We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really cool vibe but dirty and uncomfortable.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Ruka Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Ruka Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really cool vibe but dirty and uncomfortable.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Everyone here is really friendly and welcoming, but the rooms, bathrooms, and kitchen aren't great. Dorms are hot with no mosquito nets, lots of ants get into your food in the kitchen, bathrooms were gross. The hang out area was nice, with lots of couches and hammocks scattered around.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ilovetoucans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    36
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
32
48
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Super friendly staff, chill atmosphere, clean rooms and warm showers; can't ask for more! I'm very happy with my stay here, and absolutely recommend it! It's just a short walk from the center of town, and they have plenty of bikes you can rent to get to the farther away beaches.
Dave is a great hostel runner, he has an intuition for what people need, like putting a movie on in the lounge on a rainy day when the beaches aren't an option. He's got great recommendations for where to eat and what to do.
The hostel has a real family feel in a good college dorm sort of way. The outdoor kitchen has two sinks, two burners and lots of counter space. There are a bunch of grocery stores in town, so it's easy to cook your own meals. They also have a communal outdoor sheltered eating space to encourage interaction. Similarly, the wifi didn't quite reach our rooms, which I found to be a positive thing, as it encouraged you to do your anti-social online activities in the lounge. You're in Costa Rica after all, get to know who's with you! They live up to the surfer, reggae vibe that the whole area is famous for, while still remaining a sense of organization and professionalism. There's definitely a hipster leaning, with a thrift store right in the main lounge area, but to me that added to the atmosphere in a positive way.

Muy buenas vibras, este local tiene todo! Buena gente, ambiente, y conocen bien el lugar. Esta bastante limpio y es muy bien hecho.

Room Tip: They have lockers that in theory correspond to each bed in all the rooms. If you don't have your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurera4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The atmosphere, the location and the lovely owners - it was such a vacation in a place full of character.
There is shared kitchen and a great atmosphere with happy tourists just by the sea and not in the middle of town. Also you can rent there bicycle.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dafna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you are in the area this hostel is a must. We had a wonderful relaxing time with everyone at the hostel which is run by a lovely couple with lots of local knowledge and suggestions of how to spend your time in the area. There are very well kept bikes, a well equipped out door kitchen, chill out areas, hammocks, snorkelling stuff, wifi, clean rooms -some with ensuite, clean showers and toilets. The staff are all really friendly and they are often looking for volunteers. If you are lucky you might even find a sloth in the trees. Highly recommended for a chilled out time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Good location, hostel is surrounded by trees and bushes, cool jungle environment. Only about a 5 minute walk from town. The hostel rents bikes which makes it convenient to get around to the beaches.

The staff and owners are all helpful and friendly. Definitely not a party hostel, so it's a nice place to relax or take a break from the party scene. There's a kitchen as well as a social area. The wifi is fast and seemed to be reliable.

Overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

After what feels like a life time of traveling, my mate and I arrived to Dave & Danny's beautiful sun & beach drenched peace of heaven "La Ruka Hostel" Puerto Viejo.
People you can't fault this place.
Price: A1
Location;A1
style and atmosphere:A1
Dave & Dannys people that work for them make the stay so much better as well.
Good price, clean, safe & nice people what more do you want from a Hostel (an experience Ill never for get)
You will definitely be seeing us again.

You friends from OZ,
Jess & Clarky.

Room Tip: Rooms all as good as each other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a place to actually sleep in puerto viejo, La Ruka is the spot for backpackers. The dorm and private rooms are cheap. You'll hear about other hostels nearby but you can't sleep through the bar music below. The owners Danny and David are awesome. They are always happy to answer any questions you have. Short walking distance to bars and restaurants. This hostel seems to attract awesome people. All around just great place to stay. Definitely check it out.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#4 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ruka Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ruka Hostel

Property: La Ruka Hostel
Address: Box 297-7304 | correo pto Viejo, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 231-7304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel has two buildings that are surrounded by tropical jungle filled with flora, fauna & fruit trees. When you arrive you’ll probably be greeted by one (or both!) of our friendly dogs Ruka and Moo Moo and, if you’re lucky, our kitten, Sirena. You’ll find us at the reception in our octagon lounge where you can relax after your journey, grab a brownie & a beer, peruse some used clothing, swap some books at our book exchange and use the free WiFi which available across the property. Upstairs you’ll find our two private double rooms and at the back is our outdoor guest kitchen. Our second building has three separate 6 or 8 bed dorm rooms all with private bathrooms. We have hammocks around for lazy days and also offer snorkel + fin rentals as well as surf lessons and board hire when you’re ready to take in the incredible water, waves and sands of Black Beach, Salsa Brava, Cocles beach and many more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Ruka Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ruka Hostel Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing