We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Pizote Lodge
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We attended a wedding; we did not and would not stay there. In serious need of either a complete renovation or a good bulldozing. The staff (if you could call them that) were absolutely useless. They walked out before serving the reception dinner. The Guests had to step up and served the meal.
Steer clear..

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

Board outside states 'Deluxe Eco Lodge'. Deluxe it certainly is not. This could be a really nice place, but needs some care and investment. The lodges are substantial, with a fan (no air con). Some mozzie nets were missing completely and other's were not up to the job, our's allowed in a bat, so I don't believe the mozzie's would have a problem. Keep your cases closed, something was defecating in mine (I suspect a bat from the roof somewhere). The bathrooms need improvement one room only had a single shower tap (neither hot or cold). The lodges have a veranda, but the state of the furniture didn't encourage you to sit there. There was a bar at reception but it had no drinks, rooms had no fridges so luke warm water it was. The grounds were nice as was the pool (there is a pool bar, but it wasn't open), the pool could have done with being skimmed occasionally. Breakfast was OK, but server sooo slowly, WIFI in reception, pool table and table tennis table.
If someone were to spend a few buck's and more importantly motivate the staff this could be a great little place, but right now I would give it a miss.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank lI0ve2h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Beware! Belongings robbed from room first night! What a mistake!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travele2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This is a real eco-lodge style place, but not for those who are used to 5-star luxury. Grounds are great, with accommodation in hut-style chalets. Breakfast really basic,waiting staff move at geological pace. New American/Costa Rican owner very welcoming, has only had the place a few months and plans to fully renovate, which it needs. Nice pool, but needs a lick of paint. Rooms are **very** rustic and a bit shabby. Also not exactly hermetically sealed, so if the thought of a bat or a few insects getting into your room is not a comfortable prospect, watch out. No aircon, but rooms have fans. Free wifi in main building. New owner would do well to visit South Africa and see how this sort of place can be really well done, to get ideas for his refurb. Still recommended on the whole if rustic is your thing.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gobbledyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

A terrible travel agaent in San jose sent us there without knowing that the last two owners were involved with drugs and pyramid schemes and were run out of the country and it really is not a functioning hotel. There are some people ther but no guests. Srrived late, scary, no guests there, no hot water, not safe. Ran off in the morning and found a wonderful town full of wonderful hotels and people for cheaper prices. La Casa de Papita, Totem resort where two I found that were great. I had to fight with the awful travel agaent and hotel to get a refund. I spoke to the local peole and police and found out the owner fled the country and abandoned the property and it hasn't really been a working hotel for about a year and a half so beware, also beware of bad travel agents who are a bit behind on the times and don't care about their work and your money or vacation. Very scarey and upsetting experience. Filthy too, cob webs. nothing open. no people food or coffee! Bated motel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank truthrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We traveled with EF Tours. We had a group of 29 people. We had a "cabin" that was run down and filthy. Bug infested! We slept with ants in the beds. The bathroom had no soap just an empty box. The walls had black hand prints and grime on them. The "bedroom" had one fan on a stand. No window shades only shears. There was absolutely no air flow. We also had a kitchen with a fridge and stove. Nasty!! We stayed up at the "lobby/lodge" most of the time that we were there.

The food that we were served was all fried. It was not good. The people were nice though.

You can not swim in the ocean that is right across the road because of the rip tides and the town is not a safe area.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jena_Joel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Okay, the idea of finding "nature" in a hotel with bungalows and cabins is essentially impossible, but El Pizote is as close as it comes without giving up all comfort. The grounds are filled with a variety of gorgeous plants which are thoughtfully placed so as to at least partially hide one unit from another, creating an illusion of even more space than these grounds already occupy. The hotel is set far enough back from the road to eliminate the sound of all but the loudest vehicles, and to eliminate most of the road dust and all of the road fumes. The road in and out of town is only partially paved, and the vehicles in Costa Rica are only partially maintained, so being set back from the road is a mandatory asset for people who like to breathe.

If you like beaches, you will love staying at El Pizote. The beach directly out front is the Playa Negra, a black sand beach with a mellow break due to a sand bar that produces nice swimming and, at certain tides, some good bunny waves for aspiring surfers. The restaurant in the hotel is both top-notch AND priced more reasonably than almost anything else in town including many of the "Soda" homestyle restaurants. Puerto Viejo is the most expensive place in Costa Rica, and it's very helpful to have a kitchen as well; we spent $80/night for a bungalow with a kitchenette and we ate at least one meal there every day. We also wrangled free breakfast for an extended stay, so the price of the room was effectively less for us.

We looked at half a dozen hotels around Puerto Viejo and everything we saw was dirtier, packed in with everyone else, and very much in the same price range. Most hotels advertised A/C and bug nets, but most of the rooms we were shown included neither. While the hotel and facilities could be a bit cleaner, it was actually cleaner than everything else we saw. The setting is just amazing; we got to watch birds building hanging nests over the pool during after-beach swims, butterflies were beautiful and numerous, and glow bugs came out after dark every night.

Finally, in response to some other reviews; If you liked Bocas more than Puerto, and couldn't find anything to enjoy in Puerto, you must not like swimming, or beaches. Bocas is dirty and covered with trash in a way that Puerto isn't, although of course there is as always SOME trash on the beach, just as there is in the states. And if you don't like bugs, you shouldn't be in the tropics.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,487 reviews
0.7 mi away
VIP Hotel Playa Negra
VIP Hotel Playa Negra
#23 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Lizard King Hotel Resort
#36 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Isla Inn
Hotel La Isla Inn
#38 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villas Allen Puerto Viejo
Villas Allen Puerto Viejo
#38 of 111 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
16 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Perla Negra
Hotel Perla Negra
#28 of 111 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Pizote Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Pizote Lodge

Address: Playa Negra | 200 meters before main entrance to Puerto Viejo, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £48 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Pizote Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With us will reach its lush beaches like Cahuita, Black Beach, Cocles, Playa Chiquita, Punta Uva, Playa Grande and Manzanillo, including Cahuita National Park and Gandoca-Manzanillo Refuge. The rustic architecture of the hotel blends in complete harmony with the environment surrounding jungle. The hotel offers different types of accommodation and is surrounded by spacious gardens to relax and enjoy a safe and pleasant stay. All rooms are equipped with bedside table, ceiling fan or air conditioning and bathrooms with hot water. Some of the units are equipped for cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel El Pizote Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pizote Hotel Puerto Viejo
Hotel El Pizote Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing