, I was disappointed with the quality of service. I do not recommend coming for more than 3 days. In our room, there was no Internet. Management must work on many nuances in guest services.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irrriha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnny A, Gerente at Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
It is unfortunate that a customer have not felt well in our hotel, we always try by all means to give them the best of the best.

Now days the internet, as a primary tool of communication is our priority, so, we always inspect the service with our own equipments, to ensure that the connection is working properly.

Many times we have to suggest to our esteemed guests to review their equipment settings, since the configuration of this, could be affecting the network to connect to Wi-Fi. Sometimes the strength of the network card of the equipment depends a lot on the posibility to connect to this services.

Certainly, today all companies constantly work on continuous improvement to deliver the best quality, here in our company, the management also works on becoming better and better to guarantee the best results possible.

We thank to all our customers that make us suggestions or comments, as this gives us the opportunity to improve and grow every day.


John Abarca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
2.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,452 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
641 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
35 reviews
12.0 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort

Property: Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Address: Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica (Formerly Cariblue Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Caribbean resort in Puerto Viejo, de Limon, Costa Rica.Hotel Cariblue is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the nature, the beaches and comfort.A leader among Costa Rica hotels and resorts, we offer luxurious hardwood bungalows nestled in exotic tropical gardens between the pristine white sand beach of Playa Cocles and lush natural jungle (more info about us). Enjoy our award-winning service and our full range of amenities and facilities in a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere. A paradise is waiting for you."Cariblue Hotel” “Your Caribbean resort", is a 3 star hotel and 3 green leaves (CST), is the ideal place to enjoy your vacation, Its located just steps away from beautiful pristine white sand beach, Playa Cocles and just a mile from typical village of Puerto Viejo de Talamanca (Old Harbor), where the Afro Caribbean, Indian and all over the world cultures are mixed in harmony and peace.Cariblue has 23 private and comfortable bungalows nestled in a gorgeous tropical garden of almost 5 acres (20.000 sqm). All the bungalows feature a private balcony overlooking the resort's tropical gardens. Impressive Gourmet Restaurant "Soleluna" with a gorgeous bar and in the pool with our happy hour every day in our pool bar. Spend a lazy day by the beautiful pool area, kid's pool and relax in the Jacuzzi while enjoying one of our selection of fine tropical cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cariblue Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing