We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Beach Get-Away!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Agapi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Agapi
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
“Amazing Beach Get-Away!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

My stay at Agapi Hotel was absolutely wonderful. I can't wait to return to Puerto Viejo just to visit this hotel again. The location is amazing, we couldn't have stayed closer to the beach unless we were sleeping in the ocean. Plus all of the attractions and conveniences of restaurants, gift shops, and bars were just a short walk down the road. The accommodations were very nice, clean rooms, private bathrooms, plenty of closet space for all our things. The staff was very friendly and welcoming, treated us like family. Breakfast was a great home cooked meal every day. I couldn't have hoped for a more relaxing or enjoyable vacation, and I would recommend this hotel to anybody headed to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    30
    20
    13
    25
See reviews for
29
46
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Agapi Hotel in Puerto Viejo, Talmanca, Costa Rica. It's only 5 minutes from the center of town and right on the beach. The rooms are adequately furnished but the key is that at $60/night it's great value for the money. Don't expect luxury by any means but if you want an inexpensive stay near everything, this is the place to stay. The owners/staff are friendly and the pool is excellent. The breakfast is okay--and included--but I'd go to other places like "Bread & Chocolate." There is a nice pool too and plenty of free parking. Don't forget look sloths right in the trees on the property.

Room Tip: If you want good Internet access, stay in room closest to the office where the router is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew4CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Earl and family were so friendly and helpful. We rented bikes, took the jungle path to Puerto Viejo, and jogged over to Cocles beach on the same path. What a great spot, close enough to bike downtown, but far enough to escape the craziness. The pools were nice, the breakfasts tasty, and lots of things to do nearby.
Felt very safe, liked the all-night security, and they bent over backwards for our every request. Nice to stay in a family owned place especially one owned by locals. Good to support the Tico businesses, especially when a great deal, location, and amenities.
Great jungle out front with coconuts, sloths, and giant ant nests.

Room Tip: Facing the ocean or near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Talk about convenient...walk out the back side of the hotel your on a lovely path to; either the town of Puerto Viejo, or the other direction to the Cocles surf, swim beach. The room we had overlooking the pool has a view of the beach and ocean 50 meters away. Very interesting buildings. On the main road...never heard it buildings face towards ocean. Will stay there again !!

Room Tip: Get room above pool looking towards ocean. Beautiful stairway to room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kris h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conklin, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

From the moment that we arrived at the Motel in May,we were treated very well by the Manager and the staff,anything that we needed,such as our laundry done,or just calling for a taxi was handled immediately,and with a cordial smile.The A/C worked good and the maids were there every day to make sure everything stayed clean,the gardeners were everyday sweeping up the leaves that had fallen on the patio,so you were able to walk around barefooted if you wanted.So free with nature.The back door led to 2 other swimming pools and a sauna.A few steps you were on a coral beach,approximately 1000 meters was a nice sandy beach you could walk to.Me and my Brother could be a little loud at times,but there was never a complaint.I will be staying there again and would reccomend it to anybody, that does not mind staying where they can wake up to the howling of monkeys and exotic birds.have a nice trip. Sincerely,James C. Schoonover (The Schoondog)

Room Tip: Try to get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schoondog55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Avellanas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel is beach front and it has kitchen in the rooms that allows you to save money.
I stayed in a room with good AC and tv. The location is very good and we enjoyed the breakfast very much, the jam is home made by the owner and its very typical.

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor to the right, looking at the pool. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManuTahilramani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We wanted a beachfront suite with kitchen and Agapi Resort is the only one that can give this service in Puerto Viejo. Excelent rooms with all conforts just a few meters from the sea. The sea sounds will make you sleep as never before. Miss Cecilia, the manager, is really an outstanding woman that will help you in order to make your vacation perfect. It has beautiful swimming pools and SPA. They only give breakfast, with products actually made by Miss Cecila herself, really a plus. We will definitely come back again in our next trip to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Choose a beachfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aiyana Lodge
Aiyana Lodge
#25 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Guarana
Hotel Guarana
#9 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.8 mi away
Selina
Selina
#52 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
#67 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agapi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agapi

Property: Agapi
Address: 800 Metros Sur de Puerto Viejo Camino a Playa Cocles | America, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 687304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Agapi 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Agapi offers beachfront rooms or apartments with kitchen and jacuzzi(all with private bathrooms). We will feature a swimming pool and an outdoor jacuzzi, as well as a swimming pool for children,pool bar and breakfast buffet by the 1st of December 2009. Here, you can enjoy your vacation by the sea in a friendly environment, surrounded by nature, within minutes walk from downtown! Benefit from our bike & car rentals and tour services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Agapi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agapi Apartmentos Hotel Puerto Viejo
Agapi Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing