We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the djungle but close to town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Pizote Lodge
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Right in the djungle but close to town”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We came to this place on the 31st of December after leaving a highly praised hostel in Puerto Viejo, where you couldnt sleep (too many gallos and perros around). We took a bungalow. The bungalow was rustic, but clean with a private bathroom with hot running water. The estate is amazingly big and beautiful. You feel like right in the djungle! In the main house you can play pool, have a drink and enjoy the internet...beach and town are in walking distance, at night you can grab a taxi if you feel uncomfortable walking...the highlight for us was the very friendly owner who tries to help with everything. He knows there is room for improvement and he will listen to you. If you like nature, quiteness and open hearted people go there!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treppchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    11
    10
    5
    11
See reviews for
11
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlestown, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The cabins and rooms are on an incredible piece of property with a tree that has to be at least a hundred years old. Super quiet and mellow vibe, right in the rainforest and a few steps from the beach. We saw green and black tree frogs and white herons hanging out. The owner is really chill and it feels safe. Rooms were clean and nice with comfortable beds. From the reviews I read, I think now it is under new management, because we had a great experience.

Room Tip: the A/C cabins have a boutique hotel feel, there are more rustic rooms available for a lower price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown,DE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We attended a wedding; we did not and would not stay there. In serious need of either a complete renovation or a good bulldozing. The staff (if you could call them that) were absolutely useless. They walked out before serving the reception dinner. The Guests had to step up and served the meal.
Steer clear..

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels

Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Board outside states 'Deluxe Eco Lodge'. Deluxe it certainly is not. This could be a really nice place, but needs some care and investment. The lodges are substantial, with a fan (no air con). Some mozzie nets were missing completely and other's were not up to the job, our's allowed in a bat, so I don't believe the mozzie's would have a problem. Keep your cases closed, something was defecating in mine (I suspect a bat from the roof somewhere). The bathrooms need improvement one room only had a single shower tap (neither hot or cold). The lodges have a veranda, but the state of the furniture didn't encourage you to sit there. There was a bar at reception but it had no drinks, rooms had no fridges so luke warm water it was. The grounds were nice as was the pool (there is a pool bar, but it wasn't open), the pool could have done with being skimmed occasionally. Breakfast was OK, but server sooo slowly, WIFI in reception, pool table and table tennis table.
If someone were to spend a few buck's and more importantly motivate the staff this could be a great little place, but right now I would give it a miss.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lI0ve2h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Beware! Belongings robbed from room first night! What a mistake!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travele2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This is a real eco-lodge style place, but not for those who are used to 5-star luxury. Grounds are great, with accommodation in hut-style chalets. Breakfast really basic,waiting staff move at geological pace. New American/Costa Rican owner very welcoming, has only had the place a few months and plans to fully renovate, which it needs. Nice pool, but needs a lick of paint. Rooms are **very** rustic and a bit shabby. Also not exactly hermetically sealed, so if the thought of a bat or a few insects getting into your room is not a comfortable prospect, watch out. No aircon, but rooms have fans. Free wifi in main building. New owner would do well to visit South Africa and see how this sort of place can be really well done, to get ideas for his refurb. Still recommended on the whole if rustic is your thing.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gobbledyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

A terrible travel agaent in San jose sent us there without knowing that the last two owners were involved with drugs and pyramid schemes and were run out of the country and it really is not a functioning hotel. There are some people ther but no guests. Srrived late, scary, no guests there, no hot water, not safe. Ran off in the morning and found a wonderful town full of wonderful hotels and people for cheaper prices. La Casa de Papita, Totem resort where two I found that were great. I had to fight with the awful travel agaent and hotel to get a refund. I spoke to the local peole and police and found out the owner fled the country and abandoned the property and it hasn't really been a working hotel for about a year and a half so beware, also beware of bad travel agents who are a bit behind on the times and don't care about their work and your money or vacation. Very scarey and upsetting experience. Filthy too, cob webs. nothing open. no people food or coffee! Bated motel!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truthrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
633 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casitas Joanna
Casitas Joanna
#41 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
16 reviews
0.7 mi away
VIP Hotel Playa Negra
VIP Hotel Playa Negra
#24 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villas Allen Puerto Viejo
Villas Allen Puerto Viejo
#33 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kaya's Place
Kaya's Place
#21 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
222 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Formentera Playa
Hotel Formentera Playa
#12 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Pizote Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Pizote Lodge

Property: Hotel El Pizote Lodge
Address: Playa Negra | 200 meters before main entrance to Puerto Viejo, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Pizote Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With us will reach its lush beaches like Cahuita, Black Beach, Cocles, Playa Chiquita, Punta Uva, Playa Grande and Manzanillo, including Cahuita National Park and Gandoca-Manzanillo Refuge. The rustic architecture of the hotel blends in complete harmony with the environment surrounding jungle. The hotel offers different types of accommodation and is surrounded by spacious gardens to relax and enjoy a safe and pleasant stay. All rooms are equipped with bedside table, ceiling fan or air conditioning and bathrooms with hot water. Some of the units are equipped for cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Pizote Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pizote Hotel Puerto Viejo
Hotel El Pizote Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing