We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay”
Review of Bungalows Calalu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bungalows Calalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2011

There are a lot of good things about this place; its quiet, nearby town (10 minute walk), has a swimming pool and is not too expensive for what you get. There's also a gate that closes at night, so you feel safe. The garden is beautiful with al the flowers and we saw some hummingbirds. Unfortunately they don't have breakfast and you cant buy anything to drink or eat. But a supermarket and restaurants are nearby. The room is basic, buth clean.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lalalala_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2010

It is 100% true, the owners of this hotel are EXTREMELY rude!! They got wrong our reservation dates, room type and rate. When we checked in and asked for the proper room we were told we never booked that room and everything was "our" mistake. The woman's attitude was aggressive, abrasive and just plain mean. She refused to listen to any common sense or even offer us any other options, other rooms, discount, money back...nothing. She point blank said, "I own this place and I don't make mistakes"! The only reason we didn't go elsewhere was because it was a busy weekend. I won't go back. The owner is not from Costa Rica, she is from Spain, and has no manners. No real restaurant or bar and very small pool.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittkatt74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

We had no idea where we were going to stay in Puero Viejo. We were SO thankful when we stumbled onto this place!! Beautiful gardens, helpful staff, nice pool, and the bungalow was simply amazing. Perfect for me and my three friends. Close to town and a 15 minute walk to Cocles. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jkskibunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

Overall the bungalows are cute and comfortable, but all the reviews we read in travel guides spoke of having breakfast with the butterflies or resting in a hammock. There weren't any hammocks, butterflies or even breakfast. The owner spoke no English so we didn't receive an explanation as to why these things were no longer available. The pool was warm yet somewhat refreshing, but also didn't match the photos as the waterfall wasn't operating. If we hadn't been expecting all these little extras that made us chose this place over the others, it would have been quite nice. But we kept asking ourselves, "where's the butterflies?"

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mtnmamaFortCollinsCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2008

Although a lot of reviewers seem to have problems with the owners of Calalú, I have received nothing but good service from them, and they do not strike me as particularly unfriendly or unreasonable, and definitely not mean, as some seem to think. I've never had any reason to complain, though, so perhaps I've just been lucky and avoided their dark side; my impression is that they are reasonably polite and helpful people.

I've stayed there seven times over the last years, since the cabinas are cheaper than most other decent options, and a lot nicer than the cheaper options. $40/night ($60 for 4 people) is quite a bargain, considering that it's peaceful, yet close to town and the beach. And it has a pool, which is nice enough and not dirty.

The rooms are simple, yet nice, with large bathrooms and a terrace. Some have a small kitchen with fridge. The kitchen could use a little upgrade, though; it's more suitable for storing beers in the fridge than for cooking.

I recommend Calalú for laidback, self-going people who do not need luxury to make their vacation perfect, yet don't feel comfortable in the cheapest places. If you get personally offended by missing details, you may want to pay a bit more somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zorblat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2007

Everything was OK, the bungalows are clean and warm. The pool was OK but the owner threw some soap into it while we were enjoying the pool at night. They say that there is a restaurant but it is always empty, maybe because of the owners. But if you don`t talk to them, you can enoy your trip.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jose112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2007

This place consists of a grouping of small cabins set 100 meters back from the main road. The cabins are very basic and get very hot, but it stays quiet all the time. Exotic plants and winding gravel trails make for an enjoyable ambiance, but beyond this nothing lived up to the promises. The pool is great for cooling off, but the water is not circulated and is uncomfortably warm by mid day, and that little waterfall they advertise was not turned on once the entire time we were there. The other feature they advertise is the butterfly room which also was not in operation. The biggest disappointment for me with this place was the unfriendly owners. With all that said it wasn't the worst place I've ever stayed, but you will likely leave feeling you didn't get your money's worth. I'd skip it.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank earthbound_drifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
9.9 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
1.7 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hotel Nirvana by the Sea
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,061 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Calalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Calalu

Address: Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Calalu Hotel Puerto Viejo
Bungalows Calalu Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing