We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Boutique Indalo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Certificate of Excellence
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We have been to PV many times, and we always end up in a different lodging. This time we decided to try Indalo together with some friends, and we loved it.

The price for what you get is amazing, the location is superb, since you are near but still far enough to listen to any music on the main roads, and wake up with the birds singing and the monkeys in action. The runners are very friendly and have all sorts of info available.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mytheretxu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    67
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
115
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Super friendly owners, that will help you feel like home .
Well located, away from the noisy of the center but close enough to walk everywhere. Simple , clean and elegant minimalist room.

The only downside was that the room was very hot due to the weather . Additional fans or better still air conditioning , would really elevate this hotel to excellent !

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lint, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Very warm welcome by the owners. Very personal touch. Even got a free soft drink because they had run out of other stuff. Also saw a sloth in the tree right above the room. The owners were so kind to come and point it out to us.The room is really nice as well as the rest of the hotel. The modern rooms stand out among all others. Downside however is that we both didn't sleep. The wall fan is not powerfull enough even on highest setting to provide even a minimum flow of air to the bed. Result was a very warm and sweaty night with little to no sleep. Suggestion: provide an extra floor fan that the guests can place anywhere they like. This works everywhere else. With this change, this place would have been perfect.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Saar1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina C, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Indalo, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, thank you for you review. It is true, that this season is being warmer than the last years, so we have followed your advice, and now we have one extra fan in each room.
Waiting to see you the next time!
Thank you again,
Cristina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here for one night in February 2014. After spending two nights at a more expensive hotel in the area and not getting any sleep, staying here was like a breath of fresh air. We loved the minimalist design in the rooms and the hot showers. It was extremely close to town and we were able to walk to the heart of the town for dinner and drinks in 5 minutes. We slept comfortably and the grounds were so quiet that we fell asleep right away and got enough rest for a bus ride the next morning. Our only regret is not choosing to stay here our whole three days in Puerto Viejo. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archeo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Puerto Viejo is known for its rustic and authentic feel, also for accommodations offering limited services.. This little 8 room hotel, is perfect if you want to stay IN town but not being surrounded by all the partying and people (it can get pretty hectic sometimes). The hotel offer basic B&B services, and offers a very unique eclectic feel. their rooms are modern and really spacious, also its well balanced within the rest of the rooms even though they are next to eachother, but you still have plenty of privacy. Staff can provide transportation arrangements, tour options and also can provide you with help if you are going to Bocas del Toro, Panama (they helped friends of mine the last time you are there).

I appreciate the excellent service and warm feel that the staff always has... I normally travel to Puerto Viejo at least 5 times a year, and I've always chosen to stay in this place. So if you like to stay IN town and be out of the party scene.. this is the perfect place for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank al13bc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week in March, and we will definitely stay here again! The rooms are spacious and minimal, which makes them feel really clean. The bed was comfortable and the shower was warm (which is hard to find in CR)! The location is great, as it's very close to everything in town, but still far enough away (3 blocks) to be quiet.
What really makes this place is the people who run it. Cristina, Marco and Carlos were absolutely amazing! They were all very welcoming and full of advice/information on things to do and see throughout the country. When we told them we were eloping, Cristina arranged the cleaning/ironing of our wedding clothes on her own time. Marco made us a lovely post-wedding breakfast as well. The only improvement that could be made is to the fan in the room, as it's not quite powerful enough to move the air around. Two fans would be great!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raeomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paderborn
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

The personal of this hotel is really probably the most friendly I have every had. The rooms are spacious, but what one does not directly notice: there is only one big room and the toilet and the shower are separed by a half wall from the bed, so that mosty you can here what the other person does there :) Well, it might be an advantage if you want to talk. The other disadvantage which is caused by the climate however it is the mold smell in the room. It is always very moist in Puerto Viejo and I suppose everywhere there is the same problem. But the mold itself was not seen anywhere in the room - it was indeed clean. The location of the hotel is good - it is indeed near the rain forest (see the map). The Spanish personal was extremely friendly and helpful.
The village of Puerto Viejo is a small Jamaica and its flare is everywhere. You can rent a bike to get to other beaches as the beach of Puerto Viejo is not very nice. But be careful: the rip tides are everywhere - being a very good swimmer I had difficulties to get out one time!
On the whole it was a nice stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sergionovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Indalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Indalo

Property: Hotel Boutique Indalo
Address: Corner 219A Street & 67 Avenue | 85 meters west of Taller Dani car mechanic workshop, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Boutique Indalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel boutique Indalo has been opened since the 22nd December 2012, so it is complete new. They offer big rooms with prívate bathrooms. Each room has a terrace and air conditioning. It is inspired in a "Cortijo Andaluz", typical south of Spain, building. We have a big garden. It is a peacefull place in the town. We use to have monkeys and sloth as neighbours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Boutique Indalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Boutique Indalo Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing