We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and Quiet Midst Chaos” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Verde Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Verde Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Maine
Level Contributor
133 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Peace and Quiet Midst Chaos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Puerto Viejo can be noisy in the summer with lots of us tourists, but at Casa Verde we felt like we were in the midst of a quiet garden. It is near enough and quiet enough to hear the ocean. Lot's of restaurants nearby within walking distance. The WIFI is only in the office area encouraging us to spend more time relaxing. Our room had hand paintings and drawing that looked like they might have been someone's Art Homework which I thought was a nice homey touch. The mirrors were etched with sand and seashells. None of the beds we stayed in were particularly comfortable but they were OK, The bird! They fly right by you. It is a bird lovers sanctuary and the smell walking through the garden was delightful. I arrived with an upset tummy and they made me a local concoction of Corn Starch, Lemon, Nutmeg and water that really helped.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MajorJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    65
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
29
56
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I really had a good time there. More than expected. Recommended at any time; pretty close to everything makes it a wonderful choice. I really love the pool and the way the place is setup as a huge garden.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 35Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I only spent two nights at Casa Verde Lodge, but I will certainly be going back! The customer service was excellent. Very polite, friendly and accommodating. The computer/wifi access and complimentary coffee is a nice touch. My room itself was absolutely spotless. The bed was very comfortable. I am usually not a fan of communal washrooms, but they were kept absolutely spotless. The highlight of Casa Verde Lodge is the hammock. Each room has a porch with a hammock and chairs. It was lovely to spend a few hours in the morning, evening or during the rain showers just reading and relaxing in the hammock! Very reasonably priced. Within walking distance of everything in town! Great spot!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smo_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Beautiful garden, nicely decorated rooms with hammock on each patio. Loved watching the birds in the morning. We had a room with a queen bed and shared bathroom. The bathrooms were very clean and it was very peaceful at night (with some howler monkeys in the backgrounds) and the room gives on a patio with a hammock. The WIFI was fast... nothing bad to say about this little gem.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celinetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Trying to deal with this place online is a nightmare. It took me 5 days to book a room only to be told the room was now given away to someone else because I was too slow. If they checked their email more often than every 48 hours, and their website booking system worked, then this would not have been an issue. VERY disappointing!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borgmann72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Wish we would have stayed here before we went to Panama (got a nice room for a few nights on way back). Very laid back, quiet, and clean and quite a choice of accomodation (individual cabins, shared showers for cheaper rooms, or private room like what we stayed in that were perfect for us but can sleep 4 people). Will add pics later as haven't downloaded them yet. Location is great (behind the main road so pretty quiet) and can walk to main eating and shopping area, walk or hire a bike to go to beach, bus station to get onward travel close by too. Nice gardens on property that attract birds (saw blue canaries flying around, big crabs like the gardens too but they stay close to their holes). Security on all night so feels safe. Breakfast is not included or available, but they provide coffee, biscuits, fruit and we had a fridge in our room so can easily eat cereal or whatever. Next time, we will go straight to this hotel. Think we especially appreciated the staff and location as the first lodge we stayed at was out of town which I don't recommend as being close to everything is great.

Room Tip: Room 6 was great, has fridge, can seep 4 comfortably, big bathroom, porch with hammock, table and ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 154913Love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Casa Verde is located downtown in Puerto Viejo, but it has beautiful gardens with crabs , iguanas an colorful little frogs, also a very nice swimming pool.
The lodge has bedrooms with shared bathrooms and showers, but since we were a family of 6 they offered a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom house with living space and kitchen where we were able to enjoy fredh lobster from the neighbor fiisherman
The only problem was that the weather was extremely hot and fans(standing, portable) did not cool the house.
The regular rooms of the lodge , caribbean style, are well ventilated with 2windows and ceiling fans, but the house is different style

Room Tip: Depending on the season and weather,, there is no A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrisLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Verde Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Verde Lodge

Property: Casa Verde Lodge
Address: Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Verde Lodge is your connection to our Caribbean Soul and Indigenous Culture!! In the heart of Puerto Viejo the tropical nature and rhythm waits for you!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Verde Hotel Puerto Viejo
Casa Verde Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing