We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real escape to the Caribean”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Escape Caribeno
Certificate of Excellence
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
145 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“a real escape to the Caribean”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

this very nice hotel is a neat,clean, beatiful one.we stayed on the bungalows looking at the seaside, getting asleep wth the sound of the waves and somo monkeys.
all the employees are very nice ones and Gloria, the owner ( with her husband) is a perfect entertainer.

Room Tip: go for those at the seaside, better those who are not one aside the other, with kids aside they can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raquel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    57
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
21
52
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

This place is wonderful! We were four and stayed in one of the garden houses close to the beach. Nobody around just the birds and monkeys.

The place was very clean, had mosquito nets around the beds, fresh towels every day, AC and the most beautiful and well maintained garden I have ever seen. The water was hot and the owners very nice. We had a car so it was easy to get around but there is many places to eat around the area or you can rent bikes.

I would definitely book a room towards the beach side again. Thank you for hosting us!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed in the garden rooms and loved it. Clean, friendly staff, and beautiful setting only a few feet from the ocean. Good wifi connection in the room. Many restaurants are in the near vicinity to please any taste.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda vista
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We spent 4 days at this property.The owners were very helpful. The accommodations were good. The location was within 10 minute walk from center.of. town. The rooms were clean and a good size. The garden and sitting area was pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PICO-LVCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed here last week when I was on my one day trip in Costa Rica. The place is really beautiful, well maintained and very clean. I felt safe being there too because it is gated bungalows. The price is quite high, but looking at what I got It seemed okay. Claudia, the owner, was very nice and her dog which quite a large dog was very sweet. My room is an A/C room and shower has a hot shower which cost $75. Anyway, if you have enough budget to spend and like to be in the nice, clean, pretty garden place, I think this is a really great option for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great place, lovely owner and perfect location. I will recommend 100% that place. Went there for a diving trip, but because of the caribbean weather we weren't able to dive. The owner was really really nice with us. We surf puerto viejo area and was ok. The hotel gardens are incredible with ocean view and cabins were way better then expected.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EduardoQuiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Rooms are beautifull but we paid way too much comparing with other hotels in the same street. Breakfast was not included and we had to pay too much for the laundry. Water was cold. When we told the owner she was angry on the sweet Italian guy who's working overthere. He was helpfully, but overall we had the feeling it was all about money. The owner feels like a angry schoolteacher.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloriagavioli, Propietario at Hotel Escape Caribeno, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Kind Sir or Madam (I didn't get who you are...),

thank you for sending us you opinion, even though I'm sorry that you've had a impression not entirely favorable of our hotel.
I'm sure, however, that the terms of your lodgement were clear from the beginning (the price per night, the breakfast that was not included, and the prices of the laundry), therefore, we didn't understand why you choose our hotel knowing others more suited for your needs.
I am really sorry for not being more kind and helpful with you when courtesy is the most important thing for us.
I hope that you understand that money isn't everything, but it's essential to cope with the operating expenses and the maintenance of a numerous personnel.
We'll try to improve our service in the future, once again thank you, my best wishes and Merry Christmas.

Gloria Gavioli, Owner and Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Escape Caribeno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Escape Caribeno

Property: Hotel Escape Caribeno
Address: Avenida 71 | Frente la Veterinaria Arroyo y Solano, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel ESCAPE CARIBENO, with fourteen comfortable bungalows, is located in the small caribbean village of Puerto Viejo (Limon, Costa Rica). The hotel is 7 minutes from the "Pueblo," in front of the famous Salsa Brava beach. In the coral reef, next to our hotel, there are different natural pools where it's possible to swim around, do snorkeling and places for the lovers of the mountain bike. Escape while there is time, escape to ESCAPE CARIBENO. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Escape Caribeno Hotel Puerto Viejo
Hotel Escape Caribeno Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing