We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jacaranda Hotel and Jungle Garden
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Boutique Indalo(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Umami Hotel(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Maritza(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coco Loco Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Blue Conga(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Escape Caribeno(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Costa de Papito(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Banana Azul(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Yare(Cocles)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
56
52
24
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
52
24
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerhot waterquiet hourspuerto viejomosquito netstayed here for nightshome away from homeenjoyed my staybeautiful hotela great place to stayceiling fanveratownfanskeyporchparadise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2013

A lovely little hotel away from the busy main road of Puerto Viejo. I had a room up some stairs with a veranda and picturesque view from the shuttered window. The hotel has been designed with lots of greenery and places to sit and relax, the paths have been made out of pretty mosaic tiles. There is free Wifi by reception, the hotel doesn't offer any food however Bread and Chocolate is just down the road and lots of other restaurants close by. No AC but a decent ceiling fan made the nights comfortable enough.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank AGDowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

Only stayed here for one night as we already had reservations for 4 nights somewhere else...it was lovely..nice friendly staff, clean rooms and great location away from the main drag.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frankietfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

My friend and I came up on a shuttle from a stay in Bocas del Toro. Panama. We had no reservations and our driver recomended Jacaranda Hotel. They only had one room for the night,with a single and double bed. The rooms were clean and comfortable, great shower with lots of hot water and TV and good fan that kept us cool. The next day they had a cancelation so we were able to keep the room for two more nights. The lady who owns the place was great and there whenever we needed some advise etc. She and staff were great and real hard workers keeping the gardens beautiful and well manicured. It was very quiet. There are two tables isolated from the rooms, in the garden, for smokers. They also have some suites that are available for longer stays at a resonable price, which she gave us a tour of. While waiting for our shuttle to San Jose, she gave us some cold refreshments. We also enjoyed the hammock on our porch I would definetly stay here again.

Room Tip: We had room 7
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milkbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This place is awsome! I have stayed here for 10 days ! The garden is gorgeous, and even a number of species (crab, raptiles) are living in the garden. The decoration is also charming and inspiring! The place is quite, as it is little bit back of the town, but also very close to everything in the town. The staff is also super duper kind, and good hearted. + even the price is cheap! It is fabulous. When I come back to Puerto Viejo, I will definitely stay here again !!! Here is no swimming pool, and no fitness facility. but don't warry. Puerto Viejo will provide you with that.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanjung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

When I came to Puerto Viejo the first time for a week visit, I was directed to Jacaranda Hotel and Jungle Garden and I've been here ever since.
In a world filled with confusion, this retreat gives you time to breathe, recuperate, and enjoy nature everywhere around you. AND..you are within walking distance of all major attractions, restaurants, swimming holes and shopping so you don't even need a car. For a low-cost, comfortable place to stay, I highly recommend Jacaranda.

Room Tip: Always stay in an inside room where it is quieter. If you don't love the sun (or do), check to see how much you get a day--a dark unit can be very depressing (or relaxing for some). And remember to always lock your room and be aware of your purse or belongings. That advice is true all over the world.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cleo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews