We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My second home.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Ruka Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Ruka Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My second home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

I stayed at this hostel for a few months and it was truly a life changing experience, from the amazing people to the incrediblely positive atmosphere. The owners Danny and Dave make you feel like family as soon as you enter this humble establishment. If I could live there for the rest of my life I would. Oh and when they make their awesome breakfast buffet try not to get addicted to Dave's famous hash browns! La Ruka is filled with awesome people with epic stories, good vibes, and postive energy. Ill be back soon to visit my La Ruka family. I love and miss you all!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puravida91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    33
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
31
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

I stayed here for two nights and found the managers to be very friendly and helpful. The dorms were good and improvements were going on around the hostel. There is surfboards available for hire and the atmosphere was great for meeting and talking to fellow travelers . Being close to beach and town center this place is a great budget choice if going to puerto viejo.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robbo2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Let me tell you about the place we had the pleasure of staying at.
It was a fair size hostel which holds about 28 people just on the outside of the small town centre of Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica.

Its name is called La Ruka, named after one of the owners dogs Ruka, who was hit by a car on New Years Eve last year and had lost a leg in the accident, but managed perfectly fine without it.
(Its truly amazing how the mind has the ability to adapt)

From the moment we walked in around 8:30pm we were met by the sight of the hostel buzzing with travellers, the vibe was so friendly and warm, from people chillin in hammocks taking advantage of the wifi connection surrounded by surf boards, to a group huddled around a community table playing guitar at the main entrance. It was a moment of knowing this is going to be the perfect place to start our Costa Rican adventure.

It was very welcoming, our room we stayed in was one of the 2 private rooms they had above the open air lobby, it had a shared bathroom connecting to the second private room.
The rooms were very well kept with stellar mirals of mermaids and colourful hand painted pictures of the ocean on the walls. The bathroom facilities were just the same, filled with vibrant colour splashed over the walls, They were very clean and tidy.
The staff was a group of volunteering travellers and I must say killed it at being amazing hosts and hostess, anything you needed they were more than happy to lend a helping hand or let you slash a banana tree in half with one fatal blow from a machete. (Wink)

But thats what a hostel is supposed to make you feel like, if you take the time to stay even for a few nights you take a chance of feeling La Rukas good vibes because a hostel isn't much without a good vibe and good vibes is all this place is about. With a steady stream of reggae beats flowing all day long, if you want a place to soak up the true caribbean life, La Ruka hostel is just your spot.

To our friends at La Ruka and to the ones we met traveling through on your own journeys, It was a worldly pleasure to met you all, and we sincerely hope our paths cross again and keep in touch.
We had an amazing experience.



We will for sure come back!!



By
Adam&Amanda
Around The World For Happiness
www.aroundforhappiness.com

Room Tip: All the rooms are dope!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AroundForHappiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed in la ruka for 4 nights last week and i loved it. The owners were really friendly which makes for a really nice relaxed atmosphere...great for meeting people! The upstairs dorm was lovely as well, especially with a nice hammock right on the decking outside! The location was perfect, just over 5 min walk to center of town, but far enough to be away from noise and still feel like your in the jungle. Great hostel, great people!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catskane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed in a private room for 2 nights and had a great time. The room had a shared bathroom but unlike other hostels it was only shared by 2 couples so was always clean and available.

The common area was where everyone met and discussed the days activity or the size of the waves. Dani and David made us feel at home and gave us many suggestions for eating, drinking and sightseeing in the area. The outdoor kitchen is great for preparing meals.

The hostel is a short walk north of the bus stop. Whilst it has music and lots of laughter it does not have all night drunken partying like the hostel at the bus stop.

The hostel is walking distance to all the restaurants and bars in Puerto Viejo.

We will definitely stay here when we return to Puerto Viejo

Room Tip: The hostel also has dorms which looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

We can't wait to go back! The staff was so friendly and accommodating. We stayed two nights in a dorm, the bed was comfortable and the the room was clean. La Ruka is in close walking distance to beaches, restaurants, bars and shops. This hostel is the best option for the backpacking traveler who wants to have fun and meet great people!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

This hostel was amazing. My girlfriend and I stayed in one of their private rooms all week and it was a perfect living space for the trip. The owners and staff are one of a kind; they are the most hospitable, friendly and helpful people I have ever met and they care if you are enjoying yourself or not. I have stayed at multiple other hostels in Puerto Viejo, and this one is by far the best. Clean, hot showers and rooms with a beautiful atmosphere.

Room Tip: Private rooms are clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bananahammock1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#3 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ruka Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ruka Hostel

Property: La Ruka Hostel
Address: Box 297-7304 | correo pto Viejo, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 231-7304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel has two buildings that are surrounded by tropical jungle filled with flora, fauna & fruit trees. When you arrive you’ll probably be greeted by one (or both!) of our friendly dogs Ruka and Moo Moo and, if you’re lucky, our kitten, Sirena. You’ll find us at the reception in our octagon lounge where you can relax after your journey, grab a brownie & a beer, peruse some used clothing, swap some books at our book exchange and use the free WiFi which available across the property. Upstairs you’ll find our two private double rooms and at the back is our outdoor guest kitchen. Our second building has three separate 6 or 8 bed dorm rooms all with private bathrooms. We have hammocks around for lazy days and also offer snorkel + fin rentals as well as surf lessons and board hire when you’re ready to take in the incredible water, waves and sands of Black Beach, Salsa Brava, Cocles beach and many more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Ruka Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ruka Hostel Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing