We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best hotel in our whole Costa Rica trip”
Review of Coco Loco Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coco Loco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Probably the best hotel in our whole Costa Rica trip”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

It´s a very quiet place, with a peaceful garden and some very pretty bungalows. We have also spent 2 nights in the room that is just upstairs from the reception, it was even much better, so huge and cosy ! The bathrooms are very comfortable (really hot water, much better than a lot of other hotel we´ve seen during our trip). The staff is also nice and helpfull : we needed help to change some reservations for the next nights (and as you´ve probably noticed english is not my first language, and my spanish is worse), the reception guy helped us a lot by making several phone calls in spanish for free.

Definitely a place that I would recommend, and I would love to come back another time.

Only one thing to know : the hotel is not in the main street, it´s in one of the corner of the village. It´s not far from anything though, the town is very small, every thing is at a walking distance.

Room Tip: The big one that is upstairs from the reception is great for a family of 4 or 2 couples. Very pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doagui2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    110
    21
    13
    5
See reviews for
58
195
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Walking distance to Puerto Viejo main streets and the beach, away from the hustle and bustle. Easy access to the variety of restaurants and the main bus stop for those who are travelling via public transport. The property is large so parking is available in the premises. The room that we were in had a safe, a mini refrigerator, a coffee maker with tea and coffee, a fan, a tv set and an air conditioner. The bed had a mosquito net which was unnecessary in our case. Hot water shower in the attached bathroom. Outside the room, there was a hammock and a lounge chair. The cabina was on stilts so the room was cooler than I expected. Room 4 and 5 do have air conditioners. Overall it is a good place with a reasonable rate. Lilian was helpful and allowed us an early check in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Great area and the ground are wonderful. The staff was very nice and the cabins are great and very quiet. It would have been nice to have AC or at least to have screens on the windows so you can leave them open, but all beds did have netting. Overall a very nice place to stay and close to everything that you could want.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

i made reservations in june for our october trip, we get to coco loco
as soon as it gets dark and they tell us the gave our room away caused of credit card issues but when i made my reservation (back in june)they asked for my email address and phone number, so she could of called me to let me know there was a problem with the card but NO. so they had a place for us for that night but we would have to find something else for the rest of our trip, we wake up in the boring to see the pictures made this place look good but the mattress was gross the kitchen smelt bad the place needs an update boo boo boooo thumbs down to coco loco AND the beach is not as close as they tell you, not beach that you would want to hang out at

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippinBAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownercocoloco, Owner at Coco Loco Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your respond on tripadvisor with which you threaten me already in the first place .
Yes its true you made a reservation in June for October with your creditcard and it was confirmed for the whole time. On your arrival date we tried to block your card for the first night because the hotel was full and we already sent other clients away ,but to our surprise your card was denied and so we canceled the reservation which is a normal procedure all over the world !
You arrived late at night and told us your card was stolen thats why it was not working ... well I am sorry for your problems you had with a stolen card but still it is your responsibility to provide a VALID credit card for your reservations ! It seemed as you had a bad time in Costa Rica and everything came out at our hotel . We had space for you for the first 2 nights and we also offered to find another hotel which we did after you stopped screaming at us and threaten us with your negativ review . I hope you had a pleasant time afterwards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is a great place. The grounds are nice, the cabanas are great for the price. Beats a boring hotel room. No hot water or AC but that's part of the charm in my opinion. Staff at at the cocoloco are great; make you really feel at home. The only downside I can think of is that it's not right on the beach.. a few blocks away.

Room Tip: Take the owner's advice on activities such as jungle hikes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownercocoloco, Owner at Coco Loco Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your nice review, its always a pleasure to see that people are satisfied. I do not know why you write there is no hot water and A/C ?? All units of the hotel have hot water ( maybe there was a breaker down and we did not know ) and we have 5 units with A/C . The palm thatched bungalows do not have A/C because they have a good natural air flow with the screens on top .
The swimming beach is 2 blocks away which is 2 minutes walking distance , and cocles surfing beach is 15 minutes walking
We appreciate your staement and we hope we can fulfill your stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The best part about staying here was likely the staff, although the location and fact that you can have your own cabina is great too. Our cabina didn't have A/C and the fan didn't seem to be adjustable so we had to get used to sleeping with it blasting directly on us. Some might enjoy this of course but I prefer to have it moving air but not blowing directly on me while sleeping. Mosquito netting around the bed was somewhat ineffective also due to the ongoing wind of the fan although the mattress was comfortable enough.

Cabina had a front porch with a chair and hammock and mosquito coils were provided. We thought the mosquitoes weren't too bad until we kept finding more and more bites and realized that the mosquitoes there were just smaller and more stealthy than our counterparts.

If you plan to go on any excursions talk to the front desk and ask them to help you book it since they know the different places and people and can save you having to choose between some of the tour companies - plus as a bonus the staff will receive a commission on the booking and it doesn't cost you any more - a nice way to thank them for their service.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveViau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was my second time in this place and I got back because I got satisfied with everything, the parking lot is safe, the bungalows are very nice and full equipped. The room is clean with a/c, t.v, a hammock in which you may rest any time. Being very close to the beach and the town this is a silent place, and in the morning you will be woken up by birds or monkeys so this is very nice it´s something different. The staff is friendly and just in case they also offer delicious breakfast..

Room Tip: Any room will be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danylo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,441 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,014 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
671 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
633 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Loco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Loco Lodge

Property: Coco Loco Lodge
Address: Av 67/Calle211, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Hotel A hotel with a more intimate atmosphere than a larger hotel, offering fewer rooms, staff members and/or services; all rooms have private bathroom facilities. Comfort equipped palm-thatched bungalows and private houses in hotel Costa Rica, village Puerto Viejo, Caribbean coast, surrounded by scenic jungle, huge garden, tropical plants, animal life, ocean side accommodation for 1-6 people with lots of amenities, TV, kitchen, wifi internet, fridge, drinks, breakfast, tours, transfer, parking, coffeemaker, night guard, room service, more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coco Loco Hotel Puerto Viejo
Coco Loco Puerto Viejo
Coco Loco Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing