We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A private little place to escape from reality...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A private little place to escape from reality...”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Puerto Viejo is known for its rustic and authentic feel, also for accommodations offering limited services.. This little 8 room hotel, is perfect if you want to stay IN town but not being surrounded by all the partying and people (it can get pretty hectic sometimes). The hotel offer basic B&B services, and offers a very unique eclectic feel. their rooms are modern and really spacious, also its well balanced within the rest of the rooms even though they are next to eachother, but you still have plenty of privacy. Staff can provide transportation arrangements, tour options and also can provide you with help if you are going to Bocas del Toro, Panama (they helped friends of mine the last time you are there).

I appreciate the excellent service and warm feel that the staff always has... I normally travel to Puerto Viejo at least 5 times a year, and I've always chosen to stay in this place. So if you like to stay IN town and be out of the party scene.. this is the perfect place for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al13bc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    69
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
116
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week in March, and we will definitely stay here again! The rooms are spacious and minimal, which makes them feel really clean. The bed was comfortable and the shower was warm (which is hard to find in CR)! The location is great, as it's very close to everything in town, but still far enough away (3 blocks) to be quiet.
What really makes this place is the people who run it. Cristina, Marco and Carlos were absolutely amazing! They were all very welcoming and full of advice/information on things to do and see throughout the country. When we told them we were eloping, Cristina arranged the cleaning/ironing of our wedding clothes on her own time. Marco made us a lovely post-wedding breakfast as well. The only improvement that could be made is to the fan in the room, as it's not quite powerful enough to move the air around. Two fans would be great!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raeomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paderborn
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The personal of this hotel is really probably the most friendly I have every had. The rooms are spacious, but what one does not directly notice: there is only one big room and the toilet and the shower are separed by a half wall from the bed, so that mosty you can here what the other person does there :) Well, it might be an advantage if you want to talk. The other disadvantage which is caused by the climate however it is the mold smell in the room. It is always very moist in Puerto Viejo and I suppose everywhere there is the same problem. But the mold itself was not seen anywhere in the room - it was indeed clean. The location of the hotel is good - it is indeed near the rain forest (see the map). The Spanish personal was extremely friendly and helpful.
The village of Puerto Viejo is a small Jamaica and its flare is everywhere. You can rent a bike to get to other beaches as the beach of Puerto Viejo is not very nice. But be careful: the rip tides are everywhere - being a very good swimmer I had difficulties to get out one time!
On the whole it was a nice stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sergionovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

When we arrived to puerto Viejo, we had a hard time trying to find the hotel, the streets are like a small maze, and the hotel is far from the bus drop (like 7 blocks), but close to the beach... After that, everything went good... The room is so well designed, eco friendly and big.. the showers are amazing, and the bed (even not being so soft) is really cool.
The staff is good, and really friendly, they treated us so good. It's cool that you can pay later with card, something not that common in the area.
If you're willing to reduce your comfort expectations and save some money, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jero S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The hotel is designed in a simple, Ikea-like way. I thought it was functional, my partner thought it was fine but the bed was really uncomfortable. The shower was great. The staff was pleasant. If you rent bikes, bring them into the courtyard for safe keeping.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamfat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The hotel is located a short walk (3 minutes/2.5 short blocks) from the main street. It has clean, large rooms with a beautiful, minimalistic spanish design. The staff Marcos & Carlos very helpful and friendly. They are very outgoing and give great advice for further travels. We ate breakfast only once on our three night stay and it was fantastic and well worth the $6.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FDNoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We went her for a 3 nights stay and we were very pleased with the helpful and friendly staff. The hotel is a little off of the main street of the village which is a plus considering that at night it can be a little noising. The rooms were very clean (they have a lady cleaning every day and changing the towels). For the price is a perfect stay and I would strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Any rooms looks a like and they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_sivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina C, Owner at Hotel Boutique Indalo, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you so much!! It is a pleasure for us meeting people like you! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,442 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,014 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
633 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Indalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Indalo

Property: Hotel Boutique Indalo
Address: Corner 219A Street & 67 Avenue | 85 meters west of Taller Dani car mechanic workshop, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Boutique Indalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel boutique Indalo has been opened since the 22nd December 2012, so it is complete new. They offer big rooms with prívate bathrooms. Each room has a terrace and air conditioning. It is inspired in a "Cortijo Andaluz", typical south of Spain, building. We have a big garden. It is a peacefull place in the town. We use to have monkeys and sloth as neighbours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Boutique Indalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Boutique Indalo Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing