We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caribbean home”
Review of Casa Verde Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Verde Lodge
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Casa Verde is located downtown in Puerto Viejo, but it has beautiful gardens with crabs , iguanas an colorful little frogs, also a very nice swimming pool.
The lodge has bedrooms with shared bathrooms and showers, but since we were a family of 6 they offered a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom house with living space and kitchen where we were able to enjoy fredh lobster from the neighbor fiisherman
The only problem was that the weather was extremely hot and fans(standing, portable) did not cool the house.
The regular rooms of the lodge , caribbean style, are well ventilated with 2windows and ceiling fans, but the house is different style

Room Tip: Depending on the season and weather,, there is no A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrisLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

We had a twin room with shared bathroom for 4 nights.

Relaxed athmosphere at this place. Very good location; on a quiet streat very near the main streat. Friendly staff. Amazing swimming pool!! Best we have seen in Costa Rica.

Room was fine. Comfortable beds, and some rooms have their own sink. Each room has his own porch with hammock and chairs.
Clean bathroom facilities and hot showers.

At our evening of arrival, there was a sloth hanging on the reception ceiling. He lives in a tree on opposite side of the street, and sometimes visits. Really cool to see.

The gardens between the bungalows are filled with these blue crabs. They live in the rocky grounds. When you walk by, they move back into their holes. Interesting to see them from so close. Although they did not come onto the foot paths, I can imagine some people might find it a little scary.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loesdevries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

CASA VERDE LODGE in Puerto Viejo is a wonderful hidden gem in an amazing country. Time spent there is time well spent. It's truly relaxing, a paradise without all the trappings of corporate America. It's not for everyone, if you expect to be pampered then Puerto Viejo may not be for you. There are time of the year when mosquitoes can be a problem, just come prepared. The staff has been there for years, and always friendly and ready to help.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G6K-pMfvZGs

Room Tip: With only 17 rooms, every room is surrounded by an oasis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tulsa-renegade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Ive been a bit harsh with the review simply because of the breakfast which seems a bit silly, but we stayed in other parts of Costa Rica for about $40 a room a night with a decent breakfast provided and we paid $70 at Casa Verde and got an apple and a biscuit. The room itself was nice and clean and the swimming pool is great. We had a tv which was great as it rained every day for 5 days which was a shame. Overall we were very disappointed with the Carribean side of Costa Rica so this may have clouded my judgement. Puerto de Viejo is quite run down and the beaches are a lot nicer on the Pacific side. However I would still recommend this hotel, if they were to provide more for breakfast!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizSlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

we loved to stay outside of our room (w/ shared bathroom) in the chairs or the hammock. every room is equipped with that. there was a fridge to use, the room was very spacious and it was really calm. we loved the bed, because the matress was hard and not like a hammock ;). you could get free coffee. shared toilets and showers are nice and hot. also the wireless was great. they clean your room every day, if you like. the sea, supermarket and bars are close. we really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holm84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We really liked this spot for the grounds, the staff. The units are private and fairly clean. The sheets are OLD and bally (if you are sentient to that). The beds are old fashioned cot type matressess. There is a fridge and a small tv, If you don't turn the water on full you can get a hot shower. The problem is the mosquito's - they were really really bad. We both woke up with dozens of bites. The room is NOT air conditioned - so if humidity bothers you - you won't sleep well here. The rooms are affordable and clean, we saw some cool wildlife in the gardens. You can get coffee in the morning - usually a cookie or two as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ltaylor96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We did a lot of research on hotels and wanted a nice place and to be in town so we would be close to everything. Casa Verde was great!! Being in a hotel room that doesn't feel like a holiday inn was a nice change. The rooms had character, it was quiet even with no vacancy, and we felt safe. They jut updated their wifi so we had it in our room was very nice. Would very much recommend and will return.

Room Tip: It depends on the room amenities that you want but I thought all the rooms looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,488 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,044 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Verde Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Verde Lodge

Address: Casa Verde Lodge, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £18 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our aim at Casa Verde Lodge is to offer our guests more than just a place to stay – rather a sanctuary where body and soul can be in harmony with nature….. a place to just be. The environment both within the hotel and all around is a pristine, tropical haven and everything we do at Casa Verde is focused on respecting and caring for these wonderful surroundings whilst offering our guests all the comforts and conveniences we have come to expect in our daily lives. Casa Verde is located in the heart of Puerto Viejo, just a few minutes walk from all the restaurants, shops, the beach and the exuberant nightlife for which the town is so famous. Yet the minute you step inside our gardens peace and tranquility prevail and a feeling of relaxation overwhelms. The hammocks on the balconies invite you to swing gently in the breeze with a good book, or just watch the hummingbirds feeding and the tiny red frogs scampering about after a rain shower. From eco-tourists to adventure-lovers, from surfers to honeymooners, families to intrepid solo explorers, Puerto Viejo is a wonderful place to fulfill your dreams and Casa Verde is here to make it all happen for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Verde Hotel Puerto Viejo
Casa Verde Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing