We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice presentation, great fried fish”

Monli Bar Restaurante and Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood, South American, Central American, Costa Rican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
142 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice presentation, great fried fish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We came here for lunch and it was empty, although it was in between holidays and the town was pretty dead overall.

We wanted ceviche and it was on the menu so we went up. Ordered that along with some natural fruit drinks, tempura fish plate and the garlic shrimp plate. Unfortunately the waiter was completely under enthused which seemed odd considering we were the only ones there. A little kindness could go a long way. Just sayin'.... They do have a nice view being on the top floor across from the beach.

It took a long time to get the order and unfortunately the ceviche was raw. I had one bite and that was all I was interested in. It seemed they left that to make last instead of first because it wasn't even a 20 minute marinade look...I mean it was RAW. We didn't say anything for whatever reason, but we should have. That was a waste of money.

We had also ordered fries on the side of the fish plate which didn't come at all. Although the fish was outstanding and battered perfectly. I had ordered fried shrimp with garlic butter but they came out boiled, whole in a garlic butter sauce so I don't know if it was me or the waiter who got the fried part wrong. The shrimp were good but not really what I was expecting. They were whole so I had to take the heads off. The rice and beans served with it was dry. The drinks were good though. Salad was good.

Fairly expensive lunch but most restaurants there are...think the bill was around $50. Yikes.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hotrodgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    63
    15
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEST meal we had in Puerto Viejo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We loved this restaurant!!! We spent a week in Puerto Viejo and ate out every night and this was by the far the best, and best priced meal we had! Also two for one drinks? Yes please. Yummmmmmy! Costa Rican! Delicious! We didn't even realize this place was here until the end of the week because it is upstairs, but our hotel (banana azul) recommended it to us and it was great! Loved our server too...forget his name but he said he was from Nicaragua...he was awesome. GO EAT HERE!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tasha_tro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

This is a must do!!!! The owners are working right along with the employees. The steak was amazing. Cooked perfectly (rare). With yummy chimmichuri sauce on top. It did take a long time... But they were very nice and comforting. Everything was very fresh. Randall was awesome. He was one of our servers. Really nice. The husband/owner was making us some DELICIOUS drinks. I could see him making them and he seemed to put a lot of love and hard work into them. Our river guide actually recommended this place, thankfully. He even told them we were coming and we all ended up with a free drink. Yumm. We actually loved it so much we tried to go back the very next night. Unfortunately they were closed (Thursday)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank StacyJ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douvaine, France
2 reviews
“Fresh and tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is held by a French who really knows how to cook.
You'll find fresh fish, tender beef, organic vegetables and homemade fries.... The fruit juice we had really tasted like fruit (not always the case everywhere...) and the beef served with shrimps (yes the combo works!) in a garlic sauce just amazing! Very nice combination of local food and French know-how.

Helpful?
Thank SpacePioupiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“easy to miss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is upstairs on the main road along from Lazy Mons, above a clothes shop. Look out for the wooden branch balcony 'railing'.

The food was really tasty (I had shrimps in Carribean sauce), the staff attentive, and it was nice to sit and people watch from the balcony.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicky864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monli Bar Restaurante and Grill also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Monli Bar Restaurante and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing