We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money, would consider going back”
Review of Bungalows Calalu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bungalows Calalu
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the money, would consider going back”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The Bungalow was exactly as the pictures shows there were no surprises. I was travelling with my 13 month old daughter and the option for a kitchen was a good choice. I was able to make her bottles and brew a few cups of coffee each morning. Added bonus is that its in near to town.. A bakery and lots of restaurants within walking distance...

I would recommend Bungalow Calalu..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirlrgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    28
    11
    11
    4
See reviews for
28
53
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Private, super nice bungalows, cozy pool, no wifi in our room - the one with a/c, terrace and kitchen-, no fresh towels, toilet paper or soap if you dont ask for it.
Super affordable, if we had actually liked Puerto Viejo Limon, we'd come back to stay here.

Room Tip: no wifi in our room - the one with a/c, terrace and kitchen-
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed only 2 days, 1 night ...love the rooms, excellent service, very clean place, the swimming pool was delicious..The environment was exactly what i was looking for, a lot birds, no mosquitoes , lovely gardens.
We didn't have any problem with the service since the kitchen was fully equipped just ready to cook... Markets very close and also a very good restaurant.
The owners very nice people, no complaints ...100% recommended

Room Tip: If you wan to have a home made dinner pick the 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

There are a lot of good things about this place; its quiet, nearby town (10 minute walk), has a swimming pool and is not too expensive for what you get. There's also a gate that closes at night, so you feel safe. The garden is beautiful with al the flowers and we saw some hummingbirds. Unfortunately they don't have breakfast and you cant buy anything to drink or eat. But a supermarket and restaurants are nearby. The room is basic, buth clean.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lalalala_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

It is 100% true, the owners of this hotel are EXTREMELY rude!! They got wrong our reservation dates, room type and rate. When we checked in and asked for the proper room we were told we never booked that room and everything was "our" mistake. The woman's attitude was aggressive, abrasive and just plain mean. She refused to listen to any common sense or even offer us any other options, other rooms, discount, money back...nothing. She point blank said, "I own this place and I don't make mistakes"! The only reason we didn't go elsewhere was because it was a busy weekend. I won't go back. The owner is not from Costa Rica, she is from Spain, and has no manners. No real restaurant or bar and very small pool.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittkatt74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

We had no idea where we were going to stay in Puero Viejo. We were SO thankful when we stumbled onto this place!! Beautiful gardens, helpful staff, nice pool, and the bungalow was simply amazing. Perfect for me and my three friends. Close to town and a 15 minute walk to Cocles. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkskibunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort collins co
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2008

Overall the bungalows are cute and comfortable, but all the reviews we read in travel guides spoke of having breakfast with the butterflies or resting in a hammock. There weren't any hammocks, butterflies or even breakfast. The owner spoke no English so we didn't receive an explanation as to why these things were no longer available. The pool was warm yet somewhat refreshing, but also didn't match the photos as the waterfall wasn't operating. If we hadn't been expecting all these little extras that made us chose this place over the others, it would have been quite nice. But we kept asking ourselves, "where's the butterflies?"

  • Liked — quiet safe location
  • Disliked — didn't live up to advertisements
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnmamaFortCollinsCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
633 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
672 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Calalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Calalu

Property: Bungalows Calalu
Address: Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Calalu Hotel Puerto Viejo
Bungalows Calalu Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing