We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”
Review of Agapi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Agapi
Reviewed 9 August 2007

I stayed here while traveling around Costa Rica for Spring Break. What a great place! The rooms were spacious and clean and close to the water (although it was a coral beach). In the back courtyard you are surrounded by wildlife and there is a great area to have breakfast. The owners are fabulous and they will help you out with anything. I would advise not to rent bikes there because we had a lot of problems with ours, but everything else is great. Make sure to order beans and rice the night before if you want it for breakfast, and she makes a great cappicino. The walk into town takes about 10 minutes, but it was great to be away from the craziness during Holy Week.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rock2bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2007

What a quiet little (economic) gem, $15 per person 300 feet from the beach! The owner runs a tight ship the place is super clean and the rooms are bright and cheery with tv, fan and hot water showers why you need a hot shower down there is still beyond me... I stayed in a room (#11) not apartment though when i go back with family or friends i would definately rent the apartments they are well appointed and have small kitchens which are super since the food in puerto viejo leaves a lot to be desired save for the Chilli Pepper... I am not a princess but if you plan on staying here know they do not have great sheets, they are pretty and match the design of the room but they are 50/50 and pilled honestly that's the only pitfall. I took my 59 y/o mom here and she said exactly the same thing "we shoulda brought a flat sheet". Also there is parking here. DON'T Forget OFF or Cutters
Enjoy hearing the waves in your dreams.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank curious2x3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2007

We have stayed at the Agapi numerous times and each has been a wonderful experience. The staff are very friendly and hospitable. Its on the beach side, with balconies, and a very short walk from Cocles Beach. I can't say enough about the owner and staff, they are just so nice.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Nanperfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jonnathan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Are J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Sil d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAgapiPtoViejo, Gerente at Agapi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.5 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#9 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,069 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
723 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,560 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
249 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agapi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agapi

Address: 800 Metros Sur de Puerto Viejo Camino a Playa Cocles | America, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 687304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £57 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agapi 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Agapi offers beachfront rooms or apartments with kitchen and jacuzzi(all with private bathrooms). We will feature a swimming pool and an outdoor jacuzzi, as well as a swimming pool for children,pool bar and breakfast buffet by the 1st of December 2009. Here, you can enjoy your vacation by the sea in a friendly environment, surrounded by nature, within minutes walk from downtown! Benefit from our bike & car rentals and tour services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Agapi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agapi Apartmentos Hotel Puerto Viejo
Agapi Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing